The right thunderbolt cable for 828ES...?

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
Discussion related to installation, configuration and use of MOTU hardware such as MIDI interfaces, audio interfaces, etc. with Windows
vonbleak
Primary DAW OS: Windows

The right thunderbolt cable for 828ES...?

Post by vonbleak »

Hi guys,

So after 15 years or so using an old 828mk2 firewire unit i finally upgraded to a new 828ES... I am going to be using it on a Win 10 system running Cubase Pro 10.5... I have an MSI Motherboard and have the MSI Thunderbolt M3 Controller card installed and ready to go...

My issue is that the unit did not come with a thunderbolt cable and i am quite new to thunderbolt... Which thunderbolt cable do you guys recommend first of all...? And second i have not found many cables calling themselves thunderbolt rather USB 3.1 Type C which looks right but i want to make sure it will work...

So basically - which USB-C/Thunderbolt cable did you guys use for the Motu 828ES...?

https://cplonline.com.au/startech-tblt3 ... BEQAvD_BwE

I think this will work but i am not sure... as i think i need Thunderbold on one end and USB-C on the other but i am having trouble finding cables like this...

Thanks guys for any help! :mrgreen:
vonbleak

Re: The right thunderbolt cable for 828ES...?

Post by vonbleak »

...So no one has bought a thunderbolt cable for thier 828ES... I dont believe it lol 8)
mikehalloran
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Post by mikehalloran »

Patience. Not as many are doing (fill in the blank) as you think.

MOTU Thunderbolt devices use a TB 1/2 cable. Since there are less expensive MDP monitor cables that look the same, make sure it’s an actual Thunderbolt cable. TB cables are backwards compatible to MDP but the reverse is not true.

Since you have TB over USB-C, you will need an adapter. The Apple TB3–TB2 adapter should work and plug into your card. There is at least one other on the market but I’ve never used it.