DP 11 crashes when saving - HELP!

For seeking technical help with Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for seeking solutions to technical problems involving Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS, as well as feature requests, criticisms, comparison to other DAWs.
PolimniaMusic
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Post by PolimniaMusic »

Hello guys...

I am in desperate mode at this time.

I have been building up my template for more than 6 months now. I tried composing without a template in the past and I waste too much time choosing instruments, parameters, etc. every single time. Naturally, the file has grown very large, about 2.5 Gb, empty.

DP CRASHES WHEN SAVING
The problem is that when I tried to save any changes, DP gets stuck, and either it crashes or I have to force-quit it.

I know that DP may take quite some time to save large files—and it may even appear as “not responsive” at times…—but this was usually temporary; DP would recover, and you can continue working.

However, for weeks now, (almost) every time I try to save, DP freezes, doesn’t wake up, or it even has hard crashes altogether. Moreover, if I wait too much, the entire iMac collapses and shuts down…

MEMORY LEAK?
In the Activity Monitor, I noticed that the memory allocated to DP keeps growing (even when the program is unresponsive), from 50-60 Gb to ridiculous amounts (150, 170… even over 200 Gb…).
If I don’t force-quit DP, the whole computer collapses and shuts off.

MOTU TECHNICAL SUPPORT
I contacted MOTU Tech Support. We have been back and forth, but they don’t know. And barely follow up… days with no response. In the end, They haven’t been able to fix the problem, and eventually stopped responding to me.

I also joined Matt LaPoint's Webinar and got to ask there. But it was a written question and couldn't provide much context. Matt is fantastic and mentioned a few possible causes, but I had already done what he suggested.

SYSTEM