What to charge as a composer?

For discussion of the music business in general

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
For discussion of the music business in general from studio administration, contracts, artist promotion, gigging, etc.
Steves
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

What to charge as a composer?

Post by Steves »

I know this is a tough one. I'm currently scoring a full length movie by an unknown director who will then submit it to a couple of film festivals. I've had limited experience, but am not brand new to this ....... need the work and not w=sure what a fair fee would be for my services?

Thanks ....... hate these questions.
FMiguelez
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: What to charge as a composer?

Post by FMiguelez »

How much music do you have to write?
How much time do you have to write it?
What kind of music must you write?
Is this the only project you have for now, or would you need to sacrifice other projects to do this?
Will it be an ALL-MIDI score, or will you need to hire musicians?

Also, this thread should be in the Music Business section... unless you talk about the compositional aspects of you future-score...
Mac Mini Server i7 2.66 GHs/16 GB RAM / OSX 10.14 / DP 9.52
Tascam DM-24, MOTU Track 16, all Spectrasonics' stuff,
Vienna Instruments SUPER PACKAGE, Waves Mercury, slaved iMac and Mac Minis running VEP 7, etc.

---------------------------

"In physics the truth is rarely perfectly clear, and that is certainly universally the case in human affairs. Hence, what is not surrounded by uncertainty cannot be the truth." ― Richard Feynman
MIDI Life Crisis

Post by MIDI Life Crisis »

FMiguelez wrote:this thread should be in the Music Business section...
I don't agree. It's fine right where it is (was) IMO. But the answer is: you charge what you're worth.
2013 Mac Pro 32GB RAM

OSX 10.14.6; DP 10; Track 16; Finale 26, iPad Pro, et al

MIDI LIFE CRISIS
James Steele
Site Administrator

Post by James Steele »