It is currently Tue Jun 27, 2017 11:57 am
   
Text Size

Komplete Pitch Issue

Macintosh software/hardware discussion and troubleshooting

Moderator: James Steele

Komplete Pitch Issue

Postby Movies » Fri Feb 03, 2017 7:04 pm

I'm using Komplete as a plug-in with DP 9.02. Absolutely nothing has changed about my set-up for months.

For some reason, in the past couple days, seemingly random Kontakt instruments will just change pitch. Like, the MIDI data is correct, but Kontakt starts transposing the pitches. It's not project-specific (I tried four or five different files). It's just one instrument at a time.

Does anyone have any thoughts on what might be doing this?
MacBook Pro 2.5 GHz Quad-Core Intel i7/16GB, OSX 10.11.5, DP 9.02, MOTU 896mk3
Movies
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 1:14 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Komplete Pitch Issue

Postby HCMarkus » Fri Feb 03, 2017 11:05 pm

Possible suspect: Pitch bend CC... Is DP set to chase pitch bend events?
User avatar
HCMarkus
 
Posts: 5909
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:01 am
Location: Rancho Bohemia, California
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Komplete Pitch Issue

Postby Movies » Sat Feb 04, 2017 5:15 am

Everything is checked in the Even Chasing window, so yes.

But, also, unless there's some key command that would've enabled it by accident, I definitely haven't gone in there for anything.
MacBook Pro 2.5 GHz Quad-Core Intel i7/16GB, OSX 10.11.5, DP 9.02, MOTU 896mk3
Movies
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 1:14 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Komplete Pitch Issue

Postby Movies » Fri Mar 17, 2017 6:38 am

It turns out that this issue is not only happening in Kontakt. It's happening in pretty much any plug-in -- even MAS plug-ins.

More interestingly, when it happens, if I just save everything exactly how it is, close DP and reopen the project, it's back to normal.

Totally weird.
MacBook Pro 2.5 GHz Quad-Core Intel i7/16GB, OSX 10.11.5, DP 9.02, MOTU 896mk3
Movies
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 1:14 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Komplete Pitch Issue

Postby mikehalloran » Fri Mar 17, 2017 8:31 am

What does MOTU support say?
July 2010 iMac 2.93G i7 Quad, OWC eSATA mod, 32G RAM, OS 10.12.4
828mkII FW; MOTU MTP/AV USB with Firmware 2.0.1; DP 9.13, 9.02, 8.07 64bit, DP 7.24; IK-NI-Izotope-PSP-Garritan Antares, 32Lives, JBridge, MachFive 3.2.1
LogicPro X 10.3, Finale 25.3, 2014.5, Encore 5.0.7, Notion 6, Overture 5, TwistedWave, DSP-Q 4.4, QuickTime Pro 7.6.6, SmartScore Pro X2 10.5.5, Toast 15
Test machine: G4-1K Dual Processor: OS 10.4.11 / OS 9.2.2; DP 5.13; Encore 5.05 & 4.5.5; Toast 9.07b, legacy apps
User avatar
mikehalloran
 
Posts: 8281
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:08 pm
Location: Sillie Con Valley
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Komplete Pitch Issue

Postby HCMarkus » Fri Mar 17, 2017 9:11 am

Is it possible you opened a Transpose window with "preview" checked that is now hidden behind other windows?
User avatar
HCMarkus
 
Posts: 5909
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:01 am
Location: Rancho Bohemia, California
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Komplete Pitch Issue

Postby Sean Kenny » Fri Mar 17, 2017 6:08 pm

Movies wrote:It turns out that this issue is not only happening in Kontakt. It's happening in pretty much any plug-in -- even MAS plug-ins.

More interestingly, when it happens, if I just save everything exactly how it is, close DP and reopen the project, it's back to normal.

Totally weird.

I have experienced this too, fortunately I don't use MIDI that much these but it's a real pain


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Mac Pro 3 GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon E5 - 32 GB Ram 1867 MHz DDR3 ECC - OS X 10.12.4 - DP 9.13 - RME HDSPe Madi card - iz ADA converters 24 i/o - Antelope Orion 32 i/o - Audient desk - M&K Monitors - Wunder Mic Pre's x 8 - very understanding wife!
http://www.ten21recordingstudios.co.uk/
User avatar
Sean Kenny
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 12:40 am
Location: Kent - England
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Komplete Pitch Issue

Postby terrybritton » Sat Mar 18, 2017 8:15 am

HCMarkus wrote:Possible suspect: Pitch bend CC... Is DP set to chase pitch bend events?


I second this. I have an Alesis QX49 I don't use much anymore because it sends out spurious and random pitch bend messages. Watch your controllers with a MIDI monitor, or screen out pitch bend and see if the issue goes away.

Terry
Computer: Dell XPS 8700-1751BLK | Intel Haswell Core i7 4790@3.6Mhz | 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz | Windows 10 Pro x64 |
MOTU 828 mk3 hybrid- USB

DAWs and Live: MOTU Digital Performer 9.1.3 | Samplitude Pro X3 Suite | Cantabile 3 Performer
Keyboard Synths: Kawai K5000s, Korg Wavestation
Controllers: NI Komplete Kontrol S-88, Akai MPK249, Behringer BCF2000; NI Maschine Jam; Peavey PC 1600x
Rack Modules: Ensoniq ESQm, Yamaha TX81Z, Lexicon LXP-5

Videos: https://www.youtube.com/terryleighbritton
User avatar
terrybritton
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 8:45 am
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: Komplete Pitch Issue

Postby Movies » Sun Mar 19, 2017 1:46 pm

I chatted to MOTU about it and they had two suggestions:

1. My controller could be sending out random weird pitch data, however:

A. The controller that's hooked up (an Akai LPK25) doesn't send pitch data

B. Even if it did, I can't imagine that it would uniformly alter already-programmed MIDI information.

2. Though there's a very, very slim chance, trashing my preferences might solve the problem:

This seems pretty super unlikely -- even the MOTU tech representative was skeptical.
MacBook Pro 2.5 GHz Quad-Core Intel i7/16GB, OSX 10.11.5, DP 9.02, MOTU 896mk3
Movies
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 1:14 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Komplete Pitch Issue

Postby terrybritton » Sun Mar 19, 2017 1:51 pm

Movies wrote:I chatted to MOTU about it and they had two suggestions:

1. My controller could be sending out random weird pitch data, however:

A. The controller that's hooked up (an Akai LPK25) doesn't send pitch data

B. Even if it did, I can't imagine that it would uniformly alter already-programmed MIDI information.

2. Though there's a very, very slim chance, trashing my preferences might solve the problem:

This seems pretty super unlikely -- even the MOTU tech representative was skeptical.


Well, if the Akai LPK25 you have hooked up sends no pitch data, that pretty much sews up that suspicion!

At this point, I usually consider that it has to be ghosts -- poltergeists to be exact. Software written by common humans could not be this malicious!

Terry
Computer: Dell XPS 8700-1751BLK | Intel Haswell Core i7 4790@3.6Mhz | 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz | Windows 10 Pro x64 |
MOTU 828 mk3 hybrid- USB

DAWs and Live: MOTU Digital Performer 9.1.3 | Samplitude Pro X3 Suite | Cantabile 3 Performer
Keyboard Synths: Kawai K5000s, Korg Wavestation
Controllers: NI Komplete Kontrol S-88, Akai MPK249, Behringer BCF2000; NI Maschine Jam; Peavey PC 1600x
Rack Modules: Ensoniq ESQm, Yamaha TX81Z, Lexicon LXP-5

Videos: https://www.youtube.com/terryleighbritton
User avatar
terrybritton
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 8:45 am
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: Komplete Pitch Issue

Postby cuttime » Sun Mar 19, 2017 5:56 pm

I'm confused. How does a keyboard controller not send pitch data? Time to beak out the trusty Snoize MIDI monitor and see what's really happening:

https://www.snoize.com/MIDIMonitor/
Traveler DP9.13 Unisyn 10.6.8 and 10.12.5 i7 iMac 16G
User avatar
cuttime
 
Posts: 2821
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Komplete Pitch Issue

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Sun Mar 19, 2017 8:21 pm

A) How much is it transposing by?

B) Could there be a discrepancy between sample rates?

C) What is you sample rate in DP?

D) What is the sample rate on your audio device/card?

E) Have you tried changing the sample rates in DP and your audio device/card?

F) Does Komplete have a sample rate option?
2013 Mac Pro 32GB RAM

OSX 10.12.3; DP 9.02; Track 16 Finale 2014.5

http://www.MIDI-Life-Crisis.com
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 23855
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Komplete Pitch Issue

Postby Movies » Sat Mar 25, 2017 6:17 am

terrybritton wrote:At this point, I usually consider that it has to be ghosts -- poltergeists to be exact.

Ha! This issue is almost enough to make me a believer!

cuttime wrote:I'm confused. How does a keyboard controller not send pitch data? Time to beak out the trusty Snoize MIDI monitor and see what's really happening:

The MOTU tech was talking about pitch/mod-wheels on a MIDI controller misfiring. According to MIDI Monitor, there's absolutely nothing coming out of the ol' LPK25 during playback.


MIDI Life Crisis wrote:A) How much is it transposing by?

I haven't measured, but it seems like anywhere from a minor second to a major third.
MIDI Life Crisis wrote:B) Could there be a discrepancy between sample rates?

I don't think so. Kontakt, opened as an instance inside of a DAW, slaves to the DAW's sample rate.
MIDI Life Crisis wrote:C) What is you sample rate in DP?

44.1
MIDI Life Crisis wrote:D) What is the sample rate on your audio device/card?

MOTU 896mk3 is at 44.1
MIDI Life Crisis wrote:E) Have you tried changing the sample rates in DP and your audio device/card?

I'm not sure what you mean here. Like, just trying a different sample rate?
MIDI Life Crisis wrote:F) Does Komplete have a sample rate option?

Komplete, in stand-alone mode, has a sample rate option under the AUDIO tab which is set to 44.1, but the AUDIO tab isn't even available when it's opened as a plug-in.
MacBook Pro 2.5 GHz Quad-Core Intel i7/16GB, OSX 10.11.5, DP 9.02, MOTU 896mk3
Movies
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 1:14 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Komplete Pitch Issue

Postby Movies » Sun Mar 26, 2017 4:08 am

This just happened again and maybe provided another data point:

I have one instance of Kontakt opened inside of a DP project file. Each Kontakt instrument I’m using, of course, is assigned to its own MIDI track inside of the DP sequence.

At the EXACT same moment that the bass transposed itself a major second down, a super grating, high-pitched, sustained sound (similar to microphone feedback) started in the main Kontakt instrument track. The only way I could get it to stop (apart from muting the track) was to close the file and reopen it.

This sound started out of nowhere -- I had not touched the mouse or keyboard for thirty seconds or so and the sequence was not playing.
MacBook Pro 2.5 GHz Quad-Core Intel i7/16GB, OSX 10.11.5, DP 9.02, MOTU 896mk3
Movies
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 1:14 pm
Location: Boston, MA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Komplete Pitch Issue

Postby FMiguelez » Sun Mar 26, 2017 7:21 am

That sounds to me lke Banshees, NOT poltergeists. They are different :smash:

Do you have another computer where you can open the project and try it there?
If you apply the transposition MIDI plug to the tracks cursed by banshees, do they stay put with the new interval, or do the change?

Maybe some chanting or dancing around is in order at this point.
Mac Mini Server i7 2.66 GHs/16 GB RAM / OSX 10.10.3 / DP 9.02
Tascam DM-24, MOTU Track 16, all Spectrasonics' stuff,
Vienna Instruments SUPER PACKAGE, Waves Platinum, slaved iMac and Mac Minis running VE Pro, etc.

---------------------------

"There's random genetic variation, and non-random survival, and non-random reproduction, which is why, as the generations go by, animals get better at doing what they do. That is quintessentially non-random". ― Richard Dawkins
User avatar
FMiguelez
 
Posts: 7155
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Body: Narco-México Soul/Heart: NYC
Primary DAW OS: MacOS


Return to General Macintosh

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron

Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Login Form