Can't control volume on 896 Main Out

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
Discussion related to installation, configuration and use of MOTU hardware such as MIDI interfaces, audio interfaces, etc. for Mac OSX
phaseshift
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Can't control volume on 896 Main Out

Post by phaseshift »

Hi guys. I have an original 896 that I've had for years. I've never used the audio out on it before. I've only used it as in input for my Mac Powerbook, and used the headphone jack.

I've just purchased a G5 Quad with the intent of making it a super audio workstation. I have downloaded the latest drivers from MOTU, and audio outputs 1 and 2 are connected to powered monitor loudspeakers.

Or should I say LOUDspeakers. First of all, the Sound control panel, the volume control on the Mac menubar, and the Audio MIDI Setup app give me no control of the output volume. I also find that the Volume knob on the 896 has no affect. The switch next to it is in the MAIN OUT-PHONES position (as opposed to PHONES ONLY). The knob is fully counterclockwise, volume should be closed. The volume controls on the speakers themselves are turned up only about 1/8 of the way. Everything is blasting out way too loud! I have no control!

In logic or reason, I have to turn the output way way down on the mixer. In iTunes.... one click from the volume totally down is about as high as a dare go.

Is there something I'm missing? How do I fix this?
Last edited by phaseshift on Fri Jan 06, 2006 12:04 am, edited 2 times in total.
qo

Post by qo »

If the toggle switch is in the MAIN OUT+PHONES position it should control the volume of the main outs. Perhaps the toggle switch was installed upside down, or became loose and turned upside down? Try the other way, just in case. In the PHONE position, the Volume knob only affects the phones and the main outs are at full blast (we've all griped about this brain-dead design in other threads).