what kind of music are you in?

Discussions about composing, arranging, orchestration, songwriting, theory, etc...

Moderators: Frodo, FMiguelez, MIDI Life Crisis

Forum rules
Discussions about composing, arranging, orchestration, songwriting, theory and the art of creating music in all forms from orchestral film scores to pop/rock.
nickysnd
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

what kind of music are you in?

Post by nickysnd »

First, thumbs up for James, that was really fast. Many thanks for setting this up! 8)

Second, I think it would be interesting if we'll inform each other which musical field(s) we're in. I am into film scoring - I'm a student, doing music for student projects, now and then. Also, I do some music preparation - copying, takedowns, orchestration, etc. in Finale. I'd love to do some songwiting, pop-rock, but I've had a few disappointing experiences with lyricists and singers... I am also considering getting into music libraries (no need for lyricists/singers there :) )

How about you?

Edit -
I play composer piano.
Last edited by nickysnd on Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:11 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Mac mini Apple M1 ♦ 8GB RAM ♦ MacOS 14.4.1 ♦ Focusrite Scarlett Solo ♦ DP 11.31
Phil O

Post by Phil O »

I'm owner, operator, and engineer in my home based studio. It's small and home based but definitely commercial. Sometimes I'm just the engineer. Other times I end up functioning more like a producer.

I play drums, 5-string banjo, and not quite enough trumpet to call myself a trumpet player. I teach part time at a private music school where I have 15 private students, 5 to 7 ensemble classes at any given time, and an occasional course in music theory, ear training, or recording techniques. (Damn! Did I say part time?) Most of my writing is for the school and consists of arranging for the school's ensembles.

Phil