It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 5:08 pm
   
Text Size

New Compressor - Could be good...?

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on MacOS.

Moderators: James Steele, Shooshie

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [MacOS] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."

Re: New Compressor - Could be good...?

Postby bolla » Mon Apr 16, 2012 6:06 pm

cbergm7210 wrote:This is my go to guy to check prices first. He is fantastic:


Arthur Alexander
arteksound@earthlink.net

Thanks for this,
Bolla
8 Core 2.8 10.8.4 DP 8.05 | Dual 2.5 G5 VEP Slave | PC i7 920 VEP Slave | UAD Sat Quad | MiniMoog | MS10
User avatar
bolla
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: Sydney Australia
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: New Compressor - Could be good...?

Postby cbergm7210 » Thu Apr 19, 2012 7:48 am

Frodo wrote:It's good if you use it "good".


I think a wise short guy with pointy ears once said that.
Mac Pro 2.66GHz Dual Quad Core Nahalem, 16 Gigs RAM, DP 7.24, RME Fireface 800, MOTU MIDIexpress 128, Powercore PCIe, Waves, URS, PSP Audio, Mac OS 10.8.4

http://www.rfjmusic.com
User avatar
cbergm7210
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:34 am
Location: High Ridge, MO
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: New Compressor - Could be good...?

Postby Dan Worley » Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:55 pm

The more I use UBK-1 the more I love it. It's definitely a winner.

DP 7.21 has crashed a few times when I was moving UBK-1 to a different insert slot. That's the only problem I've experienced with it. But after that, moving some Waves plugs crashed DP, too, so maybe something else is causing it. DP7.21 has been so incredibly stable for me that it's rather shocking to have it crash at all.
DP 8.06 • Mavericks 10.9.4 • 3.2Ghz Mac Pro (Quad) 5,1 • 18GB RAM • ATI HD5770
User avatar
Dan Worley
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 3:03 pm
Location: Northern CA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: New Compressor - Could be good...?

Postby cbergm7210 » Mon Apr 23, 2012 2:09 pm

Dan Worley wrote:The more I use UBK-1 the more I love it. It's definitely a winner.

DP 7.21 has crashed a few times when I was moving UBK-1 to a different insert slot. That's the only problem I've experienced with it. But after that, moving some Waves plugs crashed DP, too, so maybe something else is causing it. DP7.21 has been so incredibly stable for me that it's rather shocking to have it crash at all.



Me too, Dan-O. I slap it on a track and pretty much like it or dislike it right away. It's cool you can switch between 5 different compressor types that all do completely different things to the track, pick the one you want, then back the mix off to get the desired effect.
Mac Pro 2.66GHz Dual Quad Core Nahalem, 16 Gigs RAM, DP 7.24, RME Fireface 800, MOTU MIDIexpress 128, Powercore PCIe, Waves, URS, PSP Audio, Mac OS 10.8.4

http://www.rfjmusic.com
User avatar
cbergm7210
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:34 am
Location: High Ridge, MO
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: New Compressor - Could be good...?

Postby sdfalk » Mon Apr 23, 2012 4:28 pm

Another possibly worth a look..

http://www.cytomic.com/glue
A New quad i7 mac mini and a Retina Macbook Pro 16gb of ram in each a ton of native plugins, and a
HUGE bunch o' AU instruments, with Final Cut ProX, DP, leave on the stove for awhile
A Uad 2 Apollo…mmmmmmm
Remember to eat all your fruits and vegetables!
My OS is The amazingly gratuitous Mountain Lion 10.8
sdfalk
 
Posts: 2461
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Vancouver BC
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: New Compressor - Could be good...?

Postby Killahurts » Mon Apr 23, 2012 8:49 pm

OK I tried the demo on a couple tracks, not on the 2 buss yet.. it is very good. Has that sort of "turn it on and it's magic" appeal, to my ear. I might get it.

Cytomic's Glue is also wonderful, SSL 4k buss comp, with a few extras..
DP8.06 on 12 Core Mac Pro, Surf Dog 10.9.4, 24GB RAM / VE Pro connection to VI slave (Mac Pro 2.8 GHz. 8-core 32GB RAM). RME MADI to SSL Alphalink to SSL Matrix. UAD Quad. Outboard stuff collecting dust. A Shure SM57 (which will outlast the rest of it).
Killahurts
 
Posts: 1458
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: USA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: New Compressor - Could be good...?

Postby Julia123 » Wed Apr 25, 2012 6:25 am

I checked out the videos, seems cool and different. Of those who have tried it, what kind of tracks have you experimented with besides full mix? I only have DP's built in compressors at this time plus one that came with Garage Band. I'm pretty much a novice with compressors/Limiters and usually just mess with them till they sound right. BTW, my only live audio are vocals and flute. The rest are VI.
iMac OS X 10.6.8, Dual Core, 3.06 GHz, 12g Ram, DP 8.05, Apogee One
Julia123
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:49 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: New Compressor - Could be good...?

Postby Julia123 » Mon May 07, 2012 8:02 am

Not only is it good, it is GREAT!!!! Thanks Cbergm for the the info on purchasing it--- very cool person to deal with!!!!!
iMac OS X 10.6.8, Dual Core, 3.06 GHz, 12g Ram, DP 8.05, Apogee One
Julia123
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:49 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: New Compressor - Could be good...?

Postby cbergm7210 » Mon May 07, 2012 8:20 am

Julia123 wrote:Not only is it good, it is GREAT!!!! Thanks Cbergm for the the info on purchasing it--- very cool person to deal with!!!!!


You bet. Family helps family, eh?

I am pretty much trying this thing on everything. Very versatile. 8)
Mac Pro 2.66GHz Dual Quad Core Nahalem, 16 Gigs RAM, DP 7.24, RME Fireface 800, MOTU MIDIexpress 128, Powercore PCIe, Waves, URS, PSP Audio, Mac OS 10.8.4

http://www.rfjmusic.com
User avatar
cbergm7210
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:34 am
Location: High Ridge, MO
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: New Compressor - Could be good...?

Postby labman » Mon May 07, 2012 10:22 am

our engineer says he is able to just use UBK where he would need two or three tools previously. And work faster.

So that means it was well worth the licenses.

(And the video manual is superbly done. Everyone should folllow his lead!
AMPGUI Gotham, Warmer, & Mellow, 8 macs, 2 MacPros, 16GB &24GB ram,10.8.2, DP8.04, Waves Mercury, all URS, PSP, IK multimedia & Audioease plugs, all Abbey Road, tons of NI VI's LASS and EW PLAY VOP, SD2,RA, QLSO, gypsy, L Lizard, MachFive3, Kontakt5, VGP, Philharmonik, Omnisphere, RMX, LASS, all Soundtoys, Lexicon AU's, melodyne and others I know am forgetting, cause I'm old...Also mucho outboard rigs, MIDI racks, 7 MTPs, DTP, antelope WC, and 6 control surfaces.
labman
 
Posts: 1241
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: New Compressor - Could be good...?

Postby Dan Worley » Mon May 07, 2012 2:05 pm

labman wrote:our engineer says he is able to just use UBK where he would need two or three tools previously. And work faster.

So that means it was well worth the licenses.

(And the video manual is superbly done. Everyone should folllow his lead!


+1

I feel the same way. Less tools to reach for and the videos were extremely well done. Not vague in the least. Real examples given in real time. I was actually entertained, too.
DP 8.06 • Mavericks 10.9.4 • 3.2Ghz Mac Pro (Quad) 5,1 • 18GB RAM • ATI HD5770
User avatar
Dan Worley
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 3:03 pm
Location: Northern CA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: New Compressor - Could be good...?

Postby toodamnhip » Wed May 09, 2012 2:42 am

Fascinating, this compressor is definitely food for thought.
2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon-24 Gig 1066 MHz DDR3 Mac
OS 10.6.8

DP 8.05, MTP AV, 828 mkII
LASS Strings 2.05, East West Pianos, East West Goliath, Spectrasonics Omnispere, Stylus RMX, Waves 9-Mercury+everything they make, Drum Core, NI Guitar Rig 2 and 3, Miroslav Philharmonik CE, Antares auto tune 7, entire Nomad Factory tube processor library, Peak Pro 6, Reason 3.05, Izotope Ozone 3-4-5, Trash 2 and Spectron, Ivory Piano, VI One, and Addictive Drums...Ocean way Drums, various other plugs
User avatar
toodamnhip
 
Posts: 3024
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: New Compressor - Could be good...?

Postby cbergm7210 » Mon Jul 02, 2012 2:31 pm

Just want to reiterate what a cool comp this is. Does what no other can. If you have not checked it out, you should. It's getting daily use over here in beautiful High Ridge, MO.
Mac Pro 2.66GHz Dual Quad Core Nahalem, 16 Gigs RAM, DP 7.24, RME Fireface 800, MOTU MIDIexpress 128, Powercore PCIe, Waves, URS, PSP Audio, Mac OS 10.8.4

http://www.rfjmusic.com
User avatar
cbergm7210
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:34 am
Location: High Ridge, MO
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: New Compressor - Could be good...?

Postby jbyerly1 » Mon Jul 02, 2012 3:35 pm

Do you find find your self fighting distortion and good settings? I need to go back and read about this plug because I must be doing something wrong. Also do you use it mainly as a in channel plug, 2bus, side chained. Where and what do you find it most useful for.
Mac Pro 4,1, OS 10.8.3, 2.93 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon, 32 GB 1066 MHz, DP 8.04, Apogee Ensemble, UA SOLO 610, Euphonix MC Control & MC mix, JBL Monitors, Ocean Way Drums Gold, Komplete 7, Waves Classic Studio Bundle,Stylus RMX, iZotope RX,1TB glyph Drive, Carvin 6 string Bass
http://www.HorizonEntertainment-NC.com
jbyerly1
 
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 11:13 am
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: New Compressor - Could be good...?

Postby cbergm7210 » Tue Jul 03, 2012 6:22 am

jbyerly1 wrote:Do you find find your self fighting distortion and good settings? I need to go back and read about this plug because I must be doing something wrong. Also do you use it mainly as a in channel plug, 2bus, side chained. Where and what do you find it most useful for.


If you're getting distortion it could be because of the Headroom knob is too far counterclockwise. I think the creator said to have the green light blinking every so often as a starting point and experiment from there. Also I have found that the saturation and density knobs can create unusable distortion on some source material, so if you hear anything disable those and see if it goes away.

I try this thing on pretty much everything except things that I am trying to shape with a compressor, like a snare drum or vocals that need to be surgically reigned in. How he describes it as a "motion" compressor is right on. It breathes life when put on drum subs, acoustic guitar, piano, submixes, whatever. Don't forget to experiment with the sidechain high pass knob.
Mac Pro 2.66GHz Dual Quad Core Nahalem, 16 Gigs RAM, DP 7.24, RME Fireface 800, MOTU MIDIexpress 128, Powercore PCIe, Waves, URS, PSP Audio, Mac OS 10.8.4

http://www.rfjmusic.com
User avatar
cbergm7210
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:34 am
Location: High Ridge, MO
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Previous

Return to Digital Performer [MacOS]: Usage, Techniques, Tips & Optimization

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: David Polich, Exabot [Bot] and 2 guests


Who is online

In total there are 4 users online :: 2 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: David Polich, Exabot [Bot] and 2 guests

Login Form