It is currently Fri Feb 24, 2017 3:23 am
   
Text Size

'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Macintosh software/hardware discussion and troubleshooting

Moderator: James Steele

Re: 'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby buzzsmith » Wed Jan 04, 2017 12:25 pm

Based on my TIFF of my Hardware Overview a few posts earlier, what would be a some good choices for a CPU upgrade?
I watched a couple of YouTube videos and it looks amazingly easy. Maybe 15 minutes from removal to replacement!

(Great concept, Apple.)

And is there now "better" RAM that I should consider?

I'm actually pretty pleased with the Mac's current performance so I don't really want to break the bank to be the fastest possible.

Thanks, again!

Buzzy


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Early 2009 Mac Pro 4,1>5,1 3.33 GHz Hex Core Intel Xeon OS X 10.8.5 SSD (32 gigs RAM)
DP 9.01 PCI-424e / original 2408, 2408mkII, 24I/O, MTP-AV

Yamaha C7 Conservatory Grand
Hammond B-3 / Leslie 145
Focal Twin6 Be(s)

User avatar
buzzsmith
 
Posts: 2861
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Houston
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby HCMarkus » Wed Jan 04, 2017 3:56 pm

buzzsmith wrote:Based on my TIFF of my Hardware Overview a few posts earlier, what would be a some good choices for a CPU upgrade?
I watched a couple of YouTube videos and it looks amazingly easy. Maybe 15 minutes from removal to replacement!

(Great concept, Apple.)

And is there now "better" RAM that I should consider?

I'm actually pretty pleased with the Mac's current performance so I don't really want to break the bank to be the fastest possible.

Thanks, again!

Buzzy


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

You have a single CPU Mac Pro, so get the 6 core W3680 or 90 or X5680 or 90.

Clock for the 80s is 3.33 gHz. The 90s clock at 3.46 gHz. Either will give you a substantial performance boost in both single and multi-threaded apps. You will love you snappy new Mac Pro whatever app you are using!

Dual CPU Map Pros need the X56xx series.

Prices on the W3680 and X5680 are running neck and neck on Bay currently. Look for a used server pull and free shipping, under $120 from US seller... make an offer! The 90 series are usually considerably pricier relative to the nominal speed boost they provide, but shop around if you want to put the fastest possible CPU in your Mac.

Depending on how old your RAM is, you may be pleasantly surprised to find that what is labeled at 1066 may run at 1333 once you put the new CPU in and flash the PRAM. If starting from scratch on memory, get 1333; it will work fine at 1066 with you current CPU.

PS: The CPU swap is incredibly easy on a single CPU 2009 or any 2010/2012 Mac Pro. Dual CPU 2009s require more care. Look carefully before you leap with a Dual 2009!
HC Markus
2009 MacPro 4,1>5,1 Hex 3.46 32gb OS 10.12.2 DP 9.12 828mkII PCIe: AMD RX460 eSATA UA2
User avatar
HCMarkus
 
Posts: 5749
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:01 am
Location: Rancho Bohemia, California
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby buzzsmith » Wed Jan 04, 2017 4:02 pm

Thanks, HC! Getting ready to leave for my gig, but I'll post more appropriate gratitude (and maybe a question!) tomorrow.

Buzzy


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Early 2009 Mac Pro 4,1>5,1 3.33 GHz Hex Core Intel Xeon OS X 10.8.5 SSD (32 gigs RAM)
DP 9.01 PCI-424e / original 2408, 2408mkII, 24I/O, MTP-AV

Yamaha C7 Conservatory Grand
Hammond B-3 / Leslie 145
Focal Twin6 Be(s)

User avatar
buzzsmith
 
Posts: 2861
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Houston
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby HCMarkus » Wed Jan 04, 2017 4:06 pm

One Point: DO NOT buy "ES" (Engineering Sample) CPUs.
User avatar
HCMarkus
 
Posts: 5749
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:01 am
Location: Rancho Bohemia, California
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby buzzsmith » Thu Jan 05, 2017 12:05 pm

EDIT: This seems to only apply to dual CPUs where a lid is removed.

I contacted one eBay seller regarding this...

"If you are buying this for an Apple Mac Pro, PLEASE BUY FROM SOMEONE ELSE
We will not warranty the item after you delid the CPU or make any other modification to it."

What exactly does "delid" mean? I didn't see any reference to that in the YouTube video.

Much appreciative!


I ordered. Fairly close by (Dallas) and a 99.8% positive feedback.

Buzzy


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Early 2009 Mac Pro 4,1>5,1 3.33 GHz Hex Core Intel Xeon OS X 10.8.5 SSD (32 gigs RAM)
DP 9.01 PCI-424e / original 2408, 2408mkII, 24I/O, MTP-AV

Yamaha C7 Conservatory Grand
Hammond B-3 / Leslie 145
Focal Twin6 Be(s)

User avatar
buzzsmith
 
Posts: 2861
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Houston
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby HCMarkus » Thu Jan 05, 2017 7:32 pm

buzzsmith wrote:EDIT: This seems to only apply to dual CPUs where a lid is removed.

I contacted one eBay seller regarding this...

"If you are buying this for an Apple Mac Pro, PLEASE BUY FROM SOMEONE ELSE
We will not warranty the item after you delid the CPU or make any other modification to it."

What exactly does "delid" mean? I didn't see any reference to that in the YouTube video.

Much appreciative!


I ordered. Fairly close by (Dallas) and a 99.8% positive feedback.

Buzzy


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Right... 4,1 / 2009 DUAL CPU MPs shipped with CPUs that did not have the metal lid ("IHS") on top, so replacing those CPUs requires either delidding the replacements or compensating for their additional height.

Buzzy, you don't need to worry, as your single CPU MP's original CPU included the IHS. As did ALL 5,1 2010/2012 Mac Pros, dual AND single CPU variants.

Google will learn ya' if you want more info.

Have fun with the install. The first boot is always exciting! And so is the Apple utility Activity Monitor, when it shows 12 virtual cores.
User avatar
HCMarkus
 
Posts: 5749
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:01 am
Location: Rancho Bohemia, California
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby James Steele » Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:28 pm

So the easiest way if I want to make a 12-core is try and find a MacPro5,1 dualie, right? Just a chip swap? Not even a firmware update? My MacPro 1,1 I'm using in my office is quite pokey and limited. Would be a blast to make a 12-core and then have my hexcore become my "office machine." Especially because I have one of those 340 EVOs in it that aren't so great.

EDIT: I guess I'm confused. Looking online the 5,1s look to be 6 and 12 core already?
JamesSteele.com | Dean Guitars | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter

MacPro5,1 Hexcore 3.33, 24GB RAM, macOS 10.12.2, ATI 5770, DP 9.12, MOTU HD192, 24I/O, UAD-2 Duo, Lucid GENx192, HV-3C, Red Type B, Dean guitars, Marshall amps, etc., etc.!
User avatar
James Steele
Site Administrator
 
Posts: 16488
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: San Diego, CA - U.S.A.
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby HCMarkus » Fri Jan 06, 2017 1:13 am

James Steele wrote:So the easiest way if I want to make a 12-core is try and find a MacPro5,1 dualie, right? Just a chip swap? Not even a firmware update? My MacPro 1,1 I'm using in my office is quite pokey and limited. Would be a blast to make a 12-core and then have my hexcore become my "office machine." Especially because I have one of those (840) EVOs in it that aren't so great

You are right, no EFI update required, and the 5,1s don't have the delidding issue the 4,1 dual CPU models do. Plus you'll typically get at least an ATI 5770 GPU with a 5,1.

James Steele wrote:Looking online the 5,1s look to be 6 and 12 core already?

Yes, but many are aftermarket upgrades, and a lot are 4,1>5,1 with shoddy disclosures. The best bet is usually to buy a bonafide 8 core 5,1 and hot rod it yourself.

I just checked Macofalltrades... they only have 4,1 8-core MPs in stock at present, for $700. If you did decide to have a go at a dual CPU 4.1 upgrade, the positive thing would be you could swap the CPU cage with the one in your current 4,1 anytime... a lot of folks have done it, including several here at MOTUNation. I've pondered it myself, but am thinking that VE Pro with a slave PC might be a better way to go at this point. Now, if those 4,1 8-core MPs get down to $300 or so, it might just be too tempting to resist, assuming X5680s are still available for reasonable prices.
User avatar
HCMarkus
 
Posts: 5749
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:01 am
Location: Rancho Bohemia, California
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby buzzsmith » Fri Jan 13, 2017 12:50 pm

HCMarkus wrote:
buzzsmith wrote:Based on my TIFF of my Hardware Overview a few posts earlier, what would be a some good choices for a CPU upgrade?
I watched a couple of YouTube videos and it looks amazingly easy. Maybe 15 minutes from removal to replacement!

(Great concept, Apple.)

And is there now "better" RAM that I should consider?

I'm actually pretty pleased with the Mac's current performance so I don't really want to break the bank to be the fastest possible.

Thanks, again!

Buzzy


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

You have a single CPU Mac Pro, so get the 6 core W3680 or 90 or X5680 or 90.

Clock for the 80s is 3.33 gHz. The 90s clock at 3.46 gHz. Either will give you a substantial performance boost in both single and multi-threaded apps. You will love you snappy new Mac Pro whatever app you are using!

Dual CPU Map Pros need the X56xx series.

Prices on the W3680 and X5680 are running neck and neck on Bay currently. Look for a used server pull and free shipping, under $120 from US seller... make an offer! The 90 series are usually considerably pricier relative to the nominal speed boost they provide, but shop around if you want to put the fastest possible CPU in your Mac.

Depending on how old your RAM is, you may be pleasantly surprised to find that what is labeled at 1066 may run at 1333 once you put the new CPU in and flash the PRAM. If starting from scratch on memory, get 1333; it will work fine at 1066 with you current CPU.

PS: The CPU swap is incredibly easy on a single CPU 2009 or any 2010/2012 Mac Pro. Dual CPU 2009s require more care. Look carefully before you leap with a Dual 2009!

We have liftoff!

Image

And I have 32 gigs of RAM coming from OWC.

Thanks!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Early 2009 Mac Pro 4,1>5,1 3.33 GHz Hex Core Intel Xeon OS X 10.8.5 SSD (32 gigs RAM)
DP 9.01 PCI-424e / original 2408, 2408mkII, 24I/O, MTP-AV

Yamaha C7 Conservatory Grand
Hammond B-3 / Leslie 145
Focal Twin6 Be(s)

User avatar
buzzsmith
 
Posts: 2861
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Houston
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby HCMarkus » Fri Jan 13, 2017 7:04 pm

This. Is. Good!

How's the old girl feel with the new CPU horsepower?
User avatar
HCMarkus
 
Posts: 5749
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:01 am
Location: Rancho Bohemia, California
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby buzzsmith » Fri Jan 13, 2017 7:31 pm

HCMarkus wrote:This. Is. Good!

How's the old girl feel with the new CPU horsepower?

I almost hate to say..."Snappier!"

Geekbench:

Prior: Single-Core: 1933    Multi-Core 7249

After: Single-Core: 2493   Multi-Core: 13650

(32 bit for all as the freeware would only allow that)

Buzzy
Early 2009 Mac Pro 4,1>5,1 3.33 GHz Hex Core Intel Xeon OS X 10.8.5 SSD (32 gigs RAM)
DP 9.01 PCI-424e / original 2408, 2408mkII, 24I/O, MTP-AV

Yamaha C7 Conservatory Grand
Hammond B-3 / Leslie 145
Focal Twin6 Be(s)

User avatar
buzzsmith
 
Posts: 2861
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Houston
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Previous

Return to General Macintosh

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest


Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest

Login Form