Replacing soundtrack on video

Digital Perfomer in the context of television/film scoring and post-production.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for discussion related to the use of Digital Perfomer in the context of television and film scoring and post-production.
nick danger
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Replacing soundtrack on video

Post by nick danger »

I ran sound for a live show of a Kinks cover band a couple of years ago. I also did a multitrack recording of the show. There was also a video made of this show, but done completely independently of what I did.

I now have a .m4v copy of that video, and I'd like to replace the existing audio with my mixes. I'm a total newbie to working with video on DP (currently using 8.07.) Anyone have any suggestions as to how to proceed (and not to proceed?) Any links to discussions here that might be useful?

thanks in advance for any advice.
iMac 2.66 GHz Intel core 2 duo, 8 gb ram running 10.11.6; 17" Macbook Pro 8,3, 2.5 GHz Core I7, 16 GB ram running 10.13.6; DP 8.07; 8pre-es; 828mkII; 828mkI; microbook II, Behringer ADA8000, Black Lion Auteur 2-Ch. Pre-Amp
Saintmatthew
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Replacing soundtrack on video

Post by Saintmatthew »

Without syncing to some sort of common time code, it'll be tough to keep in 100% sync throughout.
MacPro 12core 64GB Ram 4 1TB SSDs motu 828mk3 DP 10.11
MIDI Life Crisis

Post by MIDI Life Crisis »

I don't agree with the first response. You don't need time code at all to do this.

Import your video. Import the audio track from the movie to DP (ctl or right click in the movie window to get the dropdown to do that).

Import your preferred audio into DP.

Since it's the same source material, you should be able to visually line up the two audio files pretty close. Use your ears to fine tune it. If you have several files to line up put them in different tracks.