It is currently Wed Sep 17, 2014 10:40 pm
   
Text Size

DP 7.2 - Full Screen Video window?

Digital Perfomer in the context of television/film scoring and post-production.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for discussion related to the use of Digital Perfomer in the context of television and film scoring and post-production.

DP 7.2 - Full Screen Video window?

Postby Jera » Mon Feb 07, 2011 9:52 am

I'm still on DP 5.1, when you display video on a 2nd monitor you can't present the movie, you still get the window bar. Is this still the same in 7.2?

Thanks

Chris
DP 8.6 / MacBook Pro 2.7ghz Core i7/8GB ram/Dell Latitude 7440 i7 16GB RAM /1TB Firewire 800/828 original/Midisport 2X2/MIDI merger
Jera
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP 7.2 - Full Screen Video window?

Postby bricker » Mon Feb 07, 2011 4:02 pm

Yes. I usually just do a quick bounce and use Quicktime to present the movie in full screen.
bricker
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 6:21 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP 7.2 - Full Screen Video window?

Postby Jera » Wed Feb 09, 2011 11:07 am

Does anyone have any experience with Pro Tools using video? I'm wondering if you can "present a movie" on a 2nd display and not have a window bar around the video.

Thanks!

Chris
DP 8.6 / MacBook Pro 2.7ghz Core i7/8GB ram/Dell Latitude 7440 i7 16GB RAM /1TB Firewire 800/828 original/Midisport 2X2/MIDI merger
Jera
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP 7.2 - Full Screen Video window?

Postby elcappn » Thu Feb 10, 2011 6:15 pm

No, Pro Tools still has a bar across the top of the movie window. Logic (in 32-bit mode) and Cubase/Nuendo are the only mac DAWs that allow for true full screen video playback.
Chris

2013 Mac Pro 3.5 6-Core 64GB of RAM, 24" Dell Display x 3, OS X.9.4, DP 8.07, PT 11, Nuendo 6.5, Sibelius 7.5, MOTU 828X, MTP AV, All Oxford plugs, URS CS Pro, N.I. Komplete 7, Ivory, EastWest, ProjectSam, SoundToys, LASS+LS, WIVI Brass+Winds, MachFive 3, BPM 1.5, CineSamples
elcappn
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 11:29 am
Location: Studio City
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP 7.2 - Full Screen Video window?

Postby Jera » Fri Feb 11, 2011 1:46 pm

elcappn wrote:No, Pro Tools still has a bar across the top of the movie window. Logic (in 32-bit mode) and Cubase/Nuendo are the only mac DAWs that allow for true full screen video playback.



That's too bad. Logic would be perfect except it's not set up like DP where I can have multpiple sequences ready to go with Chunk chain. DP is set up in our live show where each song is a sequence and there is a movie file per sequence and the chunk list is esentially the set list for the night. Each sequnce fires off MIDI data for drums and lights and is synced to the movie file. Only problem is we get the DP bar across the video window. If I over stretch it enough I can usually shoot it over the top of the screen but would love to get rid of it.

Thanks

Chris
DP 8.6 / MacBook Pro 2.7ghz Core i7/8GB ram/Dell Latitude 7440 i7 16GB RAM /1TB Firewire 800/828 original/Midisport 2X2/MIDI merger
Jera
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP 7.2 - Full Screen Video window?

Postby dcr » Tue Feb 22, 2011 7:34 pm

you can get rid of it, by using a Firewire Analog/Digital Video Converter (this can be a Canopus ADVC110)

I have a question,

how do you put a movie file per sequence ???

I just can use ONE movie file in all my project.

David.
dcr
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 7:27 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP 7.2 - Full Screen Video window?

Postby stephentayler » Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:38 am

In the movie window mini menu, uncheck Use Same Movie for All Sequences

I wound up investing in a programme called VirtualVTR that allows QuickTime movies in any format to be presented and sync to incoming timecode. It works really well, but it's expensive.

Cheers

Stephen
Last edited by stephentayler on Fri Feb 25, 2011 12:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Stephen W Tayler: Sound Artist
http://www.chimera-arts.com
http://ostinatomusic.com
http://stephentayler.com

Mac Pro 8 Core 2.8Ghz 16Gb RAM, MacBook Pro, 2Gb RAM, OSX 10.8.4, DP 8.04, PT10 & 11, Logic 9.1.8, MOTU Traveler, Ultralite Mk 3 Hybrid, MC MIx, MOTU VIs, Waves, Izotope Everything, Spectrasonics, SoundToys, Slate, Softube, NI Vintage Compressors, spl Surround Monitor Controller, spl Auditor Headphone amp, Genelec 1031A, 1029 5.1 system, Sontronics Mics, iPad etc..
stephentayler
 
Posts: 2334
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Box, Wiltshire, UK
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP 7.2 - Full Screen Video window?

Postby dcr » Fri Feb 25, 2011 11:53 am

Hey thanks

With DP im able to play audio and video synchronized, if you want to project your video in a plasma or LCD or even a gigant LED screen you just send it through the firewire output. You don't need to invest in expensive software.

Cheers

David
dcr
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 7:27 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP 7.2 - Full Screen Video window?

Postby stephentayler » Fri Feb 25, 2011 12:15 pm

True for standard definition (DV) through FireWire, which I have been doing for years, but for any HD format you have to find another solution.

Cheers

Stephen
Stephen W Tayler: Sound Artist
http://www.chimera-arts.com
http://ostinatomusic.com
http://stephentayler.com

Mac Pro 8 Core 2.8Ghz 16Gb RAM, MacBook Pro, 2Gb RAM, OSX 10.8.4, DP 8.04, PT10 & 11, Logic 9.1.8, MOTU Traveler, Ultralite Mk 3 Hybrid, MC MIx, MOTU VIs, Waves, Izotope Everything, Spectrasonics, SoundToys, Slate, Softube, NI Vintage Compressors, spl Surround Monitor Controller, spl Auditor Headphone amp, Genelec 1031A, 1029 5.1 system, Sontronics Mics, iPad etc..
stephentayler
 
Posts: 2334
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Box, Wiltshire, UK
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: DP 7.2 - Full Screen Video window?

Postby agentry1 » Wed Jul 27, 2011 2:04 pm

Stephen, does Virtual VTR allow for scrubbing? Need something that will go frame by frame and sync perfectly to allow for finding hit points and such.
agentry1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 5:30 am
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: DP 7.2 - Full Screen Video window?

Postby Saintmatthew » Thu Aug 04, 2011 7:36 am

That's too bad. Logic would be perfect except it's not set up like DP where I can have multpiple sequences ready to go with Chunk chain. DP is set up in our live show where each song is a sequence and there is a movie file per sequence and the chunk list is esentially the set list for the night. Each sequnce fires off MIDI data for drums and lights and is synced to the movie file. Only problem is we get the DP bar across the video window. If I over stretch it enough I can usually shoot it over the top of the screen but would love to get rid of it.

Thanks

Chris


Live will do it too, but also has the one "song" at a time problem the others have. Really, the 1 chunk per song setlist concept is brilliant and puts DP miles ahead of anything else for live use in my opinion. I do the same thing live you're trying to do and had the same problem with the window bar. Get a firewire box (I got a pyro for like $115). They are 100% worth it, especially as they take a lot of work off your system.
Macbook 1.83Ghz Core 2 Duo 1.25 BG RAM OSX 10.6 DP6.03 MOTU 828 MkII Reaktor 5.5 Roland V-Drum kit
Saintmatthew
 
Posts: 395
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: Baltimore
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified


Return to Digital Performer: Film/Video Scoring & Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


Who is online

In total there are 0 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 0 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

Login Form