M4 I/O and cables

Here's where to talk about preamps, cables, microphones, monitors, etc.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
Here's where to talk about preamps, cables, microphones, monitors, etc.
gbd
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

M4 I/O and cables

Post by gbd »

Hi everyone, first post here.

I'm an amateur musician doing some simple home recording with my MOTU M4 via usb into an
old Macbook Pro running Performer Lite. I'm looking for recommendations on audio connections.

I'm primarily a guitarist and record guitar through a Line6 HX Stomp, configured for line level output,
via balanced TRS to line inputs 3 and 4 on back of the M4. That unit has good options for
setting output impedance and level and I've been able to use the nice metering on the M4 to find a good
recording level.

I've also picked up a synth keyboard as a 2nd instrument and would like to record that as well.
I'm pretty sure the synth (Roland
XP-30) has L/R unbalanced line outs. I'm currently connecting via unbalanced TS into the
mic/line/guitar inputs 1 and 2 on the front of the M4. This seems to be working fine, and I've got
the gain knobs at about 9:00 there with the synth volume slider at max. I'm wondering, though,
if I ought to be using a direct box, such
as the Radial ProD2 passive 2-channel DI, running TS from the synth to the DI, then XLR balanced into
the combo inputs on the front of the M4. I've also noticed that the headphone out on the synth
is absurdly loud, such that I have to just nudge the volume slider to barely above zero
(There might be a setting for this somewhere in the synth system menu). Maybe
I could be using a TRS/TS splitter cable from the headphone out?

I'm not interested in coloring the sound or questing for
tone improvements, and again, I'm able to record everything just fine.
I just want to make sure I'm doing everything properly in terms of signal level,
impedance, grounding, shielding, etc. I found this article from Soundonsound,