Mixing Faders don't work. (RESOLVED)

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
Discussion related to installation, configuration and use of MOTU hardware such as MIDI interfaces, audio interfaces, etc. with Windows
pulsepsycle
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Mixing Faders don't work. (RESOLVED)

Post by pulsepsycle »

Hello,
I'm new to MOTU so maybe this is an obvious question but I cannot find a topic about it.

I cannot get the faders to control the volume.
I have a LP32 connected to an 828ES by ethernet cable. The 828ES is connected to my computer by USB.
The routing I made is working. That is, the HPF, EQ etc. are but changing the faders don't change the volume in my DAW.

My routings:
Routing_LP32.PNG
Routing_LP32.PNG (99.53 KiB) Viewed 729 times
Routing_828ES.PNG
Routing_828ES.PNG (94.09 KiB) Viewed 729 times
The signal flow when playing a synth:
Routing_828ES_Synth.PNG
Routing_828ES_Synth.PNG (21.83 KiB) Viewed 729 times

I use Cubase Pro 12 as DAW.

Karel.
Win 10 x64, LP32, 828ES, AVB Switch, M-Audio Profire 2626 x 6, ESI M8U XL x 4, Cubase Pro 12, Ableton Live 11.
HCMarkus
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Mixing Faders don't work.

Post by HCMarkus »

Hi Karel.

The AVB Mixer Faders will control your monitor mix exclusively when you route to your DAW Pre-Mixer, as it appears you have done. That's how I set my 828ES up, as I don't want the AVB Mixer Faders to affect DAW recording levels. I want to be able to adjust the monitor mix independently, as I use the AVB Mixer to feed performers near zero latency individual mixes when tracking.

If you wish, you can assign AVB Mixer Outputs to your DAW, and thus control levels sent to the DAW with the AVB Mixer. Do that in the AVB Routing Tab... scroll over to the far right to "Mix Post-FX" and use the little expand triangles at the top of each area to expose all the channels.