Latency problems in DP11???

For seeking technical help with Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for seeking solutions to technical problems involving Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS, as well as feature requests, criticisms, comparison to other DAWs.
deckard1
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Latency problems in DP11???

Post by deckard1 »

Hello,

I'm relatively new to DP having migrated over from Logic Pro very recently. Would like to make DP11 my permanent DAW.

Can anyone here think of a reason why there would be terrible latency at a buffer setting of 64 samples in DP11...yet, unnoticeable latency with the same settings in Logic Pro?

Thanks.
DP 11.11 | 15" MacBook Pro (Mid-2012)| i7 | 16GB RAM | OS X 10.15.7 (Catalina) | Apogee Jam 96k
James Steele
Site Administrator

Re: Latency problems in DP11???

Post by James Steele »

deckard1 wrote: Sat Jun 11, 2022 10:37 am Hello,

I'm relatively new to DP having migrated over from Logic Pro very recently. Would like to make DP11 my permanent DAW.

Can anyone here think of a reason why there would be terrible latency at a buffer setting of 64 samples in DP11...yet, unnoticeable latency with the same settings in Logic Pro?
Umm... short answer, no. I wish I could give a better answer but there's not enough information here. Where are yu hearing latency? Monitoring audio? The response of a virtual instrument? If so, what virtual instrument? As you said yourself, there's not "logical" explanation. Might depend how you are monitoring? Are perhaps monitoring an live audio input through a record-enabled audio track as opposed to an aux track? I've had that happen before. Just not enough info.
JamesSteeleProject.com | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter