It is currently Wed Aug 27, 2014 8:05 pm
   
Text Size

digital performer and objects oriented sequencers

Discussion of Digital Performer use, optimization, tips and techniques on MacOS.

Moderators: James Steele, Shooshie

Forum rules
This forum is for most discussion related to the use and optimization of Digital Performer [MacOS] and plug-ins as well as tips and techniques. It is NOT for troubleshooting technical issues, complaints, feature requests, or "Comparative DAW 101."

digital performer and objects oriented sequencers

Postby fafalio » Sat Mar 03, 2012 6:45 am

hello Everyone.
i ask you if it is possible in DP to apply an effect in non destructive way (via aux, insert effect) not to the whole track but only to a small fraction of a track.
In software as magix samplitude this is possible with the object oriented editing where i can cut a portion of a track and inside that portion i can insert all the effects i want.
thanks a lot,
Alessandro.
fafalio
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: Italy
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: digital performer and objects oriented sequencers

Postby FMiguelez » Sat Mar 03, 2012 6:50 am

Of course it's possible.
For this you don't put the plug-ins in the mixer's channel. You need a time range selection of a sound bite and then use the plugs from the Audio menu and render them as needed.
Mac Mini Server i7 2.66 GHs/16 GB RAM / OSX 10.9.2 / DP 8.06
Tascam DM-24, MOTU Track 16, all Spectrasonics' stuff,
Vienna Instruments SUPER PACKAGE, Waves Platinum, slaved iMac and Mac Minis running VE Pro, etc.

---------------------------

"There's random genetic variation, and non-random survival, and non-random reproduction, which is why, as the generations go by, animals get better at doing what they do. That is quintessentially non-random". ― Richard Dawkins
User avatar
FMiguelez
 
Posts: 6404
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Body: México. Soul/Heart: NYC
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: digital performer and objects oriented sequencers

Postby fafalio » Sat Mar 03, 2012 7:00 am

my answer is another, i don t want render, i want apply and effect to an object as it would be an effect in the mixer, so acting without rendering to audio.
fafalio
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: Italy
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: digital performer and objects oriented sequencers

Postby FMiguelez » Sat Mar 03, 2012 7:47 am

Then put the plug-in in the mixer...

If you only want a particular part of your audio to have an effect then you could set it in the mixer and bypass it afterwards, or simply print it as decribed above. Or use a send and place the effect in a VI Rack. Or cut you audio and put the portion you want in a different track.

Those are pretty much your options.

Is that not enough? What are you trying to do?
Last edited by FMiguelez on Sat Mar 03, 2012 7:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mac Mini Server i7 2.66 GHs/16 GB RAM / OSX 10.9.2 / DP 8.06
Tascam DM-24, MOTU Track 16, all Spectrasonics' stuff,
Vienna Instruments SUPER PACKAGE, Waves Platinum, slaved iMac and Mac Minis running VE Pro, etc.

---------------------------

"There's random genetic variation, and non-random survival, and non-random reproduction, which is why, as the generations go by, animals get better at doing what they do. That is quintessentially non-random". ― Richard Dawkins
User avatar
FMiguelez
 
Posts: 6404
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Body: México. Soul/Heart: NYC
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: digital performer and objects oriented sequencers

Postby stubbsonic » Sat Mar 03, 2012 7:48 am

If you want to keep original versions (un-rendered) just duplicate the track and mute the original. DP won't destroy the original, it will create a duplicate with the FX rendered.

Another approach would be to create multiple empty tracks each with the FX inserts you want, and drag regions out of the track into the tracks with the desired inserts. (I.e., select the region of audio, use COMMAND-Y to split the region, drag to adjacent track).

OR, you could use automation, by putting the FX you want on inserts, and automate the bypass state of each insert.

OR, you could create a bunch of aux tracks, each with various FX paths. Then you could use aux send automation to send any track to these aux track FX paths, without having to duplicate the inserts.
RMBP (2.6 i7), FF800, DP8, Kontakt, Reaktor, K2661S, K2500RS, iPad4, also have a sawtooth G4 for running a few legacy apps and a UAD-1.
stubbsonic
 
Posts: 888
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 1:56 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: digital performer and objects oriented sequencers

Postby philbrown » Sat Mar 03, 2012 7:53 am

fafalio wrote:my answer is another, i don t want render, i want apply and effect to an object as it would be an effect in the mixer, so acting without rendering to audio.


Make your selection, hit Command-Y (IIRC - to create a new soundbite) and Shift-drag the resulting soundbite to a new track. Apply your plug-ins to the new track as inserts in the mixer. Think of soundbites as objects in this case.
Main DAW: Mac Pro 2x2.26 Quad-core 6GB RAM OS10.8.5•DP 7.24•UA Apollo•UAD-2 Octo•MTP2
VI computer: Mac Pro 2x2.66 Dual-Core 4Gb RAM OS10.5.8/Windows XP•PCIe424>2408•Microlite•MOTU896
Plugs: UAD•Scuffham•Flux IRCAM•NI Komplete•Waves•Stectrasonics•Arturia•Soundtoys•Nomad Factory•Camel Audio•PSP•Stillwell•Cytomic•Schwa•Korg•AAS•Five12•GForce•Slate


The Oversouls
doctorvague (modular synth videos)
User avatar
philbrown
 
Posts: 1448
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: New Mexico
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: digital performer and objects oriented sequencers

Postby stubbsonic » Sat Mar 03, 2012 8:26 am

And, let's through CLIPPINGS into this conversation.

As I mentioned above, if you create an Aux Track with a set of inserts you like, there are ways you can drag elements (either the track itself, or the inserts) onto the CLIPPINGS window such that they would be available in any other project. That way you can feel like you are building a library. I'm only now starting to work with CLIPPINGS after having avoided it for as long as it existed.
RMBP (2.6 i7), FF800, DP8, Kontakt, Reaktor, K2661S, K2500RS, iPad4, also have a sawtooth G4 for running a few legacy apps and a UAD-1.
stubbsonic
 
Posts: 888
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 1:56 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: digital performer and objects oriented sequencers

Postby Bren Gun » Sat Oct 13, 2012 7:56 am

He's asking if it's possible to use the Object Editing approach equal to that in Samplitude. A simple yes or no should suffice. From what I can tell from the answers, it's a no.

In OE, you non-destructively apply an effect to an object or clip inside a track, on the Object Level not on the Track Level. There's no need to copy anything nor is there need to automate on Track Level, nor a need to take many steps, etcetera. You approach the object, apply non-destructively, done. And you can easily remove it immediately if wanted or change it and so forth, pretty much like you would remove an insert from a track.

(I'm also interested in this. My reason is because I come from Samplitude and am considering a switch. I'm on the forum to honestly see if it's wise to switch to DP8. Maybe there are features in DP8 to better facilitate what I want to do.)

Have a good day, all!
Bren Gun
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 7:28 am
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: digital performer and objects oriented sequencers

Postby bayswater » Sat Oct 13, 2012 8:16 am

It's a simple yes or no if the question is how it's done, rather than whether you can do it. DP has a mix of object oriented and other approaches, but it does not use the Samplitude/Cubase, etc method of doing this.

I usually just select the portion of the audio that I want the effect on, and drag it to another track, and apply the effect there. If there are a lot of positions where the effect has to be turned on and off, automating bypass is pretty simple.

No doubt, more region oriented editing options would improve workflow for some users, and this comes up often in the wish lists, especially for MIDI.
iMac 27" i7 16G, DP 8.05 & OS 10.8.5, MachFive 3.2.1, 828 Mk3
Dual 2.0G G5 PCI 2G, DP 7.24, OS 10.5.8, 2408 MKII, UAD-1
MBP 16G DP 8.06 & OS 10.9.3, Lexicon Alpha
User avatar
bayswater
 
Posts: 4751
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 10:06 pm
Location: Vancouver
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: digital performer and objects oriented sequencers

Postby Bren Gun » Sat Oct 13, 2012 9:01 am

Respectfully, I don't see how that response is even relevant or useful.

If the question is "how it's done", then the yes has already been given or it is known (or at least should be) and the answer is to be responding to "how it's done".

He's asking about the matter the way in which I described it in my previous post. "Can it be done in this particular way?" Either 'yes' or 'no'. Anything else is irrelevant.
Bren Gun
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 7:28 am
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: digital performer and objects oriented sequencers

Postby amplidood » Sat Oct 13, 2012 9:04 am

No, DP does not have object-oriented real time plugin capabilities. Other apps like Logic have gotten around this by dynamically controlling the CPU usage of plugins based on whether or not audio is passing through them. Studio One and other apps in that arena do have "event based" effects, allowing you to treat different audio events on the same track in completely different ways. It's pretty ingenious, but something I can get around.

I'd rather have Logic's approach, to be honest.
ampguimods.net andyselby.com themacdaddy
How do I like to work? Out of my "StudioInABag" of course; SwissGear laptop bag (awesome), MacBook Pro (4,1) 2.4ghz/4gb/500gb/Snow leopard, lots and lots of drives, Mbox2Pro, DP, PT, Logic (hardly touch it), Komplete, Reason, too many plugs and VI's to list, Akai LPK25, Korg nanoPAD, wireless keyboard/mouse, Sennheiser 650HD phones...basically i pull four cables out of the bag, hook to the laptop, and go!
User avatar
amplidood
 
Posts: 1450
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Franklin,TN
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: digital performer and objects oriented sequencers

Postby Radiogal » Sat Oct 13, 2012 9:28 am

Bren Gun wrote:Respectfully, I don't see how that response is even relevant or useful.

If the question is "how it's done", then the yes has already been given or it is known (or at least should be) and the answer is to be responding to "how it's done".

He's asking about the matter the way in which I described it in my previous post. "Can it be done in this particular way?" Either 'yes' or 'no'. Anything else is irrelevant.


Thing is that we always wanna help people here on Motunation.
If it´s not done in the way it´s asked, than we will give all the other options about how to get the same results.
We´re just being helpful.

All DAWs (and other software) have different ways of doing the same things.
The hardest thing of learning new platforms is to sync your brain into the new softwares´ way of thinking.
Once you get it, it all becomes clear.
That´s my long term experience.
MAC PRO 6 Core 3.33 GHz, 16 GB RAM, OSX 10.8.5, DP 8.05 MAC and WIN (64bit/Jbridge) AMPGUI Mellow, Logic 9.1.8, Wavelab 8 MOTU 24I/O (x2), MOTU 2408 MK3 (2x), WAVES Mercury 9, SSL, UAD2Quad, McDSP, Sound Toys, Sonnox, Sonalksis, NomadFactory, T-Racks, P&M, LexPCM, AbbeyRoad, DSM, VCC, VTM, FGX, Melda, EWQL SymphOrch/Piano Gold. Mixingdesk: AMEK Big 44, TK BC-1MK2, SSLcomp clones, GAPPre73, PCM91, TC, FMR. Monitors: Genelec 1031, ADAM A7, >40 mics http://www.ragdollproduction.com
User avatar
Radiogal
 
Posts: 1506
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 12:42 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: digital performer and objects oriented sequencers

Postby amplidood » Sat Oct 13, 2012 10:17 am

Bren Gun wrote:Respectfully, I don't see how that response is even relevant or useful.

If the question is "how it's done", then the yes has already been given or it is known (or at least should be) and the answer is to be responding to "how it's done".

He's asking about the matter the way in which I described it in my previous post. "Can it be done in this particular way?" Either 'yes' or 'no'. Anything else is irrelevant.


This is not respectful. This is nit-picky and displays a misunderstanding of how user forums work. It doesn't matter if everyone's post follows what you perceive to be the necessary parameters. This is a dangerous method of posturing that will alienate you faster than it will help you.
ampguimods.net andyselby.com themacdaddy
How do I like to work? Out of my "StudioInABag" of course; SwissGear laptop bag (awesome), MacBook Pro (4,1) 2.4ghz/4gb/500gb/Snow leopard, lots and lots of drives, Mbox2Pro, DP, PT, Logic (hardly touch it), Komplete, Reason, too many plugs and VI's to list, Akai LPK25, Korg nanoPAD, wireless keyboard/mouse, Sennheiser 650HD phones...basically i pull four cables out of the bag, hook to the laptop, and go!
User avatar
amplidood
 
Posts: 1450
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Franklin,TN
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: digital performer and objects oriented sequencers

Postby kgdrum » Sat Oct 13, 2012 2:24 pm

+1 agree

snarky passive aggressive attitude in every post from this user, this kept me from wanting to answer any of his 2 or 3 participated threads.

As always RadioGal & Andy, your both too kind, lol.
2.8 Quad MacPro 3.1,24 gig,OSX10.8.3, DP8.05 RME fireface 800,Great River ME-1NV preamp,a few microphones,NI Komplete + numerous VI's & plugins, UAD2, Vdrums (TD20 expanded) Superior 2 etc..., Focal Twin 6 monitors, Shunyata PowerSnakes and Conditioners,too many hard drives... ESATA
User avatar
kgdrum
 
Posts: 3757
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: NYC
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: digital performer and objects oriented sequencers

Postby James Steele » Sat Oct 13, 2012 2:45 pm

Bren Gun wrote:Respectfully, I don't see how that response is even relevant or useful.

If the question is "how it's done", then the yes has already been given or it is known (or at least should be) and the answer is to be responding to "how it's done".

He's asking about the matter the way in which I described it in my previous post. "Can it be done in this particular way?" Either 'yes' or 'no'. Anything else is irrelevant.


You're not going to last long around here with that attitude. Trust me. People are trying to help. You might try to appreciate that.
JamesSteele.com | Dean Guitars | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter

MacPro4,1 Quad-Core 2.66, 24GB RAM, OS 10.9.4, ATI 5770, DP 8.06, MOTU HD192, 24I/O, UAD-2 Duo, Lucid GENx192, HV-3C, Red Type B, Dean guitars, Marshall amps, etc., etc.!
User avatar
James Steele
Site Administrator
 
Posts: 14890
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: San Diego, CA - U.S.A.
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Next

Return to Digital Performer [MacOS]: Usage, Techniques, Tips & Optimization

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


Who is online

In total there are 3 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 3 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Login Form