It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:16 pm
   
Text Size

SE vertical zoom problem

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on Windows.

Moderators: James Steele, Shooshie

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [Windows] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."

SE vertical zoom problem

Postby ParanoidAndroid » Sun Nov 12, 2017 4:42 am

Hi guys!

I have quite a silly problem. I work on sound design session with dozen of audio tracks and I have everything minimised in track hight to have best overview and move fast around different sections. But my huge problem is when I want to go to certain soundbite and do micro edit of in SE I found I have to mouse resize vertical certain track. Is there a way I can just highlight desired soundbite/track and do shortcut to resize that single track at certain height and then roll it back? That would such tremendous relief in a workflow.
Been through the manual but really haven't found anything solving my problem.

I would be very grateful for an input here.

Thanks!
User avatar
ParanoidAndroid
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 5:29 am
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: SE vertical zoom problem

Postby James Steele » Sun Nov 12, 2017 5:14 am

You gave me an idea. It may not be exactly what you're looking for, but right now when you use the keyboard shortcuts to vertically zoom tracks in the Sequence Editor, ALL tracks are zoomed regardless of whether tracks are selected. Would it be helpful if, when there ARE selected tracks, ONLY those selected tracks zoom? I'm going to write to a contact at MOTU and suggest this.
JamesSteele.com | Dean Guitars | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter

MacPro5,1 12-Core 3.33, 48GB RAM, macOS 10.12.6, ATI 5770, DP 9.5, MOTU HD192, 24I/O, UAD-2 Duo, Lucid GENx192, HV-3C, Red Type B, Dean guitars, Marshall amps, etc., etc.!
User avatar
James Steele
Site Administrator
 
Posts: 16978
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: San Diego, CA - U.S.A.
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: SE vertical zoom problem

Postby Phil O » Sun Nov 12, 2017 10:53 am

James Steele wrote:...in the Sequence Editor, ALL tracks are zoomed regardless of whether tracks are selected.
More precisely, all visible tracks. I use the track selector window in combination with the zoom shortcuts in my workflow all the time, but it would be much easier if:
James Steele wrote:...when there ARE selected tracks, ONLY those selected tracks zoom...
This would be a great time saver, James. Good call.
DP 9.02/9.51, Mac Pro 2.66 quad[1,1] (6 Gig RAM), Mac Pro 2.8 octo[3,1], (12 Gig RAM), OS 10.6.8/10.11.6, two MOTU 828s, Apogee Rosetta 800, UAD-1e, UAD-2, a truckload of outboard gear and plug-ins, and a partridge in a pear tree.
User avatar
Phil O
 
Posts: 6335
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: Scituate, MA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: SE vertical zoom problem

Postby James Steele » Sun Nov 12, 2017 2:41 pm

Phil O wrote:
James Steele wrote:...when there ARE selected tracks, ONLY those selected tracks zoom...
This would be a great time saver, James. Good call.


I've sent a request on to someone on the "inside" at MOTU. I think this would be just a pretty no-brainer enhancement to how zoom works in the SE. Can't see any reason not to implement this. Even if, for example, you wanted to zoom ALL tracks and forgot one was selected... it would be pretty easy to notice that and just use Cmd + D to De-select and continue. If you were really OCD and wanted to be sure all your tracks were equal height you could then hit Opt+Cmnd+DownArrow and make them all the same size and then scale back up to where you want to be.
JamesSteele.com | Dean Guitars | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter

MacPro5,1 12-Core 3.33, 48GB RAM, macOS 10.12.6, ATI 5770, DP 9.5, MOTU HD192, 24I/O, UAD-2 Duo, Lucid GENx192, HV-3C, Red Type B, Dean guitars, Marshall amps, etc., etc.!
User avatar
James Steele
Site Administrator
 
Posts: 16978
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: San Diego, CA - U.S.A.
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: SE vertical zoom problem

Postby ParanoidAndroid » Sun Nov 12, 2017 3:24 pm

Hi James

That would definitelly sorta solve the issue for sure and made things much much easier. From my stand point ideally would be have a chance to keybind track heights from mini to immense and have the shortcuts applying to the currently selected tracks. That would really save tones of time.

James Steele wrote:...but right now when you use the keyboard shortcuts to vertically zoom tracks in the Sequence Editor, ALL tracks are zoomed regardless of whether tracks are selected.

That would work but only when the zooming would keep the center on selected/desired track. Otherwise it always end up somewhere else with a zoom and gotta scroll through to get to the soundbite I look for.

Thanks for your input here anyway!

Kind regards
User avatar
ParanoidAndroid
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 5:29 am
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: SE vertical zoom problem

Postby Phil O » Mon Nov 13, 2017 11:53 am

Well, I have a confession to make. There are some things I don't mind doing the hard way. It may take a little longer, but it's all billable time. So as long as I'm not dragging my feet, I'm ok with a few seconds here and a few seconds there. My clients get a pretty good deal just the same...so I can sleep at night. :wink:

Phil
DP 9.02/9.51, Mac Pro 2.66 quad[1,1] (6 Gig RAM), Mac Pro 2.8 octo[3,1], (12 Gig RAM), OS 10.6.8/10.11.6, two MOTU 828s, Apogee Rosetta 800, UAD-1e, UAD-2, a truckload of outboard gear and plug-ins, and a partridge in a pear tree.
User avatar
Phil O
 
Posts: 6335
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: Scituate, MA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: SE vertical zoom problem

Postby ParanoidAndroid » Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:43 am

Phil O wrote:Well, I have a confession to make. There are some things I don't mind doing the hard way. It may take a little longer, but it's all billable time. So as long as I'm not dragging my feet, I'm ok with a few seconds here and a few seconds there. My clients get a pretty good deal just the same...so I can sleep at night. :wink:

Phil


Hi Phil. I absolutely get your point here but when it comes to make repeatedly the same mouse movements hundred of times per day it really takes a lot of your time summed up. I'm only really referring here to situation of heavy sound design session with over hundred of tracks. Otherwise I'm also fine with what you say in any other circumstances.
User avatar
ParanoidAndroid
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 5:29 am
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: SE vertical zoom problem

Postby James Steele » Thu Nov 16, 2017 1:07 pm

Well if it's any consolation, I referred this post to someone I know at MOTU and I think they've looked at it and are taking it to heart. I won't be surprised if something is done to address that in the future.
JamesSteele.com | Dean Guitars | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter

MacPro5,1 12-Core 3.33, 48GB RAM, macOS 10.12.6, ATI 5770, DP 9.5, MOTU HD192, 24I/O, UAD-2 Duo, Lucid GENx192, HV-3C, Red Type B, Dean guitars, Marshall amps, etc., etc.!
User avatar
James Steele
Site Administrator
 
Posts: 16978
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: San Diego, CA - U.S.A.
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: SE vertical zoom problem

Postby Phil O » Fri Nov 17, 2017 8:38 am

ParanoidAndroid wrote:...but when it comes to make repeatedly the same mouse movements hundred of times per day it really takes a lot of your time summed up...
Yeah, I hear ya and you're absolutely right. I'm often looking for time savers myself. My point is that sometimes all this effort to save a few seconds benefits the client - and although that puts a feather in your cap, it doesn't put a nickel in your pocket!

On the other hand, if you're getting paid per project and not by the hour every second you can save benefits you. :wink:

On you're third hand, if you're doing your own music, it's another ball game all together.

I'm just babbling now. Ignore that man behind the curtain.

Phil
Last edited by Phil O on Fri Nov 17, 2017 8:47 am, edited 2 times in total.
DP 9.02/9.51, Mac Pro 2.66 quad[1,1] (6 Gig RAM), Mac Pro 2.8 octo[3,1], (12 Gig RAM), OS 10.6.8/10.11.6, two MOTU 828s, Apogee Rosetta 800, UAD-1e, UAD-2, a truckload of outboard gear and plug-ins, and a partridge in a pear tree.
User avatar
Phil O
 
Posts: 6335
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: Scituate, MA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: SE vertical zoom problem

Postby Phil O » Fri Nov 17, 2017 8:43 am

James Steele wrote:Well if it's any consolation, I referred this post to someone I know at MOTU and I think they've looked at it and are taking it to heart. I won't be surprised if something is done to address that in the future.
Thanks for that, James!
DP 9.02/9.51, Mac Pro 2.66 quad[1,1] (6 Gig RAM), Mac Pro 2.8 octo[3,1], (12 Gig RAM), OS 10.6.8/10.11.6, two MOTU 828s, Apogee Rosetta 800, UAD-1e, UAD-2, a truckload of outboard gear and plug-ins, and a partridge in a pear tree.
User avatar
Phil O
 
Posts: 6335
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: Scituate, MA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: SE vertical zoom problem

Postby FMiguelez » Fri Nov 17, 2017 10:07 am

ParanoidAndroid wrote:But my huge problem is when I want to go to certain soundbite and do micro edit of in SE I found I have to mouse resize vertical certain track. Is there a way I can just highlight desired soundbite/track and do shortcut to resize that single track at certain height and then roll it back? That would such tremendous relief in a workflow.
Been through the manual but really haven't found anything solving my problem.

I'm almost hesitant to suggest this due to it being too simple and obvious. I might not be understanding your issue (been doing that a lot lately here)... But...
What works great for me when I'm all the way zoomed-out and I want to quickly edit a SB, is to press and hold letter Z to get the zoom tool while drawing a marquee around the area you want to super zoom in. Edit away, and then press Command - [ to return to your identical previous zoom level. This zooms in vertically and horizontally to fill the screen with your marquee and returns you to the identical zoom you had before.

It literally takes 2 key strokes to zoom way in and zoom way out.

The combinations for Command [ and Command ] are awesome! Try it oot!
Mac Mini Server i7 2.66 GHs/16 GB RAM / OSX 10.10.3 / DP 9.02
Tascam DM-24, MOTU Track 16, all Spectrasonics' stuff,
Vienna Instruments SUPER PACKAGE, Waves Platinum, slaved iMac and Mac Minis running VE Pro, etc.

---------------------------

"There's random genetic variation, and non-random survival, and non-random reproduction, which is why, as the generations go by, animals get better at doing what they do. That is quintessentially non-random". ― Richard Dawkins
User avatar
FMiguelez
 
Posts: 7346
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Body: Narco-México Soul/Heart: NYC
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: SE vertical zoom problem

Postby mesayre » Wed Nov 22, 2017 7:20 pm

FMiguelez wrote:Edit away, and then press Command - [ to return to your identical previous zoom level. This zooms in vertically and horizontally to fill the screen with your marquee and returns you to the identical zoom you had before.

It literally takes 2 key strokes to zoom way in and zoom way out.

The combinations for Command [ and Command ] are awesome! Try it oot!


Whoa! Thanks for pointing this out. I feel like I'd been using the SE with one hand behind my back, and can't believe I didn't know this. I'm not the OP but you certainly made MY day! Thanks!
DP 9.13 - Win 10 - Intel i7 8-core w/ 16GB Ram
mesayre
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 7:04 am
Location: New York, NY
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: SE vertical zoom problem

Postby FMiguelez » Thu Nov 23, 2017 2:09 pm

My pleasure, mesayre!

I'm glad you found it useful :)
Mac Mini Server i7 2.66 GHs/16 GB RAM / OSX 10.10.3 / DP 9.02
Tascam DM-24, MOTU Track 16, all Spectrasonics' stuff,
Vienna Instruments SUPER PACKAGE, Waves Platinum, slaved iMac and Mac Minis running VE Pro, etc.

---------------------------

"There's random genetic variation, and non-random survival, and non-random reproduction, which is why, as the generations go by, animals get better at doing what they do. That is quintessentially non-random". ― Richard Dawkins
User avatar
FMiguelez
 
Posts: 7346
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Body: Narco-México Soul/Heart: NYC
Primary DAW OS: MacOS


Return to Digital Performer [Windows]: Usage, Techniques, Tips & Optimization

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


Who is online

In total there are 0 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 0 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

Login Form