Need Help. String Libraries- all notes crescendo

Discussions about composing, arranging, orchestration, songwriting, theory, etc...

Moderators: Frodo, FMiguelez, MIDI Life Crisis

Forum rules
Discussions about composing, arranging, orchestration, songwriting, theory and the art of creating music in all forms from orchestral film scores to pop/rock.
stubbsonic
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Need Help. String Libraries- all notes crescendo

Post by stubbsonic »

I'm not very experienced using orchestral libraries.

I just got a few string libraries from 8DIO, and I'm trying to sequence simple melodies-- legato, or just played simply, I suppose, but it doesn't really matter, can't get it to sound natural.

It seems like I have to choose between "sustain" where all notes have a very slow attack, like what you would play if you were playing a fermata out of context. When you make a melody every note crescendos. Or I can choose Marcato which is short, and has no sustain. There are some legato options, but these are putting weird random grace notes of different pitches before the played note.

There are some things about key switching I don't understand, but I don't want to have to play a note marcato then crossfade to sustain for every note. Any suggestions? Is there a good video to watch?
M1 MBP; OS 12, FF800, DP 11.3, Kontakt 7, Reaktor 6, PC3K7, K2661S, iPad6, Godin XTSA, Two Ibanez 5 string basses (1 fretted, 1 fretless), FM3, SY-1000, etc.

http://www.jonstubbsmusic.com
HCMarkus

Re: Need Help. String Libraries- all notes crescendo

Post by HCMarkus »

The Legato patches are designed for melodies. Try overlapping adjacent notes in differing amounts and using velocity values to control portamento/glissando between notes.