It is currently Wed Jul 30, 2014 4:15 pm
   
Text Size

Deleting Quicktime audio track

Digital Perfomer in the context of television/film scoring and post-production.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for discussion related to the use of Digital Perfomer in the context of television and film scoring and post-production.

Deleting Quicktime audio track

Postby Shogun Assassin » Tue Sep 20, 2011 4:33 pm

I have a quicktime .mov, and I have to get rid of the original audio that came with the .mov.

I know i can turn it down so that i do not hear it, but is there a way to completely get rid of the original audio track in DP? or is that something that has to be done within QT itself?

Thanks.
"Its . . .!" -Monty Python
Shogun Assassin
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 2:29 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Deleting Quicktime audio track

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Tue Sep 20, 2011 4:58 pm

QT or some other MOVIE EDITING PROGRAM.

If pushed to the wall, you could mute all the sound and bounce the movie to disk from DP and then use the resulting movie. That would, for all intents and purposes, remove the audio, although I suspect you'd have a silent track as opposed to no track at all.
_______________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________________________MIDI Life Crisis______________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________OS 10.9.4 • DP 64 bit • 8 core MP/20GB RAM • Track 16____________
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 20118
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Deleting Quicktime audio track

Postby Shogun Assassin » Tue Sep 20, 2011 5:59 pm

thanks MIDI.
i ended up just muting the whole thing through DP.
The strange thing is when i tell DP to "copy movie audio to sequence," it copies the audio, but the file's waveform in the sequence editor shows nothing there. just a track that is blank.this happens even when the audio in un-muted.
so the audio can be heard, but the sequence editor just gives me a blank track. this isn't a problem since i didn't want the original audio anyway, but it could be a problem in the future. any ideas?
"Its . . .!" -Monty Python
Shogun Assassin
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 2:29 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Deleting Quicktime audio track

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Tue Sep 20, 2011 6:07 pm

The waveform display 'size adjust' may be set too low to see the waveform. That's the little magnifying glass icon to the left of the waveform display. Your mouse wheel will work to make it larger or smaller or you can click on it to adjust the size. Of course, that has no impact on that actual audio level of the wave, but it is helpful to see what's going on.
_______________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________________________MIDI Life Crisis______________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________OS 10.9.4 • DP 64 bit • 8 core MP/20GB RAM • Track 16____________
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 20118
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Deleting Quicktime audio track

Postby FMiguelez » Tue Sep 20, 2011 6:12 pm

I'd definitely do it before importing the QT into DP. You need QT Pro for this (you should have it anyway). Open the file in QT Pro, uncheck the soundtrack file in the properties window, do a Save As (without the soundtrack) and you're done.
Mac Mini Server i7 2.66 GHs/16 GB RAM / OSX 10.9.2 / DP 8.06
Tascam DM-24, MOTU Track 16, all Spectrasonics' stuff,
Vienna Instruments SUPER PACKAGE, Waves Platinum, slaved iMac and Mac Minis running VE Pro, etc.

---------------------------

"There's random genetic variation, and non-random survival, and non-random reproduction, which is why, as the generations go by, animals get better at doing what they do. That is quintessentially non-random". ― Richard Dawkins
User avatar
FMiguelez
 
Posts: 6373
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Body: México. Soul/Heart: NYC
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Deleting Quicktime audio track

Postby Shogun Assassin » Tue Sep 20, 2011 6:58 pm

i tried the waveform adjust to it's maximum, and i still have the blank track. i checked the I/O and everything is routed properly. i can't figure it out. gonna try it with a different movie and see what happens.

(thanks for the QT help FMiguelez)
"Its . . .!" -Monty Python
Shogun Assassin
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 2:29 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Deleting Quicktime audio track

Postby bdr » Tue Sep 20, 2011 11:47 pm

BTW a great free alternative to QT pro is MPEG-Streamclip.
Mac 2.8 8-core, 20 GB RAM, Mac 10.9, DP 8, EWQLSO Platinum Play, Mach V II, Kontakt 5, Superior Drummer, AIR, Absynth 5, Plectrum, CronoX, Albino3, RMV, cup of tea.
User avatar
bdr
 
Posts: 870
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Deleting Quicktime audio track

Postby Shogun Assassin » Wed Sep 21, 2011 12:26 pm

i'm still getting a blank track when copying movie audio to sequence.
i tried it with a brand new empty project, imported a .mov, and clicked on the "copy movie audio to sequence."
i get a blank audio track, but i can hear the .mov audio when playback is started.
i then copied the movie audio to sequence again. same thing. another blank track, but the audio can be heard.
"Its . . .!" -Monty Python
Shogun Assassin
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 2:29 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Deleting Quicktime audio track

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Wed Sep 21, 2011 12:44 pm

Can you send post a snippet?
_______________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________________________MIDI Life Crisis______________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________OS 10.9.4 • DP 64 bit • 8 core MP/20GB RAM • Track 16____________
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 20118
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Deleting Quicktime audio track

Postby Shogun Assassin » Wed Sep 21, 2011 1:16 pm

MIDI Life Crisis wrote:Can you send post a snippet?

i think that has to do with code or something, but i'll be completely honest: what?
"Its . . .!" -Monty Python
Shogun Assassin
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 2:29 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Deleting Quicktime audio track

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Wed Sep 21, 2011 1:22 pm

No code. Can you post a sample of the movie in question? Even a few seconds?Anywhere we can pop it into DP and see what you;re sayin?
_______________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________________________MIDI Life Crisis______________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________OS 10.9.4 • DP 64 bit • 8 core MP/20GB RAM • Track 16____________
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 20118
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Deleting Quicktime audio track

Postby Shogun Assassin » Wed Sep 21, 2011 1:36 pm

actually this happens with any movie i import, not just the one.
"Its . . .!" -Monty Python
Shogun Assassin
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 2:29 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Deleting Quicktime audio track

Postby FMiguelez » Wed Sep 21, 2011 1:37 pm

But I don't get it...

First you wrote you wanted to get rid of the audio in the QT movie. But now you want to listen to it when you import it into DP?

If you play the QT alone (in the QT app), do you hear the track?
Is the only problem getting DP to extract the audio from the movie successfully?

I am confused if you do want the audio track or not (and for what purpose). Also, what version of DP are you using?

Also, what format is the audio in the QT movie?
Mac Mini Server i7 2.66 GHs/16 GB RAM / OSX 10.9.2 / DP 8.06
Tascam DM-24, MOTU Track 16, all Spectrasonics' stuff,
Vienna Instruments SUPER PACKAGE, Waves Platinum, slaved iMac and Mac Minis running VE Pro, etc.

---------------------------

"There's random genetic variation, and non-random survival, and non-random reproduction, which is why, as the generations go by, animals get better at doing what they do. That is quintessentially non-random". ― Richard Dawkins
User avatar
FMiguelez
 
Posts: 6373
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Body: México. Soul/Heart: NYC
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Deleting Quicktime audio track

Postby Shogun Assassin » Wed Sep 21, 2011 1:43 pm

FMiguelez wrote:But I don't get it...
I am confused if you do want the audio track or not (and for what purpose). Also, what version of DP are you using?

i still don't want the quicktime audio from the .mov

BUT the fact that i import it and can't see it bothers me enough to try to figure out why i can't see it, because in the future i'll probably have .mov files where i want to keep the audio.

i'm using DP.724

if i play the QT through QT yes i hear the audio.

"Is the only problem getting DP to extract the audio from the movie successfully?"
DP7 extracts it from the QT and i can hear it through DP7, but it shows up as a stereo track that is completely blank no matter how close i zoom in.

could this have something to do with my bundles? for some reason i still have to switch to my proper I/Os every time i open a new project no matter how many times i delete the unwanted stuff.
"Its . . .!" -Monty Python
Shogun Assassin
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 2:29 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Deleting Quicktime audio track

Postby FMiguelez » Wed Sep 21, 2011 2:02 pm

Ok. I understand perfectly now.

So the real problem seems to be a graphics/GUI problem then... you can hear it but can't see it.

I would trash the preferences at this point (just the .plist file).
Mac Mini Server i7 2.66 GHs/16 GB RAM / OSX 10.9.2 / DP 8.06
Tascam DM-24, MOTU Track 16, all Spectrasonics' stuff,
Vienna Instruments SUPER PACKAGE, Waves Platinum, slaved iMac and Mac Minis running VE Pro, etc.

---------------------------

"There's random genetic variation, and non-random survival, and non-random reproduction, which is why, as the generations go by, animals get better at doing what they do. That is quintessentially non-random". ― Richard Dawkins
User avatar
FMiguelez
 
Posts: 6373
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Body: México. Soul/Heart: NYC
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Next

Return to Digital Performer: Film/Video Scoring & Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Login Form