It is currently Fri Jul 25, 2014 10:05 pm
   
Text Size

Newbie Question: MachFive, Logic $ SampleTank

Discussion of all things related to MOTU's awesome MachFive software sampler.

Moderator: James Steele

Newbie Question: MachFive, Logic $ SampleTank

Postby mikehalloran » Sat Apr 28, 2012 5:32 pm

Yes, when it comes to MachFive I'm a newb. Three years after my stroke, I am starting to accept the fact that, though I can play bass on an iPad, my iMac needs to become my real musical instrument since I am unlikely to play my strings ever again. Reading about MachFive, I am going to take the plunge.

OK, I am an old hand at the upgrade/crossgrade game. I found SampleTank 2.5 XL at Buy.com for $99 and the MachFive 3 crossgrade at Sweetwater for $279. So far, so good: I save $81 over buying MF 3 by its lonesome ($459 at Sweetwater).

I was about to pull the triggers on both when I noticed that one of the programs, while listed on MOTU as EXS24 - any version (whatever that was) is listed as Logic - any version with EXS24 at Sweetwater. Oh really??? Well, I have both Logic Studio 8 and 9 (tells you how much I have explored the most illogical program I own licenses for) so there's $99 saved if I want.

So here's my question: I no longer need SampleTank 2.5 XL for the crossgrade savings. Hmmmm - but should I consider buying it anyway? I have Miroslav, Finale and Logic Studio, of course.

I did confirm that Buy.com has the XL version for $99 and the L version for $179. Of course, someone put them in backwards but I've no problem holding them to it if I actually gain anything in the 6+ Gigs of samples I get for $99. If it's all redundant, I might as well save some bucks - I like saving money as much as anyone here, ya know?

Can any SampleTank and MachFive users help me out here?
July 2010 iMac 2.93G i7 Quad-core with OWC eSATA mod, 20G RAM, OS 10.9.4
828mkII FW; MIDI Timepiece MTP/AV USB with Intel Upgrade chip; DP 8.06 64bit, DP 7.24; IK, mda, NI, Izotope, PSP & Antares plugs, MachFive 3.2.1
LogicStudio 9.1.8, LogicPro X 10.0.6 Finale 2014c, Encore 5.0.7, DSP-Quatro 4.2.4, QuickTime Pro 7.6.6, SmartScore X2 10.5.5, Toast 11.2
Test machine: G4-733: OS 10.4.11 / OS 9.2; DP 5.13; Encore 5.05 & 4.5.5; Toast 9.07b, other legacy apps
User avatar
mikehalloran
 
Posts: 3766
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:08 pm
Location: Sillie Con Valey
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Newbie Question: MachFive, Logic $ SampleTank

Postby mikehalloran » Tue May 01, 2012 4:34 pm

Well, I found the MachFive 3 crossgrade at Musicians Friend for $259.99 w/ free shipping, asked Sweetwater if they would match and now it's on the way.

I can always check out SampleTank later. I do like the grand piano from the free version.
July 2010 iMac 2.93G i7 Quad-core with OWC eSATA mod, 20G RAM, OS 10.9.4
828mkII FW; MIDI Timepiece MTP/AV USB with Intel Upgrade chip; DP 8.06 64bit, DP 7.24; IK, mda, NI, Izotope, PSP & Antares plugs, MachFive 3.2.1
LogicStudio 9.1.8, LogicPro X 10.0.6 Finale 2014c, Encore 5.0.7, DSP-Quatro 4.2.4, QuickTime Pro 7.6.6, SmartScore X2 10.5.5, Toast 11.2
Test machine: G4-733: OS 10.4.11 / OS 9.2; DP 5.13; Encore 5.05 & 4.5.5; Toast 9.07b, other legacy apps
User avatar
mikehalloran
 
Posts: 3766
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:08 pm
Location: Sillie Con Valey
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Newbie Question: MachFive, Logic $ SampleTank

Postby bayswater » Tue May 01, 2012 4:57 pm

I got SampleTank and Miroslav (and T-Racks) when they had the big sale a while back. There have been quite a few times when Miroslav worked where GPO and other stuff didn't seem quite right. I found SampleTank sounds usable but a bit generic and not adding much to the cause over exs 24stuff that comes with Logic. The IKM VIs are also the ones where I am most likely to get stuck MIDI. I think Zed has explored ST a lot more than I have and might have some tips on strengths.

In theory you'll be able to load exs into Mach 5, so you might want to try that first. I'll be very interested to hear how that works out.
iMac 27" i7 16G, DP 8.05 & OS 10.8.5, MachFive 3.2.1, 828 Mk3
Dual 2.0G G5 PCI 2G, DP 7.24, OS 10.5.8, 2408 MKII, UAD-1
MBP 16G DP 8.06 & OS 10.9.3, Lexicon Alpha
User avatar
bayswater
 
Posts: 4626
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 10:06 pm
Location: Vancouver
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Newbie Question: MachFive, Logic $ SampleTank

Postby mikehalloran » Sat May 05, 2012 9:33 pm

Looking forward to receiving it this week. Meanwhile getting my studio ready. I have to buy a roll around table for my keyboard tomorrow.
July 2010 iMac 2.93G i7 Quad-core with OWC eSATA mod, 20G RAM, OS 10.9.4
828mkII FW; MIDI Timepiece MTP/AV USB with Intel Upgrade chip; DP 8.06 64bit, DP 7.24; IK, mda, NI, Izotope, PSP & Antares plugs, MachFive 3.2.1
LogicStudio 9.1.8, LogicPro X 10.0.6 Finale 2014c, Encore 5.0.7, DSP-Quatro 4.2.4, QuickTime Pro 7.6.6, SmartScore X2 10.5.5, Toast 11.2
Test machine: G4-733: OS 10.4.11 / OS 9.2; DP 5.13; Encore 5.05 & 4.5.5; Toast 9.07b, other legacy apps
User avatar
mikehalloran
 
Posts: 3766
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:08 pm
Location: Sillie Con Valey
Primary DAW OS: MacOS


Return to MachFive

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Login Form