It is currently Mon Nov 24, 2014 6:36 pm
   
Text Size

How do I load a Kontakt nki patch?

Discussion of all things related to MOTU's awesome MachFive software sampler.

Moderator: James Steele

How do I load a Kontakt nki patch?

Postby rank » Thu May 03, 2012 4:08 am

oops--newbie here;
I'm using Window 7 w 24 gigs Ram/6 core machine. I've set 'permissions' on hard drive and folders but still can't load sounds.

I have Mojo Horns, Heavyocity, and other Kontakt libraries etc. I thought I was going to be able to load these in MachFive 3.

I get "can't load" message.

I've searched and searched for answer.
Any help, much appreciated.
6 core machine w 24 gigs RAM using Windows 7 - Assorted Plugs/MachFive/UVI packs/Omnisphere/Komplete 7/etc.
rank
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 3:40 am
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: How do I load a Kontakt nki patch?

Postby hugy » Thu May 03, 2012 8:45 am

Those are protected kontakt soundbanks AFAIK (powered by Kontakt player) and hence do not work in M5v3. (and any other sampler besides kontakt itself FWIW)

Moreover, M5 only supports kontakt file up to version 4.0

http://www.motu.com/products/software/m ... specs.html


Hope this helps
hugy
 
Posts: 324
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 9:33 am
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: How do I load a Kontakt nki patch?

Postby rank » Thu May 03, 2012 9:04 am

hugy wrote:Those are protected kontakt soundbanks AFAIK (powered by Kontakt player) and hence do not work in M5v3. (and any other sampler besides kontakt itself FWIW)

Moreover, M5 only supports kontakt file up to version 4.0

http://www.motu.com/products/software/m ... specs.html


Hope this helps


Thanks,
helps much.

Any way to save or re-save a Kontakt set up and open it in MachFive 3?
6 core machine w 24 gigs RAM using Windows 7 - Assorted Plugs/MachFive/UVI packs/Omnisphere/Komplete 7/etc.
rank
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 3:40 am
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: How do I load a Kontakt nki patch?

Postby rank » Thu May 03, 2012 9:07 am

I guess here is where the confusion stems from
This is from the link above:

Compatible library / file formats
•AIFF
•ACID
•Apple Loops (.aif)
•REX
•SDII
•WAV
•Akai MPC
•Akai S Series
•E-mu Emulator III and IV
•Ensoniq ASR
•EXS24
•GarageBand
•GigaSampler 1/2/3
•Kontakt 1/2/3/4.0


This is a bit deceptive. Makes one think that Kontakt "libraries" and files are "compatible"

the old bait and switch.
6 core machine w 24 gigs RAM using Windows 7 - Assorted Plugs/MachFive/UVI packs/Omnisphere/Komplete 7/etc.
rank
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 3:40 am
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: How do I load a Kontakt nki patch?

Postby b-righteous » Thu May 03, 2012 12:30 pm

Don't think it's meant to be deceptive. Library is a generic term and I do not read it to be specific to Kontakt in the context of the post. The reason it won't read is because those are encrypted copy protected files and use a different format than the standard .nki Also, Kontakt 4.2 and above uses a new binary format that translators have not figured out how to read yet.
b-righteous
 
Posts: 201
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 12:40 am
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: How do I load a Kontakt nki patch?

Postby rank » Thu May 03, 2012 2:26 pm

So what of Kontakt does it read?
What files?
6 core machine w 24 gigs RAM using Windows 7 - Assorted Plugs/MachFive/UVI packs/Omnisphere/Komplete 7/etc.
rank
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 3:40 am
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: How do I load a Kontakt nki patch?

Postby bayswater » Thu May 03, 2012 3:17 pm

Read further in the Mach 5 description and you will see that it says that no copy protected files (not just Kontakt) can be read. This is pretty much a standard statement in any technical descriptions, e.g., you will see the same thing in the compatibility list for Kontakt 5 on the NI site. The Kontakt files you can read in Mach 5 would be those you or someone else created not using copy protected samples.
iMac 27" i7 16G, DP 8.07 & OS 10.10, MachFive 3.2.1, 828 Mk3
Dual 2.0G G5 PCI 2G, DP 7.24 & OS 10.5.8, 2408 MKII, UAD-1
MBP 16G DP 8.07 & OS 10.10, Lexicon Alpha
User avatar
bayswater
 
Posts: 5183
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 10:06 pm
Location: Vancouver
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: How do I load a Kontakt nki patch?

Postby rank » Thu May 03, 2012 9:11 pm

bummer.

Thanks for the reply though.
6 core machine w 24 gigs RAM using Windows 7 - Assorted Plugs/MachFive/UVI packs/Omnisphere/Komplete 7/etc.
rank
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 3:40 am
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified


Return to MachFive

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Login Form