Setting up Octave Up & Down Transpose in Keyboard Maestro

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on MacOS.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [MacOS] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."
James Steele
Site Administrator
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Setting up Octave Up & Down Transpose in Keyboard Maestro

Post by James Steele »

I posted this in another topic, but thought I'd make a separate post in case it helps anyone. I am NO expert in Keyboard Maestro, but thought this might help others. It illustrates using DP's Run Command window to facilitate creating a macro that might be more difficult otherwise.

----

I went into the Tranpose Window, set up the transpositions I wanted and gave them descriptive names. I'm always using 8va or 8vb.... up an octave or down an octave.

presets.png
presets.png (24.86 KiB) Viewed 2009 times

Then you can make a macro with Keyboard Maestro so that after you select a region, you hit a hotkey and Keyboard Maestro will invoke ⇧-Spacebar, then types as much of the name of the preset as needed... in my case it's "region transpose [up" although I used "regional transpose [up one octave" for some weird reason.

regionuponeoctave.png
regionuponeoctave.png (48.13 KiB) Viewed 2009 times

Then KM sends a single down arrow keypress which selects the preset...

downarrow.png
downarrow.png (54.37 KiB) Viewed 2009 times