It is currently Thu Jul 24, 2014 9:56 am
   
Text Size

no movie window in song mode?

Digital Perfomer in the context of television/film scoring and post-production.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for discussion related to the use of Digital Perfomer in the context of television and film scoring and post-production.

no movie window in song mode?

Postby taylor12k » Fri Sep 23, 2011 7:48 am

i'm trying to build a SONG via sequence chunks... however, as soon as i play enable my song, the movie window with the quicktime movie goes away and i can't bring it back.

as soon as i play enable one of the chunks, the movie window comes back.

sort of hard to lay out a score if you can't see the movie! there's GOT to be a way to do this.. no???

going to dig through the manual.. but if anyone has a quicker reply....

thanks!

edit: no, nothing seemingly in the manual about it. also, it's been so long since i've used chunks and song mode... i don't see a playback wiper in song mode... and no easy way to access different parts of the song without actually typing in new timing coordinates in the counter.. ie: you can't just click the song timeline to jump to that spot.. is this true?
taylor12k
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: no movie window in song mode?

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Tue Sep 27, 2011 5:09 pm

Song mode? We don't need no stinkin' song mode!

Seriously, if you are working to picture, song mode is NOT the way to go. You are much better off bouncing you songs and throwing them in a master sequence (or 'chunk' if you prefer).

MOTU really needs to change that one little word. Chunks? Really? Who thought that one up?

The word is "sequence."
_______________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________________________MIDI Life Crisis______________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________OS 10.9.4 • DP 64 bit • 8 core MP/20GB RAM • Track 16____________
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 20099
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: no movie window in song mode?

Postby Saintmatthew » Fri Oct 14, 2011 7:06 am

Not all chunks have sequences. Actually, a "song" built in the song window can be a chunk, a v-rack can be a chunk, etc. As far as the original poster, despite the song window's potential, they haven't touched it in years and it lacks a few critical elements. Also, the video window came after the song view and they just don't seem to work together.
Macbook 1.83Ghz Core 2 Duo 1.25 BG RAM OSX 10.6 DP6.03 MOTU 828 MkII Reaktor 5.5 Roland V-Drum kit
Saintmatthew
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: Baltimore
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: no movie window in song mode?

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Fri Oct 14, 2011 7:24 am

You can build a SONG chunk where the components don't have a sequence as part of the chunk? Tell me more!
_______________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________________________MIDI Life Crisis______________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________OS 10.9.4 • DP 64 bit • 8 core MP/20GB RAM • Track 16____________
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 20099
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: no movie window in song mode?

Postby bayswater » Fri Oct 14, 2011 8:05 am

Saintmatthew wrote:Not all chunks have sequences. Actually, a "song" built in the song window can be a chunk, a v-rack can be a chunk, etc.
So let's call them V-Racks, Songs, and Sequences. Calling them all chunks is just goofy. The description of V-Racks in the manual, trying to liken them to sequences, is almost Pythonesque.
iMac 27" i7 16G, DP 8.05 & OS 10.8.5, MachFive 3.2.1, 828 Mk3
Dual 2.0G G5 PCI 2G, DP 7.24, OS 10.5.8, 2408 MKII, UAD-1
MBP 16G DP 8.06 & OS 10.9.3, Lexicon Alpha
User avatar
bayswater
 
Posts: 4620
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 10:06 pm
Location: Vancouver
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: no movie window in song mode?

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Fri Oct 14, 2011 8:37 am

The only use for a VRACK in a chunk by itself (which, BTW, is still formerly a sequence) would be to access the sounds in another chuck (which must be a sequence) or in another app via IAC.

To restate the obvious: you cannot work in DP without having a sequence active. A sequence is a chunk. Period.

I have been a long time advocate of changing the terminology and even typing it reminds me of having drank too much the night before. But it is what it is and it ain't going nowhere.
_______________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________________________MIDI Life Crisis______________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________OS 10.9.4 • DP 64 bit • 8 core MP/20GB RAM • Track 16____________
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 20099
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS


Return to Digital Performer: Film/Video Scoring & Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


Who is online

In total there are 0 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 0 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

Login Form