828 Motu mkii and Lenovo laptop with Windows 11

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
Discussion related to installation, configuration and use of MOTU hardware such as MIDI interfaces, audio interfaces, etc. with Windows
eatingdanger
Primary DAW OS: Windows

828 Motu mkii and Lenovo laptop with Windows 11

Post by eatingdanger »

Hello, this is my first time ever using a audio interface and need some help. I don't even know where to start with connecting this device to my laptop, and have heard I'll need to install different sound chips and drivers to have it function with my newer laptop?? I don't even know, and would really appreciate being walked through on this. Thank you. :dance:
Attachments
383f3887b2ce39a378e6fe757a82f868.png
383f3887b2ce39a378e6fe757a82f868.png (147.82 KiB) Viewed 2184 times
James Steele
Site Administrator
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 828 Motu mkii and Lenovo laptop with Windows 11

Post by James Steele »

Hopefully some knowledgeable Windows users will chime in.

MOTU had driver installers on their website here:
https://motu.com/en-us/download/#category=1&product=135

I'm guessing you got this used, because it looks like MOTU last released drivers for this unit about twelve years ago... for Windows 8.1. Sometimes you can download newer installers and they will work with older interfaces, but not sure. If nobody chimes in, you might want to access this site via web browser on a computer if you're not already, and use the "Google Search..." box at the upper right and do some searches in the 828mkII and Windows 10 or 11. I mention 10, because maybe someone has gotten it working with 10 so maybe 11 will be okay. I know 11 is pretty new. I use Windows laptops in my business, but I've shied away from 11 because it's a proprietary app and just want to be on the safe side with it.