It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 3:01 pm
   
Text Size

And now, for a truly idiotic question.....

The forum for petitions, theoretical discussion, gripes, or other off topic discussion.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
The forum for petitions, theoretical discussion, gripes, or other matters outside deemed outside the scope of helping users make optimal use of MOTU hardware and software. Posts in other forums may be moved here at the moderators discretion. No politics or religion!!

And now, for a truly idiotic question.....

Postby gavspen » Sun Apr 22, 2012 10:29 am

Here goes:

I made a typo when entering my name while installing DP, so that now, every time the logo page comes up as it opens, there's the typo, bottom left. Who cares? Well, in this case, the typo happens to be a rather unflattering term in Italian, which happens to be the language of my wife's ancestors. Any way to correct this? Where does this little piece of information reside?

And yes, I am fully aware of the pathetic nature of this enquiry, thank you very much :wink:
MacPro 2x2.8 Quad, 6gigs RAM, 828 mkii, Powercore PCI Express, 10.6.8, DP 7.24, Mach 5, Kontakt 3, Spectrasonics, Drumcore, EastWest, Reason 4 and so on and so on......
gavspen
 
Posts: 490
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: NYC
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: And now, for a truly idiotic question.....

Postby bayswater » Sun Apr 22, 2012 11:18 am

Brute force method is to remove the hidden authorization file (search on this forum to see how to do that), delete DP and reinstall. Repeat as necessary.
iMac 27" i7 16G, DP 8.05 & OS 10.8.5, MachFive 3.2.1, 828 Mk3
Dual 2.0G G5 PCI 2G, DP 7.24, OS 10.5.8, 2408 MKII, UAD-1
MBP 16G DP 8.06 & OS 10.9.3, Lexicon Alpha
User avatar
bayswater
 
Posts: 4614
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 10:06 pm
Location: Vancouver
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: And now, for a truly idiotic question.....

Postby Dan Worley » Sun Apr 22, 2012 10:47 pm

Yeah.

Search for:

File name contains: auth
File visibility: invisible

Throw DP's auth file in the trash, but make sure there is another file in the trash, or put the auth file in a new folder and throw that folder in the trash and then empty the trash.

Repair permissions.

Reinstall and authorize DP.
DP 8.06 • Mavericks 10.9.3 • 3.2Ghz Mac Pro (Quad) 5,1 • 18GB RAM • ATI HD5770
User avatar
Dan Worley
 
Posts: 2629
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 3:03 pm
Location: Northern CA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: And now, for a truly idiotic question.....

Postby Agent of Random » Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:45 am

A quick method if you are using DP 7.24:

Quit DP and go to HD > Library > Application Support > MOTU and move the Digital Performer folder to the desktop. Re-launch DP and you will be asked to re-authorize.

Most of the contents of the DP folder on the desktop should get re-created, but you should go through this folder and make sure to copy anything that wasn't re-created into the new DP folder (inHD > Library > Application Support > MOTU) before trashing the desktop folder.
Agent of Random
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 4:40 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: And now, for a truly idiotic question.....

Postby Dan Worley » Tue Apr 24, 2012 3:02 pm

Agent of Random wrote:A quick method if you are using DP 7.24:

Quit DP and go to HD > Library > Application Support > MOTU and move the Digital Performer folder to the desktop. Re-launch DP and you will be asked to re-authorize.

Most of the contents of the DP folder on the desktop should get re-created, but you should go through this folder and make sure to copy anything that wasn't re-created into the new DP folder (inHD > Library > Application Support > MOTU) before trashing the desktop folder.


Assuming it works, that's a great tip and good advice.
DP 8.06 • Mavericks 10.9.3 • 3.2Ghz Mac Pro (Quad) 5,1 • 18GB RAM • ATI HD5770
User avatar
Dan Worley
 
Posts: 2629
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 3:03 pm
Location: Northern CA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: And now, for a truly idiotic question.....

Postby gavspen » Wed Apr 25, 2012 8:29 am

Agent of Random wrote:A quick method if you are using DP 7.24:

Quit DP and go to HD > Library > Application Support > MOTU and move the Digital Performer folder to the desktop. Re-launch DP and you will be asked to re-authorize.

Most of the contents of the DP folder on the desktop should get re-created, but you should go through this folder and make sure to copy anything that wasn't re-created into the new DP folder (inHD > Library > Application Support > MOTU) before trashing the desktop folder.


Thaaaat's what I was hoping for; thanks. I'll give it a try and report back.
MacPro 2x2.8 Quad, 6gigs RAM, 828 mkii, Powercore PCI Express, 10.6.8, DP 7.24, Mach 5, Kontakt 3, Spectrasonics, Drumcore, EastWest, Reason 4 and so on and so on......
gavspen
 
Posts: 490
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: NYC
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: And now, for a truly idiotic question.....

Postby gavspen » Fri Apr 27, 2012 8:51 am

Agent of Random wrote:A quick method if you are using DP 7.24:

Quit DP and go to HD > Library > Application Support > MOTU and move the Digital Performer folder to the desktop. Re-launch DP and you will be asked to re-authorize.

Most of the contents of the DP folder on the desktop should get re-created, but you should go through this folder and make sure to copy anything that wasn't re-created into the new DP folder (inHD > Library > Application Support > MOTU) before trashing the desktop folder.


It's not working. When I try to move the "Digital Performer" folder to the desktop, the finder makes a copy of it, and the original is left in the MOTU folder. This happens with any of the folders in the MOTU folder. However, I am able to move the entire MOTU folder to the desktop without it making a copy of it, or anything inside. What's that about??

It's never simple, is it?

Any thoughts? Thanks
MacPro 2x2.8 Quad, 6gigs RAM, 828 mkii, Powercore PCI Express, 10.6.8, DP 7.24, Mach 5, Kontakt 3, Spectrasonics, Drumcore, EastWest, Reason 4 and so on and so on......
gavspen
 
Posts: 490
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: NYC
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: And now, for a truly idiotic question.....

Postby Agent of Random » Fri Apr 27, 2012 12:30 pm

gavspen wrote:
Agent of Random wrote:A quick method if you are using DP 7.24:

Quit DP and go to HD > Library > Application Support > MOTU and move the Digital Performer folder to the desktop. Re-launch DP and you will be asked to re-authorize.

Most of the contents of the DP folder on the desktop should get re-created, but you should go through this folder and make sure to copy anything that wasn't re-created into the new DP folder (inHD > Library > Application Support > MOTU) before trashing the desktop folder.


It's not working. When I try to move the "Digital Performer" folder to the desktop, the finder makes a copy of it, and the original is left in the MOTU folder. This happens with any of the folders in the MOTU folder. However, I am able to move the entire MOTU folder to the desktop without it making a copy of it, or anything inside. What's that about??

It's never simple, is it?

Any thoughts? Thanks


I think it's a permissions issue. Drag the folder to the desktop to make a copy. Next, click on the original inside the MOTU folder and select "move to trash" from the File menu. It will ask for your admin password, but once you do that the folder should be trashed (but you'll still have the copy on the desktop).
Agent of Random
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 4:40 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: And now, for a truly idiotic question.....

Postby gavspen » Fri Apr 27, 2012 2:09 pm

Agent of Random wrote:
gavspen wrote:
Agent of Random wrote:A quick method if you are using DP 7.24:

Quit DP and go to HD > Library > Application Support > MOTU and move the Digital Performer folder to the desktop. Re-launch DP and you will be asked to re-authorize.

Most of the contents of the DP folder on the desktop should get re-created, but you should go through this folder and make sure to copy anything that wasn't re-created into the new DP folder (inHD > Library > Application Support > MOTU) before trashing the desktop folder.


It's not working. When I try to move the "Digital Performer" folder to the desktop, the finder makes a copy of it, and the original is left in the MOTU folder. This happens with any of the folders in the MOTU folder. However, I am able to move the entire MOTU folder to the desktop without it making a copy of it, or anything inside. What's that about??

It's never simple, is it?

Any thoughts? Thanks


I think it's a permissions issue. Drag the folder to the desktop to make a copy. Next, click on the original inside the MOTU folder and select "move to trash" from the File menu. It will ask for your admin password, but once you do that the folder should be trashed (but you'll still have the copy on the desktop).


Done, but this time I get the following error message:

Digital Performer has encountered an error.

MacOS error: Access Denied. Insufficient access privileges for
the operation. (-5000)

Permissions have been recently repaired, for what it's worth. If you can be bothered to spend any more time on this, know that it is greatly appreciated.

Thanks
MacPro 2x2.8 Quad, 6gigs RAM, 828 mkii, Powercore PCI Express, 10.6.8, DP 7.24, Mach 5, Kontakt 3, Spectrasonics, Drumcore, EastWest, Reason 4 and so on and so on......
gavspen
 
Posts: 490
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: NYC
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: And now, for a truly idiotic question.....

Postby Agent of Random » Tue May 01, 2012 9:01 am

Hmmm that's strange. Usually "access denied" means it is a permissions problem. If repairing disc permissions doesn't help, try manually setting the permissions on the MOTU folder (right click and select "get info") to "read and write" and then select "apply to enclosed" from the little star icon at the bottom of the Info window.
Agent of Random
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 4:40 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: And now, for a truly idiotic question.....

Postby gavspen » Tue May 01, 2012 11:19 am

Agent of Random wrote:Hmmm that's strange. Usually "access denied" means it is a permissions problem. If repairing disc permissions doesn't help, try manually setting the permissions on the MOTU folder (right click and select "get info") to "read and write" and then select "apply to enclosed" from the little star icon at the bottom of the Info window.


Oy vay, it never ends.... :? :lol:

Methinks I wasnt clear. I got that error message as DP opened after I had thrown away the Digital Performer folder (in the manner you described). Would that still be permissions? I was able to throw it away, after all.

Anyway, I did as you suggested - changed the MOTU folder and its contents to "Read & Write", threw away the Digital Performer folder again, and opened up DP without a problem. In other words, I did not have to re-authorize.

You're probably pretty sick of this by now, right?..... :lol:
MacPro 2x2.8 Quad, 6gigs RAM, 828 mkii, Powercore PCI Express, 10.6.8, DP 7.24, Mach 5, Kontakt 3, Spectrasonics, Drumcore, EastWest, Reason 4 and so on and so on......
gavspen
 
Posts: 490
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: NYC
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: And now, for a truly idiotic question.....

Postby Agent of Random » Tue May 01, 2012 1:23 pm

hmmm yea at this point I can't be much help. You're definitely running 7.24, right? Seems to work fine on my system...at least it did at one point.
Agent of Random
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 4:40 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: And now, for a truly idiotic question.....

Postby gavspen » Wed May 02, 2012 7:38 am

Agent of Random wrote:hmmm yea at this point I can't be much help. You're definitely running 7.24, right? Seems to work fine on my system...at least it did at one point.


So you're saying that at some point you had to throw away your DP folder and this caused you to have to re-authorize? Didnt happen here. Yes, I'm running 7.24.

Oh well, thanks for trying. I do appreciate it.

Gavin
MacPro 2x2.8 Quad, 6gigs RAM, 828 mkii, Powercore PCI Express, 10.6.8, DP 7.24, Mach 5, Kontakt 3, Spectrasonics, Drumcore, EastWest, Reason 4 and so on and so on......
gavspen
 
Posts: 490
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: NYC
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: And now, for a truly idiotic question.....

Postby Agent of Random » Wed May 02, 2012 7:59 am

Yes. Since Lion for some reason blocks the auth file from being written in older versions of DP, they had to change the location of the auth file for DP7.24. The Digital Performer folder in app support is where it should be (although it is hidden/invisible), therefore removing that folder removes the auth file.

Are you running Lion (EDIT oh duhhh according to your sig you're on SL)? If not, maybe the older auth file is still on your system and is confusing the program...not sure what to do about that, but that might explain things.
Agent of Random
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 4:40 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: And now, for a truly idiotic question.....

Postby gavspen » Mon May 07, 2012 8:22 am

Agent, in case you care, I cracked it!

I used Terminal to show all the hidden files (there are a lot of them!), moved the DP auth file to the trash and opened DP. Voila! I re-authorized and corrected the stupid typo. No muss, no fuss, no re-install....took two minutes. I'm so proud of myself...lol

Gavin
MacPro 2x2.8 Quad, 6gigs RAM, 828 mkii, Powercore PCI Express, 10.6.8, DP 7.24, Mach 5, Kontakt 3, Spectrasonics, Drumcore, EastWest, Reason 4 and so on and so on......
gavspen
 
Posts: 490
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: NYC
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified


Return to MOTU Theoretical Discussions, Gripes, Petitions & Off Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest


Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

Login Form