It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 9:59 am
   
Text Size

Steven Slate Drums 4 *was* completely useless in DP7

For seeking technical help with Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS.

Moderators: James Steele, Shooshie

Forum rules
This forum is for seeking solutions to technical problems involving Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS, as well as feature requests, criticisms, comparison to other DAWs.

Steven Slate Drums 4 *was* completely useless in DP7

Postby JMVideo » Mon May 07, 2012 12:54 pm

**Update - apparently the latest updates to VEPro 5 and SSD4 have resolved this problem**

I just bought SSD4 Platinum and was dismayed to discover it's such a memory hog, you can't load full kits within DP7 unless it's the ONLY plugin running!

To make matters worse, it currently doesn't work with Vienna Ensemble Pro. Argh! My host Mac running DP7 is a 32-bit quad core so I usually run all my 64-bit plugs through VEPro.

What a disappointment. Does anyone know if these issues are being worked on, or is my only hope an upgrade to a 64-bit host and DP8?
Last edited by JMVideo on Mon May 21, 2012 9:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
__________________________
Mac Pro 2.6Ghz 12Gig RAM, MacBook Pro i7, DP 7.21, VEPro 5, MIDI ExpressXT, 1296, 424 card, Kurzweil K2000, Yamaha CP300, BFD, Komplete 5, Omnisphere, Trillian, Electr6ity, Dyaudio BM6A MKII's
JMVideo
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 10:38 pm
Location: Bay Area, CA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Steven Slate Drums 4 completely useless in DP7!

Postby James Steele » Mon May 07, 2012 1:31 pm

This topic goes in the Troubleshooting section. Moved. Hopefully you'll get some help. This sounds very unusual.
JamesSteele.com | Dean Guitars | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter

MacPro4,1 Quad-Core 2.66, 24GB RAM, OS 10.10, ATI 5770, DP 8.07, MOTU HD192, 24I/O, UAD-2 Duo, Lucid GENx192, HV-3C, Red Type B, Dean guitars, Marshall amps, etc., etc.!
User avatar
James Steele
Site Administrator
 
Posts: 15175
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: San Diego, CA - U.S.A.
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Steven Slate Drums 4 completely useless in DP7!

Postby Alfred Zigoma » Mon May 07, 2012 2:08 pm

1.vsl promised to fix it in the nearest update
2.B SSD options you can choose the light version download samples.
Maybe this will help you the first time
MacPro Quad-Core 2.8 GHZ 16GB RAM OSX 10.8.4, MacBook Pro 13" 2.4GHz 8GB RAM OSX 10.10, Mac Mini MD388
DP 8, PT 10, SSL MADI AlphaLink MX, UA Apollo, SSL Sigma, SSL X-Desk, PMC Tb2, Neumann KH310, SSL Alpha VHD Pre, Kemper, Powercore x8, Powercore Express, UAD Octo, MC Mix(х2), MC Control, Melodyne, Revoice Pro, RX4, Soundtoys, McDSP, Waves, all Slate, VSL VE Pro, SE, Suite, NI Kontakt 5, Halion 5, MachFive 3, BPM, etc...
User avatar
Alfred Zigoma
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 12:07 pm
Location: Russia
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Steven Slate Drums 4 completely useless in DP7!

Postby hrw » Sun May 13, 2012 8:02 pm

JMVideo wrote:I just bought SSD4 Platinum and was dismayed to discover it's such a memory hog, you can't load full kits within DP7 unless it's the ONLY plugin running!

To make matters worse, it currently doesn't work with Vienna Ensemble Pro. Argh! My host Mac running DP7 is a 32-bit quad core so I usually run all my 64-bit plugs through VEPro.

What a disappointment. Does anyone know if these issues are being worked on, or is my only hope an upgrade to a 64-bit host and DP8?


+1 Same problem. Waste of money.... very disappointing!!!
I would advise anyone against purchasing it at this point to use with DP.
They should've been more explicit about these issues. Hope it works soon.
Computer/s: OSX 10.8.3

2 x 2.66 GHz Mac Pro Quad-Core Intel Xeon w/ 16GB RAM,

DAW:DP8.05
Hardware: Apogee Duet
VI's/Plug-ins:
Kontakt 5.1, EW PLAY Libraries and a
million others.
hrw
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 7:41 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Steven Slate Drums 4 completely useless in DP7!

Postby JMVideo » Fri May 18, 2012 12:15 pm

The really frustrating part is that the drums sound freakin' awesome. Apparently the Vienna team is working to fix the problem with VE Pro, but no timeframe has been given for the release of the next update.
__________________________
Mac Pro 2.6Ghz 12Gig RAM, MacBook Pro i7, DP 7.21, VEPro 5, MIDI ExpressXT, 1296, 424 card, Kurzweil K2000, Yamaha CP300, BFD, Komplete 5, Omnisphere, Trillian, Electr6ity, Dyaudio BM6A MKII's
JMVideo
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 10:38 pm
Location: Bay Area, CA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Steven Slate Drums 4 completely useless in DP7!

Postby Alfred Zigoma » Fri May 18, 2012 11:11 pm

DP7.24, SSD4 1.096 beta, VEPro 5.0.10683 - all works perfectly
MacPro Quad-Core 2.8 GHZ 16GB RAM OSX 10.8.4, MacBook Pro 13" 2.4GHz 8GB RAM OSX 10.10, Mac Mini MD388
DP 8, PT 10, SSL MADI AlphaLink MX, UA Apollo, SSL Sigma, SSL X-Desk, PMC Tb2, Neumann KH310, SSL Alpha VHD Pre, Kemper, Powercore x8, Powercore Express, UAD Octo, MC Mix(х2), MC Control, Melodyne, Revoice Pro, RX4, Soundtoys, McDSP, Waves, all Slate, VSL VE Pro, SE, Suite, NI Kontakt 5, Halion 5, MachFive 3, BPM, etc...
User avatar
Alfred Zigoma
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 12:07 pm
Location: Russia
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Steven Slate Drums 4 completely useless in DP7!

Postby mhschmieder » Sat May 19, 2012 11:52 am

There was an update yesterday but I haven't had a chance to try it yet -- also I think fast turnaround on another update was announced. They're working hard on any remaining problems. I haven't tried mine since it first came out, when it didn't work with DP7 yet.
MacPro Quad-Core Intel Xeon (2.8 GHz, 16 GB), OSX 10.9.5, MOTU DP 8.07, iZotope RX 4.0.0
FireFace UFX, OctoPre Mk II, True Precision 8, AEA RPQ, Radial PZ-DI & Reamp JCR

Eugenio Upright, Dingwall Afterburner, BB-1025X, 50th T-Bird, 60th P-Bass, Select J-Bass, Warmoth Fretless, Viking Baritone
57 Goldtop, Firebird, Select Strat/Tele, G5422-12, X-175B Manhattan, 000-28, D-15M, J-15, M-120, ABT60
Yamaha WX5, Hammond 44 Melodion, XK-1c, Suzuki Andes, Minimoog Voyager, Prophet 12, MEK
User avatar
mhschmieder
 
Posts: 8560
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Steven Slate Drums 4 completely useless in DP7!

Postby hrw » Mon May 21, 2012 8:26 pm

YES! It's finally working. Just updated VE Pro (5.0.10738) and SSD4 (1.096). At last. We need to change the topic heading now perhaps??
Computer/s: OSX 10.8.3

2 x 2.66 GHz Mac Pro Quad-Core Intel Xeon w/ 16GB RAM,

DAW:DP8.05
Hardware: Apogee Duet
VI's/Plug-ins:
Kontakt 5.1, EW PLAY Libraries and a
million others.
hrw
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 7:41 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Steven Slate Drums 4 *was* completely useless in DP7

Postby JMVideo » Mon May 21, 2012 9:56 pm

Excellent! I will download the latest updates and give it a try.
__________________________
Mac Pro 2.6Ghz 12Gig RAM, MacBook Pro i7, DP 7.21, VEPro 5, MIDI ExpressXT, 1296, 424 card, Kurzweil K2000, Yamaha CP300, BFD, Komplete 5, Omnisphere, Trillian, Electr6ity, Dyaudio BM6A MKII's
JMVideo
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 10:38 pm
Location: Bay Area, CA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Steven Slate Drums 4 *was* completely useless in DP7

Postby forjam » Sun Dec 09, 2012 8:57 am

I have similar problems with SD4. Low memory messages, not loading crash cymbals or electronic kits. It does open work with Vienna Ensemble Pro 5 outside of Pro Tools , but has the same problem. The problem is duplicated in Pro Tools 10, Logic 9.1 as well as the Vienna Ensemble Pro 5. I have an 8 core Mac Pro 24 gigs ram etc, etc. Like most working producers, I own and use most everything and expect a few hic cups with new tech, but can't wait to get these bugs fixed. The drums do sound amazing.
ForJam Productions http://forjam.com
User avatar
forjam
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: Nashville
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Steven Slate Drums 4 *was* completely useless in DP7

Postby daveyboy » Sun Dec 09, 2012 11:30 am

I think version 1.1 of ssd4 will fix everything as it now does disk streaming. In loading gigantic cla kits that weigh in at over 1 gig and they're only taking up around 200 mbs of actual ram.
Dave
www.dbwproductions.com
www.myspace.com/dbwproductions
8 core 2.8 mac pro w/ 10 gigs ram, DP7.24, Logic9.1.8 and PT 10.3, Apogee Symphony, UAD2, tons of plugs and VIs, OSX.8.3, 4 room commercial studio great for producers and composers!
User avatar
daveyboy
 
Posts: 850
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2004 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Steven Slate Drums 4 *was* completely useless in DP7

Postby forjam » Sun Dec 09, 2012 11:38 am

I am using version 1.1. As far as streaming goes. these are small files. I stream an entire orchestra with my film template in Vienna Ensemble Pro 5 to Pro Tools 10 or even the same template in Logic 9. There is definitely a problem with memory allocation in my opinion. I also have some samples that won't load. The one's that do load are smoking hot! I will be in touch with them tomorrow to see if we can figure things out.
ForJam Productions http://forjam.com
User avatar
forjam
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: Nashville
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Steven Slate Drums 4 *was* completely useless in DP7

Postby kgdrum » Sun Dec 09, 2012 1:03 pm

I'm glad I saw this,I've been thinking of updating SSD3 EX (which I never liked or used)to SSD4 EX with the sale($49 until Tuesday)
I've heard the new SSD4 is much better but hearing this, as a DP8 user that does not use VEP ,I think I'm going to hold off.
So most users find they need to use SSD4 with VEP to get this to work with DP?
Thanks
2.8 Quad MacPro 3.1,24 gig,OSX10.8.3, DP8.05 RME fireface 800,Great River ME-1NV preamp,a few microphones,NI Komplete + numerous VI's & plugins, UAD2, Vdrums (TD20 expanded) Superior 2 etc..., Focal Twin 6 monitors, Shunyata PowerSnakes and Conditioners,too many hard drives... ESATA
User avatar
kgdrum
 
Posts: 3781
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: NYC
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Steven Slate Drums 4 *was* completely useless in DP7

Postby forjam » Sun Dec 09, 2012 1:33 pm

I don't know what happened, but I did get SSD4 to run in VEP Pro 5 outside of Pro Tools 10. I imported cymbals from the individual library to complete a kit. I made these adjustments in SSD settings:

Drumkit Detail: Medium
Resampling Quality: Normal

Memory Guard mode: Off
Disk Streaming: Big

This is an amazing library. I don't know why it started working but will still follow up with Slate tomorrow. Good luck.
ForJam Productions http://forjam.com
User avatar
forjam
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: Nashville
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified


Return to Digital Performer [MacOS]: Troubleshooting/Criticism

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 2 guests


Who is online

In total there are 5 users online :: 3 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 2 guests

Login Form