New User, New Studio Facility, Digidesign vs MOTU

The forum for petitions, theoretical discussion, gripes, or other off topic discussion.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
The forum for petitions, theoretical discussion, gripes, or other matters outside deemed outside the scope of helping users make optimal use of MOTU hardware and software. Posts in other forums may be moved here at the moderators discretion. No politics or religion!!
LightStorm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

New User, New Studio Facility, Digidesign vs MOTU

Post by LightStorm »

Hello everyone, my name is Matt, and this is my first post. I have been recording for a while now, and I own a studio where I have recently built a new facility. I am currently a Pro Tools user and I'm in the process of outfitting my new Studio. The purpose of this post is two fold. First I would like to congratulate MOTU and one rep in particular, but I'm unsure as to the guidelines of posting here, so I will refrain from specifying any names, but the gentleman I spoke with was exceptionally helpful. I am in the midst of a predicament of grand proportions; I am undecided as to what direction I should take with my DAW.
Option 1. HD based Pro Tools system w/ Accel cards
Option 2. HD192 or Apogee based Digital Performer system w/ several 3rd party DSP cards, i.e. UAD-1, PowerCore, even Waves APA-44's