It is currently Thu Nov 20, 2014 9:18 pm
   
Text Size

Plug-In for Mixing in Headphones

For seeking technical help with Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS.

Moderators: James Steele, Shooshie

Forum rules
This forum is for seeking solutions to technical problems involving Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on MacOS, as well as feature requests, criticisms, comparison to other DAWs.

Re: Plug-In for Mixing in Headphones

Postby Spikey Horse » Sat Mar 07, 2009 9:07 pm

Thanks for the heads up James, this is great.

It certainly makes working with my trusty DT 770 headphones much more of a pleasant and (subjectively at least after just 10 mins) natural experience. That's a good enough reason to buy it for me as I'm using headphones/ macbook a lot at the moment. Wow - when I bypass it my ears really cringe.

I'll be forced to buy this plug when the demo runs out I'm sure but did someone mention alternatives? I've never used a monitor simulator plug before.
content is the new style
User avatar
Spikey Horse
 
Posts: 1841
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 1:50 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Plug-In for Mixing in Headphones

Postby Timeline » Sat Mar 07, 2009 9:48 pm

So I guess you put this in the last slot of the master fader and disable it when your ready to bounce your mix, is that the drill?
User avatar
Timeline
 
Posts: 4487
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Fort Atkinson Hebron, Wisconsin...
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Plug-In for Mixing in Headphones

Postby bayswater » Sat Mar 07, 2009 11:20 pm

After 30 minutes, using 75 degrees, I found the placement better, and the centre is better defined, a difference there. But I can't get any get anything out of the distance control. At any distance, the sound is still very definitely coming from inside my head. I tried hard, but just can't convince myself it's coming from in front of me. (Using Senn HD 650)
iMac 27" i7 16G, DP 8.07 & OS 10.10, MachFive 3.2.1, 828 Mk3
Dual 2.0G G5 PCI 2G, DP 7.24 & OS 10.5.8, 2408 MKII, UAD-1
MBP 16G DP 8.07 & OS 10.10, Lexicon Alpha
User avatar
bayswater
 
Posts: 5170
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 10:06 pm
Location: Vancouver
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Plug-In for Mixing in Headphones

Postby waxman » Sat Mar 07, 2009 11:25 pm

it works it's great... I will be spending the $69. April 21 the special ends... make sure you buy before then if you want to save the $30
waxman
DP8.07, 2 MacBook Pros, OSX 10.9.4 Apollo Twin, UAD Sattelite Quad, Mackie MCU Pro, Altiverb, UAD-2 most of the plugs, NI Komplete 10, Spectrasonics Ominisphere, RMX, BFD 2, Ozone 5, Bias Peak 7 Pro Master Suite, Adam A7X, Final Cut X
User avatar
waxman
 
Posts: 1210
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Palm Desert, CA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Plug-In for Mixing in Headphones

Postby Tim » Sat Mar 07, 2009 11:46 pm

Timeline wrote:So I guess you put this in the last slot of the master fader and disable it when your ready to bounce your mix, is that the drill?

Unless you're mixing for iPods.
User avatar
Tim
 
Posts: 2721
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: So Cal
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Plug-In for Mixing in Headphones

Postby James Steele » Sun Mar 08, 2009 12:15 am

Spikey Horse wrote:Thanks for the heads up James, this is great.

It certainly makes working with my trusty DT 770 headphones much more of a pleasant and (subjectively at least after just 10 mins) natural experience. That's a good enough reason to buy it for me as I'm using headphones/ macbook a lot at the moment. Wow - when I bypass it my ears really cringe.

I'll be forced to buy this plug when the demo runs out I'm sure but did someone mention alternatives? I've never used a monitor simulator plug before.


Woah... now I gotta try it. I think I have the same cans... the Beyerdynamic DT770... mine feel very bass-y though. :( I'm gonna install and try this sucka out right now.
JamesSteele.com | Dean Guitars | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter

MacPro4,1 Quad-Core 2.66, 24GB RAM, OS 10.10, ATI 5770, DP 8.07, MOTU HD192, 24I/O, UAD-2 Duo, Lucid GENx192, HV-3C, Red Type B, Dean guitars, Marshall amps, etc., etc.!
User avatar
James Steele
Site Administrator
 
Posts: 15174
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: San Diego, CA - U.S.A.
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Plug-In for Mixing in Headphones

Postby Frodo » Sun Mar 08, 2009 1:26 am

You guys are killing me!!

It's 12:25 AM (or is it 1:25 AM????)-- this is prime mixing time, and speakers are out of the question at this hour.

But it's starting to sound like I'm going to be out $70 shortly.
2012 MacPro 12-core, 40GB RAM, OSX 10.8.5, DP8.05…
User avatar
Frodo
 
Posts: 15525
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: The Shire
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Plug-In for Mixing in Headphones

Postby Spikey Horse » Sun Mar 08, 2009 6:27 am

James Steele wrote:Woah... now I gotta try it. I think I have the same cans... the Beyerdynamic DT770... mine feel very bass-y though. :( .......


Yes those are the ones ;)

They may be bassy but I've always liked them .... maybe because they are bassy (?) as I mainly use for tracking at reasonably loud levels yet they never sound harsh or uncomfortable even after a long session. Also they don't sound boxy like other closed designs can (no pun intended) and they've lasted 10 years and were relatively cheap anyway.

Definitely a new lease of life with this plug though.
content is the new style
User avatar
Spikey Horse
 
Posts: 1841
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 1:50 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Plug-In for Mixing in Headphones

Postby Timeline » Sun Mar 08, 2009 6:37 am

I tried it. It really messes with your sound bravado and sounds like crap when in circuit but I guess it's got to do that.
I would rather wait for a hardware version with a front in-out switch or for a time to mix when I can use my Adam 2.5A's.

Usually when I can at least start a mix on the monitors, touching up levels on a pair of known cans is fine.
2009 Intel 8 core 2.93, OSX.10.10 or higher, DP, RME FW800
User avatar
Timeline
 
Posts: 4487
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Fort Atkinson Hebron, Wisconsin...
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Plug-In for Mixing in Headphones

Postby trevorallan » Sun Mar 08, 2009 7:06 am

Haven't tried it yet but have had the demo waiting on my laptop for a while:

Canz3D
http://www.midnightwalrus.com/Canz3D

Wondering how it compares..
trevorallan
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 6:36 am
Location: UK
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Plug-In for Mixing in Headphones

Postby dj! (112dB) » Sun Mar 08, 2009 8:19 am

Hi guys,

it's dj! of 112dB here. Just to say thanks for your interest and add a few comments:

RecordingArts wrote:Before you insert the Redline monitor in your master channel for the first time TURN YOU VOLUME DOWN! It emits a very ungodly sound until you load the license file, which to me is so unnecessary.


That is entirely unnecessary and in fact not intended--it definitely shdn't do that. Could you tell me in what host/OS this happens so I can fix this? I can't seem to make it happen here.

James Steele wrote:I haven't installed it yet and am not by my computer, but they seem to have some sort of UAD-type thing where you load the authorization file to enable the plug for either the demo period or for good I assume.


Correct. All 112dB products use simple license files that enable a plugin for a given time period, or infinitely in case of a registered user. Licenses are not challenge/response and not tied to hardware or OS or what have you. I don't see why a paying customer shd be made to jump through burning hoops just because (s)he bought a new audio interface. :)

bayswater wrote:But I can't get any get anything out of the distance control. At any distance, the sound is still very definitely coming from inside my head.


The Distance control uses HRTF (feel free to ask) to simulate the filtering effect of your ears' pinnae, but because of their very individual nature the effect is much more pronounced for some people than for others. We're aware of this and are planning a much more elaborate and customizable implementation for Redline Monitor 2, so stay tuned.

Timeline wrote:I tried it. It really messes with your sound bravado and sounds like crap when in circuit but I guess it's got to do that.


Try setting the Distance to Off (all the way counter clockwise, the knob will become transparent). At that setting the frequency response is +/- 0.1dB over the entire audio spectrum.

Thanks & feel free to ask in case of any questions or comments,

-- dj!
Image Image
User avatar
dj! (112dB)
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 7:57 am
Location: the Netherlands
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Plug-In for Mixing in Headphones

Postby Timeline » Sun Mar 08, 2009 8:23 am

trevorallan wrote:Haven't tried it yet but have had the demo waiting on my laptop for a while:

Canz3D
http://www.midnightwalrus.com/Canz3D

Wondering how it compares..


The big room setting alone is worth the 10 bucks for Cans3D. I'm buyin it.

As for my real cans... 112 seems to be pretty worked out. Will experiment as advised.
2009 Intel 8 core 2.93, OSX.10.10 or higher, DP, RME FW800
User avatar
Timeline
 
Posts: 4487
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Fort Atkinson Hebron, Wisconsin...
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Plug-In for Mixing in Headphones

Postby bayswater » Sun Mar 08, 2009 9:02 am

dj! (112dB) wrote:
bayswater wrote:But I can't get any get anything out of the distance control. At any distance, the sound is still very definitely coming from inside my head.

The Distance control uses HRTF (feel free to ask) to simulate the filtering effect of your ears' pinnae, but because of their very individual nature the effect is much more pronounced for some people than for others. We're aware of this and are planning a much more elaborate and customizable implementation for Redline Monitor 2, so stay tuned.


Thanks, I guess I have unusual ears. That would explain a few things. HRTF = Head Related Transfer Function? Great -- my whole head is unusual.

I also got the ungodly noise. OS, etc is in my signature.
iMac 27" i7 16G, DP 8.07 & OS 10.10, MachFive 3.2.1, 828 Mk3
Dual 2.0G G5 PCI 2G, DP 7.24 & OS 10.5.8, 2408 MKII, UAD-1
MBP 16G DP 8.07 & OS 10.10, Lexicon Alpha
User avatar
bayswater
 
Posts: 5170
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 10:06 pm
Location: Vancouver
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Plug-In for Mixing in Headphones

Postby Shooshie » Sun Mar 08, 2009 9:47 am

Interesting quirk: the DP's Bypass mode doesn't seem to bypass Redline Monitor. The only way I can bypass it is by clicking on the headphones on the plugin GUI.

Also, I don't know if this is related or not, but I had my first random quit in DP 6.02 this morning while using Redline. But there could have been a number of causes for it, including the fact that I was booting Safari and clicking in my menu bar to go to this forum. That's when I saw DP disappear from the background.

The difference is not an astounding one, and if you're used to your headphones, you may not at first like the mix you hear, but it IS closer to the sound of my speakers. I really do like my headphones, though: Sony 7509. I'm going to try Canz, too. Although I went ahead and bought Redline Monitor, I suggest trying it for a while and seeing if you think it's making the difference you need. Remember, the point is not to enhance the sound, but to make it more natural. When you're accustomed to using headphones, that DOES sound natural, and this will not. But I can already hear where I need to improve my mix, so I think it was worth the cost. If Canz does the same thing for $10, then that would obviously be the better deal, but I'm not sure Canz will leave the sound uncolored. (haven't tried Canz yet)

I'll try to give more results later, but for now it seems to be doing what I want.

Shooshie
|l| OS X 10.9.5 Beta |l| DP 8.07 |l| 2.4 GHz 12-Core MacPro 2012 |l| 40GB RAM |l| Mach5.3 |l| Waves 9.x |l| Nomad Factory Vintage Plugins |l| Altiverb |l| Ivory 2 New York Steinway |l| Wallander WIVI 2.30 Winds, Brass, Saxes |l| Garritan Aria |l| VSL 5.3.1 and VSL Pro 2.3.1 |l| Yamaha WX-5 MIDI Wind Controller |l| Roland FC-300 |l|
User avatar
Shooshie
 
Posts: 17140
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Dallas
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Plug-In for Mixing in Headphones

Postby bayswater » Sun Mar 08, 2009 9:55 am

Shooshie wrote:Interesting quirk: the DP's Bypass mode doesn't seem to bypass Redline Monitor.

... I had my first random quit in DP 6.02 this morning while using Redline.

The difference is not an astounding one ...

Shooshie

Same thing here. Bypass does not seem to do anything. Also had my first unexpected quit with 6.0x a couple of minutes after adding Redline. Maybe not a coincidence.
iMac 27" i7 16G, DP 8.07 & OS 10.10, MachFive 3.2.1, 828 Mk3
Dual 2.0G G5 PCI 2G, DP 7.24 & OS 10.5.8, 2408 MKII, UAD-1
MBP 16G DP 8.07 & OS 10.10, Lexicon Alpha
User avatar
bayswater
 
Posts: 5170
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 10:06 pm
Location: Vancouver
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

PreviousNext

Return to Digital Performer [MacOS]: Troubleshooting/Criticism

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 0 guests


Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 0 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 0 guests

Login Form