828 mk11 and Quicktimepro 7.1 conflict?- bad audio output

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
Discussion related to installation, configuration and use of MOTU hardware such as MIDI interfaces, audio interfaces, etc. for Mac OSX
mcoffey
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

828 mk11 and Quicktimepro 7.1 conflict?- bad audio output

Post by mcoffey »

I've been using my 828 mk2 for a few years with no problems.
I recently installed the newest version of QT PRO 7.1 .
When scoring with QT mov.s I'm having more and more frequent breakup, audio digital squeels , distortion in playing back out of the 828 .
Problem corrects itself if I close the movie
Turning the thing on and off , resetting the hardwear driver works for a short time and it's back to the same problem .
When checking on built in audio - the recording is fine .
I phoned Motu - They claimed there was no issue with QT 7 and suggested installing the new drivers . Did that - problem persists.

I never had this problem with QT pro 6

running OS10.4.9

Thans for any help or suggestions

Marsha Coffey :cry:
chucks

Post by chucks »

A factory reset should fix the problem.

http://www.motu.com/techsupport/technot ... 6405589976

I am actually amazed that MOTU did not suggest this in your phone conversation.
mcoffey

Post by mcoffey »

Thanks Chuck - Did the factory reset didn't work
But I've discovered the problem definately seems to be with driver conflict with QT PRO.

I just loaded my new dp 5.12 into my brand new Macbook pro and was running my movies in QT basic as I had not yet activated Pro. Absolutely NO PROBLEM - not yet any way

Perhaps others may find be able to verify this in their own systems.
I hope it's helpfull for others who may be having the same problem.

I would suggest if you have 2 computers -Do your PRO tasks - trim to select etc on one computer and run them in basic Quictime with DP on another