Large orchestral template with Vienna Ensemble Pro

Digital Perfomer in the context of television/film scoring and post-production.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for discussion related to the use of Digital Perfomer in the context of television and film scoring and post-production.
fatnack
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Large orchestral template with Vienna Ensemble Pro

Post by fatnack »

Dear Community

As a film composer, I'm currently working with Pro Tools and am considering to switch to Digital Performer. This would mean that I have to migrate my large orchestral template, which is a network setup that consists of roughly 12 Vienna Ensemble Pro (VEP) instances, all with up to 16 outputs. The thing is that I want to do all the mixing right in the DAW, so I really need one output per virtual instrument (so only one return per "instrument group" does not really do the trick for me).

As far as I understand, I'd need to create the following in DP:

- One virtual instrument per VEP instance (~ 12)
- One MIDI channel per instrument per VEP instance (~ 190)
- One Aux channel per instrument per VEP instance (minus one for Out 1-2, which comes back on the virtual instrument channel, ~ 180)

Is that really the easiest way? In Pro Tools and Logic I have the possibility to create instrument tracks which can both send MIDI and return the respective audio.

Thanks for any advice :)

Cheers
Remo
FMiguelez

Re: Large orchestral template with Vienna Ensemble Pro

Post by FMiguelez »

Welcome to the forum, Remo.
fatnack wrote:Dear Community