New Machine vs Legacy Projects: What options have I (if any...)

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on MacOS.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [MacOS] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."
otalgia-2000
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

New Machine vs Legacy Projects: What options have I (if any...)

Post by otalgia-2000 »

Hello everyone

I'm completing the process of migrating over to a new Mac Studio M1 Max running DP 11 and, as this glorious new day dawns, I start to see all the broken glass that party left in its wake.

So I'd like to ask you all what you've done in similar situations, mostly concerned with accessing past projects now, should the need or desire arise.

In my own version of the scenario, the Mac Pro 3,1 I've been using for 15 years has pretty much died. I suppose I could try defibrillating it if an occasion presented the necessity to access something otherwise lost, but I can't reliably depend on that machine.

My guess is, there's no point in seeing if I can run DP9 on the new machine to open old projects (and would it even run 9 in the first place?) because even if I could, deprecated plugins won't load now. So I might as well open them in 11 and do a save-as.

The gut-punch effect "kicks in" because certain plugins -- particularly MachFive 3 -- carried a lot of weight around here.

If the need arose, I could re-create parts from M5 or Electric Keys in Falcon 2. But I now realize that in the case of M5, there isn't even a clue left behind of what the parts contained. It's just... gone.

And I confess that I've been a naughty creator who didn't avail themselves of the all-important NOTES functionality to at least list what got loaded in where.