Summer Boys - Endless Beachball

Macintosh software/hardware discussion and troubleshooting

Moderator: James Steele

SixStringGeek
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Summer Boys - Endless Beachball

Post by SixStringGeek »

My Mac Pro has begun to beachball endlessly. Booting into safe mode worked for awhile but it eventually got to the point that the Mac would simply power off halfway through the boot up sequence. I've been wrestling this damn thing for 2 months now.

I took it to a Genius Bar appointment and the diagnosis was "failed system disk". I have this thing running all SSD's mounted on high bandwidth PCIe cards except for one spinner with a copy of Mavricks in bay 1 as an emergency boot volume. Given my somewhat unconventional set of upgrades I told them to leave it and I'd pick it up. I asked if they tried booting it from the spinner in bay 1 and they said they didn't open the case. Just that their little diagnostic tool said the main system drive was damaged and hanging on reads. So I picked it up.

I've removed all the PCIe cards except for video and successfully booted it off the old spinner. Seems OK. Plugged in the System SSD to one of the front bay connectors and ran disk utility on it - it passed.

However...when I try to boot from the System SSD it boots and then beachballs forever. Pull it and I can boot again. I bought a new SSD. Plugged it in to the front bay connector and managed to format it. However, I cannot get the App Store to load it with Sierra. It hangs. I tried putting the new SSD onto the PCIe interface card and plugging that in. Hangs.

Beginning to suspect RAM or system board. Open to ideas. I swear I spend more time maintaining machines and updating software than making music anymore.
DP 8.newest on MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex 3.33GHz 64G Ram, 3TB SSDs.
Thousands of $'s worth of vintage gear currently valued in the dozens of dollars.
mikehalloran

Re: Summer Boys - Endless Beachball

Post by mikehalloran »

Beginning to suspect RAM or system board.