It is currently Mon Feb 19, 2018 2:36 pm
   
Text Size

Touch Console?

The forum for petitions, theoretical discussion, gripes, or other off topic discussion.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
The forum for petitions, theoretical discussion, gripes, or other matters outside deemed outside the scope of helping users make optimal use of MOTU hardware and software. Posts in other forums may be moved here at the moderators discretion. No politics or religion!!

Touch Console?

Postby bayswater » Sat Jan 20, 2018 10:17 am

Is this the DP Control replacements we've been pining for?

"At NAMM, Dave will give in-depth demonstrations of the exciting new Touch Console™ mixing software for tablets and smartphones."
2009 iMac 27" i7 16G, DP 8.07/9.02/9.5 & OS 10.12.6, Logic 10.3.2, Scarlett 18i8
2011 MBP 16G DP 9.5 & OS 10.12.6, Lexicon Alpha
Dual 2.0G G5 PCI 2G, DP 7.24 & OS 10.5.8, 2408 MKII, UAD-1
User avatar
bayswater
 
Posts: 8229
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 10:06 pm
Location: Vancouver
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Touch Console?

Postby HCMarkus » Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:24 am

bayswater wrote:Is this the DP Control replacements we've been pining for?

"At NAMM, Dave will give in-depth demonstrations of the exciting new Touch Console™ mixing software for tablets and smartphones."

I have the first Public Beta, which controls the hardware mixer in the AVB interface line. Although it could be for DP, too, the Beta is for the AVB mixer only. I need to get the latest Beta, which was released just a couple of days ago.

Although still a work in progress, Touch Console will be a nice addition to the AVB interfaces, providing studio clients with a better personal cue mix interface on their phones and tablets and live mix/monitor engineers with a very portable mix controller.
User avatar
HCMarkus
 
Posts: 6340
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:01 am
Location: Rancho Bohemia, California
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Touch Console?

Postby cuttime » Sat Jan 20, 2018 1:47 pm

HCMarkus wrote:I have the first Public Beta

How does one get to be a MOTU Beta tester? Do you need NDAs?
Traveler DP9.51 Unisyn 10.6.8 and 10.13.3 i7 iMac 16G
User avatar
cuttime
 
Posts: 3016
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Touch Console?

Postby Gravity Jim » Sat Jan 20, 2018 2:22 pm

cuttime wrote:
HCMarkus wrote:I have the first Public Beta

How does one get to be a MOTU Beta tester? Do you need NDAs?


Based solely on HC's post, it would seem not. :wink:
Jim Bordner
http://www.gravitymusic.com
MacPro 5,1 (3.33Ghz 12-core), 32g RAM, OS X 10.13.4 Beta • MOTU 896mk3 • MOTU DP 9.5.1 • Logic Pro X 10.2.5 • Waves Diamond, UAD-2, Slate Digital, Komplete, Omnisphere 2, LASS, CineSamples, Chipsounds, V Collection 5, Korg Legacy • Roland & Yamaha hardware • Fender, Gibson, Godin, Danelectro, Line 6, Warmoth, Hofner and Cedar Creek guitars, Fuchs ODS amp
User avatar
Gravity Jim
 
Posts: 1844
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Touch Console?

Postby HCMarkus » Sat Jan 20, 2018 4:14 pm

http://motu.com/download/proaudio/index.html#touch-console

I just installed the latest version; it includes significant added functionality, but still works only with MOTU AVB interfaces.

EDIT: I can see MOTU adapting the app to DP. It would be very nice to have touch faders and, with the coding they've already done, such control might not be too far a reach...
HC Markus
MacPro 5,1 • OneDozen 3.33GHz • 48GB RAM • AMD RX460 • macOS 10.12.6 • DP 9.51 • 828es • UA2
User avatar
HCMarkus
 
Posts: 6340
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:01 am
Location: Rancho Bohemia, California
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Touch Console?

Postby pdbrooks » Thu Jan 25, 2018 2:52 pm

I loaded the touch console beta - ran across it on the MOTU site. It is very promising. Before it came out, I purchased a 27" ACER multi-touch display under windows 10 with the hope of using it to run the AVB firmware mixer. It was possible to make changes, move faders, change routing, etc. using the touchscreen with only Windows support (mouse substitute, I guess) but it was too frustrating to be useful. Touch console changes this, it becomes almost practical to use only the touch interface (almost; this is still a beta with some rough edges, keep your mouse handy). My goal is to be able to do FOH/live sound at a gig with the AVB firmware mixer as a substitute for a large, heavy mixer that I don't want to haul around. One note on using a touch screen in a multi-monitor setup: Windows 10 seems to want the touch screen to be the "primary" monitor. I have twin Dell 30" monitors, and when I make one of those the primary Windows screen, touch does not work. Took some trial and error to figure that one out.
pdbrooks
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 11:22 am
Primary DAW OS: Windows


Return to MOTU Theoretical Discussions, Gripes, Petitions & Off Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Login Form