It is currently Wed Feb 21, 2018 6:05 am
   
Text Size

Mach Five HUGE Problems

Discussion of all things related to MOTU's awesome MachFive software sampler.

Moderator: James Steele

Mach Five HUGE Problems

Postby _Ddan_ » Tue Jan 23, 2018 12:22 pm

Hi
2 questions
1st
My MACBOOKPRO only has 2 USB ports and for reasons unknown to me the powered USB HUB doesnt seem to like some of my expanders, making it vry complex to work.
Is there a way to install ILOK in my machine and free my precious USB port?

2nd
Occasionally MACHFIVE doesn't recognize the files I saved in an eternal Hard Disk. I did this because my Machine has a very small memory (250 GB).
However if I temporarily copy the files to the main drive they work just fine. I only use the original sounds as they came from the disks, no changes, no modification at all.

Is there a reason for these errors?. The hard drive works fine and the tests I did in case there were broken blocs all tell me everything is fine.

Any Hints?

Thanks a lot
_Ddan_
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2013 8:02 am
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Mach Five HUGE Problems

Postby bayswater » Tue Jan 23, 2018 2:32 pm

First, I'd suspect the USB hub. I've had some (powered) hubs that didn't work, but the one I have now has the iLok key, two elicencer keys, a Waves USB key, a keyboard, and control surface, all working properly, on three Macs and OS versions 10.4 to 10.13.

Second, I have always stored everything associated with MachFive on an external drive. But it was always a bit inconsistent at showing the files at times. Loading files, I often had to resort to the view that shows physical drives rather than indexed files. I never figured out how to get this work consistently, but since moved on to Falcon which works more as expected.
2009 iMac 27" i7 16G, DP 8.07/9.02/9.5 & OS 10.12.6, Logic 10.3.2, Scarlett 18i8
2011 MBP 16G DP 9.5 & OS 10.12.6, Lexicon Alpha
Dual 2.0G G5 PCI 2G, DP 7.24 & OS 10.5.8, 2408 MKII, UAD-1
User avatar
bayswater
 
Posts: 8235
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 10:06 pm
Location: Vancouver
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Mach Five HUGE Problems

Postby Michael Canavan » Tue Jan 23, 2018 3:04 pm

1. No, MachFive is authorized via the USB dongle only.

2. I've had this problem before, it carries over to Falcon as well.
First off you probably need to delete the old directory and reassign your libraries in Preferences under soundbanks. After that they should show up. Seems to me sometimes getting this to stick took a hard restart.
Mac Pro 12 core 3.33Ghz. 24G RAM, RME fireface 800, Remote SL, DP9, Live 9 Suite. Falcon, Diva, V-Colletion, NI Ultimate, Maschine, Spark, not enough time.
Michael Canavan
 
Posts: 1964
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: seattle
Primary DAW OS: MacOS


Return to MachFive

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


Who is online

In total there are 3 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 3 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Login Form