Species Counterpoint?

Discussions about composing, arranging, orchestration, songwriting, theory, etc...

Moderators: Frodo, FMiguelez, MIDI Life Crisis

Forum rules
Discussions about composing, arranging, orchestration, songwriting, theory and the art of creating music in all forms from orchestral film scores to pop/rock.
FMiguelez
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Species Counterpoint?

Post by FMiguelez »

Hello.
I've been approached to teach music part-time. One of the classes I'd teach is counterpoint. They use the strict Species method.
The thing is that this is not the way I learnt counterpoint. I studied a book that is VERY nice, and it uses a much less pedantic and much more musical method, by looking at what Bach did, with this very nice book by Benjamin:

http://www.amazon.com/Craft-Tonal-Count ... 0415943914

Could you recommend a GREAT book on Species counterpoint?
Which ones would it be the typical college text for this?
I suppose I'll have to brush up on it!
I want to make sure that I'd be able to teach using their method... but I would still try to make it as little pedantic as possible for the students. It's all about writing nice lines after all...

What are these Species anyway? Are they like rules for moving voices? How many are they?

We wrote Inventions and Fugues back at college, and we never used this species approach...

Thanks!
Mac Mini Server i7 2.66 GHs/16 GB RAM / OSX 10.14 / DP 9.52
Tascam DM-24, MOTU Track 16, all Spectrasonics' stuff,
Vienna Instruments SUPER PACKAGE, Waves Mercury, slaved iMac and Mac Minis running VEP 7, etc.

---------------------------

"In physics the truth is rarely perfectly clear, and that is certainly universally the case in human affairs. Hence, what is not surrounded by uncertainty cannot be the truth." ― Richard Feynman
Frodo

Re: Species Counterpoint?

Post by Frodo »

FMiguelez wrote: What are these Species anyway? Are they like rules for moving voices? How many are they?