DP vs PT

The forum for petitions, theoretical discussion, gripes, or other off topic discussion.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
The forum for petitions, theoretical discussion, gripes, or other matters outside deemed outside the scope of helping users make optimal use of MOTU hardware and software. Posts in other forums may be moved here at the moderators discretion. No politics or religion!!
Jamie
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

DP vs PT

Post by Jamie »

Now I'm not wanting a war, of course I expect everyone here to be biased towards DP, that's why I'm asking here. I'm not looking for a confirmation bias, but I'm looking for actual reasons to come back to DP. My first experience with DP was bad. 2004, I was a freshman at Berklee and got DP4.5 as part of the incoming bundle. The MIDI confused me, I just went back to Sibelius 3 (and then Finale). The MIDI still confuses me. I use other programs for MIDI composition, so that's not the issue here. Logic Pro X is great for sketching with the Drummer plugin, and Reason is great for composing really fast and getting a sound down using all VIs.

I am running an independent recording studio (mobile). I started using PT11 about a year or so ago, so I know the workflow, but I'm not superman with it. That said, I have a (bad) habit of switching DAWs now and then - call it a hobby, maybe... So I learn VERY fast and become fluent in a week or two. :brucelee:

I mean for audio, and maybe some combination (if I'm producing a rock album and I want to put some VI organ or who knows what).

TL;DR?

I want the best experience for 1) Tracking Audio 2) Editing 3) Mixing 4) VI integration with bouncing/printing.

Those are my priorities in that order.

Is DP where I want to be, or did I get it right with PT? I'm worried about AVID as a company, not sure I want to stick around for whatever nonsense is going on financially. Sell my copy and get out. I'm not a loyalist, not to AVID anyway! Maybe a Boston loyalist ;-) :unicorn: