Track aliases?...I don't think its possible

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on Windows.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [Windows] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."
vapoureyes
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Post by vapoureyes »

Hello

I'm new to DP (v.11.2) - using it on Windows 10. Unless I'm mistaken, its not possible to create Track level aliases/ghost tracks for Instrument(MIDI) tracks. If this is correct, I find it quite an omission. It's a feature found in most DAWs. I made prolific use of them way back in the 80's-90's using C-Lab's Notator on an Atari STe. They can certainly reduce a project's file size.
Perhaps there is some other workaround that I haven't yet discovered. Anyone have an opinion on this?
Win 10 64G RAM, Behringer UMC404HD, MOTU MIDI Express XT, Nektar Panorama P6
bayswater
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Track aliases?...I don't think its possible

Post by bayswater »

vapoureyes wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 4:23 pm Track level aliases/ghost tracks for Instrument(MIDI) tracks
I can't figure out what that would be or what its purpose is. Can you give an example?
2018 Mini i7 32G 10.14.6, DP 11.3, Mixbus 9, Logic 10.5, Scarlett 18i8
vapoureyes

Post by vapoureyes »

bayswater wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 4:28 pm
vapoureyes wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 4:23 pm Track level aliases/ghost tracks for Instrument(MIDI) tracks
I can't figure out what that would be or what its purpose is. Can you give an example?
Aliases/Ghost tracks are simply virtual tracks that reference other tracks, but have their own parameter settings i.e delay, transpose, CC data etc. A typical use scenario would be to double up a bassline with some other instrument(s) without having to duplicate the track.
James Steele
Site Administrator