DP11 on M1 — only utilizing using 4 cores?

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on MacOS.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [MacOS] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."
yperochiakeraiotita
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

DP11 on M1 — only utilizing using 4 cores?

Post by yperochiakeraiotita »

Hi there! Just came back to using DP a few weeks ago when I heard about the DP11.1 update.

This is my first project using DP11 which is optimized for Apple Silicon, and is heavily orchestral in nature. Here's a screenshot to summarize what I'm looking at

(https://ibb.co/3y6cGTp)

Some notes:
— I've just noticed that it even though I don't have much MIDI event happening, the pre-gen tends to peak when I record/playback.
— I've also noticed that of the 8 cores available, four cores are maxing out (can be found in this screenshot https://ibb.co/3y6cGTp) even though there's not much MIDI events happening
— I'm running several instances of Kontakt (the heaviest libraries are Cinematic Studio Strings, Woodwinds and Brasses), but they are all purged and the only loaded samples are the ones being used in this sequence. Samples are being streamed from a Samsung T7 SSD.
— I'm running the project in 48kHz, 2048 already and have no other processor-heavy apps running.

Will consider purchasing a Mac Studio later in the year if this is simply a hardware/processor limitation, but I'm worried that I may be missing some optimization settings and that purchasing an even powerful machine won't do much if I'm missing out on optimization.

Thank you!
2023 M2 Max Mac Studio 64GB; 2020 M1 Macbook Air 16GB; 2015 Macbook Pro i5 8 GB
LPX 10.7; DP 11.11; Sibelius 2020; Notion for iOS