It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 3:09 am
   
Text Size

Display DP video full screen on dedicated DVI-TV?

Digital Perfomer in the context of television/film scoring and post-production.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for discussion related to the use of Digital Perfomer in the context of television and film scoring and post-production.

Display DP video full screen on dedicated DVI-TV?

Postby kestudi » Thu Jul 07, 2011 2:17 pm

I'm in the process of setting up a new rig, and I'm hoping to get an answer for one video question.

My MacPro video card has two MiniDisplay ports and one dual-link DVI port. I'm converting the mini displays to dual-link DVIs for the computer monitors, and sending the native dual-link DVI to a 40-inch samsung LCD TV. MacOS sets up an extended desktop across three screens automatically.

What I'm wondering is: Can I use the TV as a dedicated display for DP video? I don't need to see the Mac Desktop on the TV; only DP video. Formerly, we were using a Canopus D/A box that sent DV video to an analog set. Hoping to achieve the same result with the new setup.

Thanks in advance for any tips!
kestudi
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:10 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Display DP video full screen on dedicated DVI-TV?

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Thu Jul 07, 2011 2:40 pm

You should get better timing from the new setup. I guess the question is can you use the third output for the Movie Window? Yes?

I don't see why not. I believe the Mac will still use the 3rd screen real estate regardless when DP is not active. I do a similar thing with three screen but only 2 feeds (on my lowly G5). The 2nd screens are mirrored and because of the video splitter, and the different resolutions of the mirrored screens, I have to change resolution every so often to do various tasks. But if that works on my system, you should be fine. Once Sandy Bridge is released, I'll be diving into a new Mac Pro (or whatever they might be calling it) and doing exactly what you're planning, so I'm interested in your results.

Let us know how that works out, but I suspect you'll be just fine. I dropped the Canopus box as it introduced about a 1/3 second delay. The other nice thing is no more needing DV streams to see the video. simple (smaller!) Quciktime files are just fine.
_______________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________________________MIDI Life Crisis______________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________OS X.X • DP 64 bit • 8 core MP/20GB RAM • Track 16______________
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 20462
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Display DP video full screen on dedicated DVI-TV?

Postby kestudi » Thu Jul 07, 2011 2:54 pm

I should be able to drag the DP video window to the 3rd TV display without a problem. What I'm hoping for, however, is to keep the DP video window as a small reference window in my main 2-screen workspace, and then mirror the video full screen on the 3rd TV display for client display, etc.

(we just upgraded from the lowly G5, btw :)
kestudi
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:10 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Display DP video full screen on dedicated DVI-TV?

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Thu Jul 07, 2011 2:57 pm

Ah! I see! Even better. So you would, in fact, be sending out a DV stream to the third monitor, but presumably directly from the Mac output? Hadn't considered that as a possibility but if it doesn't add a delay, that would be excellent!
_______________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________________________MIDI Life Crisis______________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________OS X.X • DP 64 bit • 8 core MP/20GB RAM • Track 16______________
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 20462
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Display DP video full screen on dedicated DVI-TV?

Postby kestudi » Thu Jul 07, 2011 4:39 pm

From our perspective, it doesn't matter if the video is in raw DV format or any other format (.mov, etc). We just need to display the video full-screen on the TV! If DP requires .DV files for sending video to an external display, then so be it.

I'm just wondering if I can send video to a DVI monitor instead of to a firewire Canopus box.
kestudi
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:10 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Display DP video full screen on dedicated DVI-TV?

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Thu Jul 07, 2011 4:50 pm

I guess that's also my question for my future system. Will DP see the port as a DVI for the purposes of sending the signal? It should, IMO, but that's only my opinion... I do know that under the current version, it does have to be a DV stream to send it to a DV port, but as you said, no big issue there. Introducing a .33 second delay to the signal is a problem for me and hopefully with faster internal buss speeds, that won't be an issue as it was with the Canopus devices.
_______________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________________________MIDI Life Crisis______________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________OS X.X • DP 64 bit • 8 core MP/20GB RAM • Track 16______________
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 20462
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Display DP video full screen on dedicated DVI-TV?

Postby groove » Fri Jul 08, 2011 12:04 pm

Basically, you are still better to output your dv stream via the Canopus, as the decoding is done by the card and not by your computer. Even tough Mac Pro are now more than caplable of handling the decoding of a dv stream to whatever output, it is still resources that are better used for the audio. Using a Canopus -or whatever other box -your Mac manage just another Firewire source.

If your work is critical and sync is a issue - i.e. dialogs editing, sfx, final mix - your are better with the resolution a dv stream offers when output to a TV screen.

Best
---------
Mac Pro 3,46 GHz 6-Core, 24GB ram OS X 10.9.2, DP8, LIVE 9, VE PRO5, custom Mac Minis, MOTU Traveller, UAD-2, UA 6176, UA 2192, Waves V9, LASS Full, VSL, Korg MS-20, Virus C, NI Komplete9, Alchemy, Stylus RMX, Arturia V Collection, Arturia SparkLe, GForce Oddity.
User avatar
groove
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Montreal
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Display DP video full screen on dedicated DVI-TV?

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Fri Jul 08, 2011 2:40 pm

I've yet to use the AVDC-100 without seeing an unmanageable delay. Game changer for me.
_______________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________________________MIDI Life Crisis______________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________OS X.X • DP 64 bit • 8 core MP/20GB RAM • Track 16______________
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 20462
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Display DP video full screen on dedicated DVI-TV?

Postby groove » Fri Jul 08, 2011 7:49 pm

MLC,

I'm sure you know this, but here is my workflow:

1. Set movie start time in the Movie mini-menu
2. Set Chunck start time accordingly
3. Copie movie audio to sequence
4. Mute audio track from movie window
5. Output movie to Firewire card (I disable the Echo video option)
6. Set video output playback offset to whatever your system needs (this will be constant to all your sessions and will not be influenced by the frame rate, Time code format or sample format of your sessions. The video output offset is related to the speed of the Firewire chips of your system and to the decoding card - in my case a ADVC-110. You can save your offset as a preset. Mine is 5 fr. 40 tc bits.
7. Work.

I never experience sync delay with that workflow, the ref audio track is played in sync from the chunk and my work is delivered without problems.

If you have problem with your Canopus, you might want to check the status of your card dip-switches. I remember I had to change something in mine, but it's been a while.

Cheers
---------
Mac Pro 3,46 GHz 6-Core, 24GB ram OS X 10.9.2, DP8, LIVE 9, VE PRO5, custom Mac Minis, MOTU Traveller, UAD-2, UA 6176, UA 2192, Waves V9, LASS Full, VSL, Korg MS-20, Virus C, NI Komplete9, Alchemy, Stylus RMX, Arturia V Collection, Arturia SparkLe, GForce Oddity.
User avatar
groove
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Montreal
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Display DP video full screen on dedicated DVI-TV?

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Fri Jul 08, 2011 8:31 pm

I've tried this under the direction of MagicDave and went over it a million times and I cannot seem to get rid of the delay. Drives me crazy!

Thanks for the info. If I attach a TV monitor to my system again, I'll give it a shot following your instructions. I'm pretty happy with the three monitor setup at the moment.
_______________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________________________MIDI Life Crisis______________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________OS X.X • DP 64 bit • 8 core MP/20GB RAM • Track 16______________
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 20462
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Display DP video full screen on dedicated DVI-TV?

Postby martian » Sat Jul 09, 2011 3:24 am

those canopus cards are great - got 2 of them...

my offset varies - if I am recording foley I use a TV as its quieter thats a 5 frame offset.

If I use the LCD projector for mixing it seems to need 8 frames - must be the LCD doing that..
macpro 3 gig - 5 Gig RAM 10.6.3 Motu 2408 mk 2 Mackie HUI DP 7.21 intel imac 3 gig ram traveller OS 10.6.3

www.fork-media.com
User avatar
martian
 
Posts: 1818
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Display DP video full screen on dedicated DVI-TV?

Postby HCMarkus » Sat Jul 09, 2011 10:21 am

Which Canopus box/card do you guys use, and how are you connecting to your display (Component/Composite/HDMI)? Thanks!
User avatar
HCMarkus
 
Posts: 4702
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:01 am
Location: Club Bohemia, California
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Display DP video full screen on dedicated DVI-TV?

Postby martian » Mon Jul 11, 2011 4:09 am

mines a Firewire ADVc110 have 2

also I have great success with sony DV cams.. used an old (ten years old one ) for about 4 years - it died when the assistant some how dropped it..... then used a "HD"/ mini DV one for another couple of years too..

they can be quite good - and if your tight on space and no TV anyway using the camera fold out LCD has worked for me - just balanced in on top of my mon LOL..
macpro 3 gig - 5 Gig RAM 10.6.3 Motu 2408 mk 2 Mackie HUI DP 7.21 intel imac 3 gig ram traveller OS 10.6.3

www.fork-media.com
User avatar
martian
 
Posts: 1818
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Display DP video full screen on dedicated DVI-TV?

Postby pencilina » Tue Jul 26, 2011 9:57 pm

This usb to vga thing works perfectly for my 3rd (.mov) monitor. I use vga but it has hdmi and dvi out as well

http://www.newertech.com/products/viddu2dvia.php


I had a firewire box but it had a lag this works great
DP 8.05, 2.93i7 16G Ram, Waves Diamond, Komplete 9, KH Diamond, EWQLSC, VCC, Korg Legacy, Audiofinder, Sibelius, Max/MSP, Lucid ADA8824, RME FF800 and a Pencilina
User avatar
pencilina
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Brooklyn
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Display DP video full screen on dedicated DVI-TV?

Postby bralston » Mon Jul 23, 2012 10:37 pm

If you have the ATI 5770 or 5870 video card, the only way for it to use all 3 digital video outs is to use 2 of Apple's Dual Link DVI Mini-display port to DVI adapters. Then the third monitor can be the regular DVI out. These are $99 each. Regular DVI adapters will not allow 3 similtaneous DVI outputs to happen. Then you have a third monitor up top where the DP video can be put up there and expanded to be big to fill you display and it will not be delayed.

These Dual-link DVI adapters also require a USB port each for more power. But Apple give you an open UsB port on the adapter as a pass through. So you get them back.

This is why Monoprice's cheaper adapters don't work well because they do not have USB ports on the to reclaim those used ports.

But even this is not really full screen video. Until DP8's new video engine, FireWire non-HD is the only way to do that.
Regards,

Brian Ralston

_____________________________________
- 2012 MacPro 3.33GHz 6-core, 32GB RAM, OS 10.8.5, 1TB OWC Mercury Accelsior SSD OS drive, 1TB 10,000rpm Audio drive for DP, Graphics card: ATI 5870, UAD-2 Quad, DP 8.06
- 15" Macbook Pro 2.6 GHz Core i7, 16GB RAM, OS 10.9.2, 1TB SSD, DP 8.06
User avatar
bralston
 
Posts: 506
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS


Return to Digital Performer: Film/Video Scoring & Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Login Form