It is currently Sat Oct 21, 2017 3:59 pm
   
Text Size

MachFive 3 won't open MachFive 2 libraries - SOLVED

Discussion of all things related to MOTU's awesome MachFive software sampler.

Moderator: James Steele

MachFive 3 won't open MachFive 2 libraries - SOLVED

Postby NealF » Fri Mar 24, 2017 5:58 pm

I've run this by tech support but the followup question is taking days to get back to me.

Here's the problem. Should MF 3 open all of MF 2 libraries? I can't get the VSL orchestra to load.
I'm not in my studio now, there may be more libraries that won't open, but I know this one won't.

Thanks.
Last edited by NealF on Sat Mar 25, 2017 11:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
Single Proc. quad core Mac Pro. 16 gigs ram, 2nd SATA 1 tb drive. El Capitan. DP 9 and Apogee Duet.
NealF
 
Posts: 538
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Florida
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: MachFive 3 won't open MachFive 2 libraries

Postby ronjams » Fri Mar 24, 2017 7:29 pm

Hi I haven't had any problems with the Mach V 3 opening any Vienna ensemble libraries. There is a way to test the library to make sure that everything works with the .UFS file. You want to make sure that the file is not corrupted.
DIGITAL PERFORMER828 MK3MACH V & A LOT MORE GEAR
User avatar
ronjams
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: ST. LOUIS MISSOURI
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: MachFive 3 won't open MachFive 2 libraries

Postby NealF » Sat Mar 25, 2017 6:16 am

How would I go about testing it?

This is a tech note I've gotten from MOTU. If I understand this correctly, I would need to do this to every patch in the library. I've tried it with one patch and it made it load, but doing the whole library would take forever.

You say your MachFive 2 libraries all open in MachFive 3? That would be a life saver if I could figure out why mine (and apparently other's) aren't working.
Here's the tech note: http://motu.com/techsupport/technotes/o ... chfive%202
Single Proc. quad core Mac Pro. 16 gigs ram, 2nd SATA 1 tb drive. El Capitan. DP 9 and Apogee Duet.
NealF
 
Posts: 538
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Florida
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: MachFive 3 won't open MachFive 2 libraries

Postby ronjams » Sat Mar 25, 2017 8:02 am

You are supposed to be able to simply right click on the file from within the Mach five to test the file integrity. Also make sure the disc itself does not have any scratches because that could be a problem as well. I was not aware of that tech note.
DIGITAL PERFORMER828 MK3MACH V & A LOT MORE GEAR
User avatar
ronjams
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: ST. LOUIS MISSOURI
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: MachFive 3 won't open MachFive 2 libraries

Postby NealF » Sat Mar 25, 2017 9:18 am

Okay. Thanks.
Single Proc. quad core Mac Pro. 16 gigs ram, 2nd SATA 1 tb drive. El Capitan. DP 9 and Apogee Duet.
NealF
 
Posts: 538
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Florida
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: MachFive 3 won't open MachFive 2 libraries

Postby NealF » Sat Mar 25, 2017 10:28 am

Did some more experimenting and figured it out.

The libraries are loading. It's just the X-fade patches that don't load. That's what that tech note is all about. So I'm assuming you don't use the X-fades. Is that right?
Single Proc. quad core Mac Pro. 16 gigs ram, 2nd SATA 1 tb drive. El Capitan. DP 9 and Apogee Duet.
NealF
 
Posts: 538
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Florida
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: MachFive 3 won't open MachFive 2 libraries

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Sat Mar 25, 2017 10:31 am

Can you mark the o/p as [Solved] please.

Thanks.
2013 Mac Pro 32GB RAM

OSX 10.12.6; DP 9.5; Track 16 Finale 2014.5

http://www.MIDILifeCrisis.com
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 23992
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: MachFive 3 won't open MachFive 2 libraries

Postby NealF » Sat Mar 25, 2017 10:56 am

Forgive my ignorance, but I've been looking around to find out how to mark it and can't find a thing.
Single Proc. quad core Mac Pro. 16 gigs ram, 2nd SATA 1 tb drive. El Capitan. DP 9 and Apogee Duet.
NealF
 
Posts: 538
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Florida
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: MachFive 3 won't open MachFive 2 libraries

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Sat Mar 25, 2017 11:09 am

NealF wrote:Forgive my ignorance, but I've been looking around to find out how to mark it and can't find a thing.


Go to your ORIGNAL post. In the Subject (topic) window, add the text: [Solved]

Hit SAVE.

Done.

Thanks. Subsequent posts will remain w/o that designation, but at least people looking for and answer to the same ???in the future will see that a solution has been found.

Thanks!

mm
2013 Mac Pro 32GB RAM

OSX 10.12.6; DP 9.5; Track 16 Finale 2014.5

http://www.MIDILifeCrisis.com
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 23992
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: MachFive 3 won't open MachFive 2 libraries

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Sat Mar 25, 2017 11:11 am

MIDI Life Crisis wrote:
NealF wrote:Forgive my ignorance, but I've been looking around to find out how to mark it and can't find a thing.


Go to your ORIGNAL post. In the Subject window, add the text: [Solved]

Hit SUBMIT.

Done.

Thanks. Subsequent posts will remain w/o that designation, but at least people looking for and answer to the same ???in the future will see that a solution has been found.

Thanks!

mm
2013 Mac Pro 32GB RAM

OSX 10.12.6; DP 9.5; Track 16 Finale 2014.5

http://www.MIDILifeCrisis.com
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 23992
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: MachFive 3 won't open MachFive 2 libraries - SOLVED

Postby NealF » Sat Mar 25, 2017 11:12 am

That was easy. I was looking for some sort of button.

Thanks.
Single Proc. quad core Mac Pro. 16 gigs ram, 2nd SATA 1 tb drive. El Capitan. DP 9 and Apogee Duet.
NealF
 
Posts: 538
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Florida
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: MachFive 3 won't open MachFive 2 libraries - SOLVED

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Sat Mar 25, 2017 11:14 am

NealF wrote:That was easy. I was looking for some sort of button.

Thanks.


Thank YOU for doing that.
2013 Mac Pro 32GB RAM

OSX 10.12.6; DP 9.5; Track 16 Finale 2014.5

http://www.MIDILifeCrisis.com
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 23992
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS


Return to MachFive

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest


Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest

Login Form