machfive polyphony estimate

Discussion of all things related to MOTU's awesome MachFive software sampler.

Moderator: James Steele

yealf
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

machfive polyphony estimate

Post by yealf »

can anyone help me estimate what sort of polyphony I should be able to get from machfive and DP4.52 running G5 dual 1.8gig 2.5gigsRam? I am having rotton problems, can't get it to play a five voice 1/4 note chord at 70bpm without processor overload with no plugins running. any info or help greatly appreciated. I've been using performer for 15 years. I've never had more problems.
G5 Dual 2gig 3gRam >DP 4.52/Mach51.2/Komplete2/ G5 Dual 1.8gig 2gRam>PToolsHD 6.7/canopus
doodles

Re: machfive polyphony estimate

Post by doodles »

a hell of a lot more than that.

have you trashed mach 5 and reinstalled? and done verified permissions?
2*5-core 3.46 Intel xeon (32 gigs RAM), 2*dual 2.5 (16 & 32 gigs RAM), DP 8.07, WAVES 9, Lexicon plugs, SoundToys, all Spectrasonics, NI Komplete 9, Vienna Ensemble (extended), LASS, Evolve, Symphobia, etc, Cinesamples, Arturia, cinestrings, all Project Sam
yealf

Post by yealf »

Originally posted by doodles:

G5 Dual 2gig 3gRam >DP 4.52/Mach51.2/Komplete2/ G5 Dual 1.8gig 2gRam>PToolsHD 6.7/canopus
yealf

Post by yealf »

Originally posted by yealf:
Originally posted by doodles:

I had version 1.0 and then installed 1.2. figuring that would be equivelent to reinstalling. The problem persisted. I will try your advice, many thanks
Flare

Post by Flare »

I'd reccommend DP 4.50 with M5 1.2.

I know DP 4.51 was an atrocity on several levels (hello, do beta testers actually have any spectrasonics plugs??!). I wouldn't trust 4.52 at this point, but everyone needs to do what's best for them.

I'm running what I stated above, with a Sh*•• load of VI's, plugs, and such. DP is actually running pretty well at this point.