Do you mix film soundtrack in PT or DP?

Digital Perfomer in the context of television/film scoring and post-production.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for discussion related to the use of Digital Perfomer in the context of television and film scoring and post-production.
supersonic
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Post by supersonic »

HI everyone,

I have been using DP for 18 years and PT on the side (a lot less). Among the things I do is mixing film sound. I was wondering what your take on that was. Have any of you compared the two platforms directly?
Music is movement in silence
My day jon - http://www.audioplanet.pl
My other passion - http://www.aps-company.pl
MikeInBoston
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Do you mix film soundtrack in PT or DP?

Post by MikeInBoston »

I guess nobody has an opinion on this. We mustn't have any film composers on the forum. I'd be interested in a response to your question, too.

Mike
frankf

Post by frankf »

Ok I'll bite. Both! My studio is DP, but if mixing elsewhere it might be PT.
Frank Ferrucci
http://www.ferruccimusic.com
Mac Pro 6,1 64gb RAM DP9.52 OSX 10.12.6 MIO 2882d & ULN2d Firewire Audio Interfaces, MOTU MTP-AV USB
supersonic

Post by supersonic »

I also meant full soundtrack. Not only music but dialog and fx included. What do you think about the ease of use of one versus the other?
frankf

Post by frankf »

I generally have no input on where the film (audio) mix is nor do I usually go to the mix so I'm back to "can't help you," sorry.
Frank Ferrucci
http://www.ferruccimusic.com
Mac Pro 6,1 64gb RAM DP9.52 OSX 10.12.6 MIO 2882d & ULN2d Firewire Audio Interfaces, MOTU MTP-AV USB
jbyerly1

Post by jbyerly1 »