LEGAL implications of doing this...

For discussion of the music business in general

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
For discussion of the music business in general from studio administration, contracts, artist promotion, gigging, etc.
FMiguelez
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

LEGAL implications of doing this...

Post by FMiguelez »

Hello, everyone.

I need your expertise and advice on how to achieve the following, providing it IS legal, and I won't get in trouble, and the proper way (if there's one) to do it.

I am a composer living in Mexico. I do a lot of Jingle writing, and I've done a few TV series, and soap-operas here. For the past months, I've been working hard at my show-reel. I need to market myself more, so I thought it was a good idea to invest time on a great demo-reel.

On the reel, so far, I show some of the best jingles and TV shows I've done. Cool. It's worked great and thanks to my reel I've gotten a lot of new gigs, and my contact base has increased a lot.

BUT, my dream is to score actual movies. I mean, that is what I studied. The thing is that I have not done any music for any movies yet, so I was wondering the implications of scoring my own versions for some scenes from some cool movies I like. For instance, if I take a scene for say, The Matrix, and I do my own version, and include it in my demo-reel, would that get me in trouble?

If so, whose permition would I need to try to get? I don't think I can write to the directors and say: "Hey Larry. Hey Andy. Your movies were cool. Do you mind if I use a few scenes of your trilogy for my demo reel?" I would probable be laughed at. Is there any place to obtain this kind of permissions. Are they absolutely necessary for my demo purpose?