Galaxy Bank/Librarian transfers

Discussion of issues related to MOTU's Sysex Editor/Librarian program.

Moderator: James Steele

botu
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Galaxy Bank/Librarian transfers

Post by botu »

I'm new to DP and I'm considering Unisyn to manage my patches for Oberheim Xpander, Yamaha TX 816, Roland d-550 which currently reside in Galaxy/OS9. Has anyone any experience in transfering Galaxy items to Unisyn OSX? I have some fairly massive patches libs and bank-by-bank sysex is not really an effecitve solution. Thanks for your views.
markwayne
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Post by markwayne »

Oh boy! The million dollar question. I made this leap a couple of years ago and, at this point, I would strongly advise forgetting about Unisyn as it appears that MOTU certainly has. I have had to resort to adding an old Mac running OS9/Galaxy to my MIDI network just for patch management.

I have just over two dozen MIDI devices some of which I have owned for over twenty years and I have llibraries of patches archived in Galaxy which are several folders deep. I've resigned myself to keeping at least one old Mac around for the forseeable future or lose years and years of work. I did much of this archiving when I was young, unmarried, and on the road full-time often with very little to do during the day. I could not begin to find the time to recreate this library now.

Now, if your rig is like mine, the next question will be . . . how do I get my patch names to show up reliably in DP? Answer: use CherryPicker to hack together some MIDI name files and then enjoy the mixed success you will have getting them all to work. As for just importing all of those Galaxy files? Sadly, there is, as far as I know, no way to get from there to here.

sorry,
Wayne
DP 5.13, Reason 5, Logic 9, Melodyne 3, Live 7, Cubase 4.5, OS 10.5.8 on main desktop, 10.6.3 on laptop. Old analog gear, synths and guitars and heat-belching transformers and tubes.
npatton

Post by npatton »