It is currently Wed Jun 28, 2017 8:45 pm
   
Text Size

'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Macintosh software/hardware discussion and troubleshooting

Moderator: James Steele

'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby artfarm1 » Wed Dec 21, 2016 6:57 pm

I'm trying to do the firmware update from 4,1 to 5,1 for my 2009 MacPro 2x2.26 Quadcore.
(the current firmware is the MP41.0081.B07)

I've downloaded the firmware upgrade program from here: http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,852.0.html

While running the program, I get the 'Error 5770' message.

Some suggestions to the problem from on-line searches say:
- problem could be caused by my having El Capitan.
- problem by having 'SIP' enabled ....(*I did try it by rebooting with SIP disabled, but still got the same error message)
- problem might be that I have an SSD as my boot drive.

Any other suggestions or ideas?

I know that many of you have done this, and I'm late to the party.
Last edited by artfarm1 on Thu Dec 22, 2016 7:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
MacPro 2009, 2x2.26ghz Quad-core, (w/5,1 firmware and ready to upgrade) OSX 10.11.6, DP 9.13, 9.02, 8.07, 24 gig RAM, MOTU Traveler mkI, SSD drives for everything, MOTU Mach Five 3.2, UVI VI's, Kontakt's, PLAY's, Stylus RMX, Realitone VI's, Korg Legacy M1/Wavestation, etc. etc.; JV2080, XP80; Bach16M/16 trombone!
http://www.cammillar.com
artfarm1
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 'Error 5770' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby buzzsmith » Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:33 pm

Following.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Early 2009 Mac Pro 4,1>5,1 3.33 GHz Hex Core Intel Xeon OS X 10.8.5 SSD (32 gigs RAM)
DP 9.01 PCI-424e / original 2408, 2408mkII, 24I/O, MTP-AV

Yamaha C7 Conservatory Grand
Hammond B-3 / Leslie 145
Focal Twin6 Be(s)

User avatar
buzzsmith
 
Posts: 2943
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Houston
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 'Error 5770' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby HCMarkus » Wed Dec 21, 2016 11:23 pm

I'd suggest review of the Netkas thread, especially towards the end.

Here's the latest successful upgrader's take on steps required:


1. Boot into recovery mode and disable SIP since I'm running El Capitan
2. Reboot [Turn off any outbound firewall like LittleSnitch since the script needs Internet access]
3. Mount the MacProEFIUpdate dmg (for 5.1)
4. Run MacEFIRom's utility.
5. Shutdown and power back up by holding the power button until light flashes and tone sounds [and screen appears with fat progress bar]
6. Verify Boot ROM Version: MP51.007F.B03
7. Boot into recovery mode and enable SIP
8. Reboot

As I found out DO NOT RELEASE POWER BUTTON after tone until screen appears with fat progress bar.


This is also found in the thread:

In general it seems that the most common reasons why the '5,1' firmware upgrade may fail are:
Error 5570, due to Apple's renaming of their '5,1' firmware disk-image download, which can be resolved either by using pigsyn's patched edition of the tool (which incorporates the new DL link), or manually DL'ing & pre-mounting that disk image
not having the latest '4,1' firmware ('MP41.0081.B07/B08') already installed
using a non-(Mac-)EFI graphics card
using a 'non-traditional' boot drive (e.g., non-GPT/-EFI, or PCIe/SSD, etc.), and/or running under a recent OS that has SIP enabled (e.g., OS X 10.11 'El Capitan' in default config)

{Apple has also suggested in the past, for regular firmware updates, that it may occasionally be necessary to remove all non-essential external devices, leaving just a mouse, keyboard and monitor attached. I personally did not have to go that drastic bare-bones route, but I guess it couldn't hurt if all else fails.}


Pigsyn's patch and instructions can be found in Page 64 of Thread, posts #964 and 966.

I had best results updating from a Mountain Lion start up. When I first did the update in 2012, the original installer worked. The above-noted Pigsyn's patch may now be necessary; I used it when I did my last update (my backup Mac Pro) this past summer. Another one I assisted with about 1.5 years back required a patched updater as well.

Good Luck!
HC Markus
2009 MacPro 4,1>5,1 Hex 3.46 AMD RX460 32gb macOS 10.12.5 DP 9.13 828mkII UA2
User avatar
HCMarkus
 
Posts: 5909
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:01 am
Location: Rancho Bohemia, California
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby artfarm1 » Thu Dec 22, 2016 7:38 am

Ho! Ho! Ho!....it worked!... what a gift!....thank you H.C. Markus!
I followed your lead to the pages and posts in the Netkas thread.

- I rebooted, and disabled SIP in El Capitan; then restarted
- I turned off the Firewall in System Pref/Privacy
- I downloaded the 'patch.tgz' that was attached to the bottom of the post #964
- (I didn't need to download the 'fixed Firmware Patched.zip from bottom of post #966, as I had downloaded the original Firmware Upgrade patch yesterday from the very first post in the thread ... hmm,...maybe i could have just used this new attached fix? Anyhow....)
- then, I made sure that both downloads were in my Users/Downloads
- then, I opened Terminal and carefully typed in the commands as listed from post #966, (making sure to have the spaces in the right places)
- followed instructions, and magic!

I'll be on the search for the processor upgrades in the New Year and put in some more RAM as well.

Great way to end the year! Thanks... I've been following your wisdom on this upgrade path for a couple of years already!
MacPro 2009, 2x2.26ghz Quad-core, (w/5,1 firmware and ready to upgrade) OSX 10.11.6, DP 9.13, 9.02, 8.07, 24 gig RAM, MOTU Traveler mkI, SSD drives for everything, MOTU Mach Five 3.2, UVI VI's, Kontakt's, PLAY's, Stylus RMX, Realitone VI's, Korg Legacy M1/Wavestation, etc. etc.; JV2080, XP80; Bach16M/16 trombone!
http://www.cammillar.com
artfarm1
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby HCMarkus » Thu Dec 22, 2016 10:20 am

This is great news artfarm, and encouraging to others who are considering the 4,1 to 5,1 upgrade.

Thanks for sharing your success, and happy holidays! :woohoo:
User avatar
HCMarkus
 
Posts: 5909
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:01 am
Location: Rancho Bohemia, California
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby artfarm1 » Thu Dec 22, 2016 12:45 pm

Thanks!.... have a California Christmas in the sun!

Up by Toronto here 'tis a little colder... makes you appreciate the egg nog.
MacPro 2009, 2x2.26ghz Quad-core, (w/5,1 firmware and ready to upgrade) OSX 10.11.6, DP 9.13, 9.02, 8.07, 24 gig RAM, MOTU Traveler mkI, SSD drives for everything, MOTU Mach Five 3.2, UVI VI's, Kontakt's, PLAY's, Stylus RMX, Realitone VI's, Korg Legacy M1/Wavestation, etc. etc.; JV2080, XP80; Bach16M/16 trombone!
http://www.cammillar.com
artfarm1
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby buzzsmith » Mon Jan 02, 2017 1:33 pm

Okay, maybe I'm just slow or just not on top of my game today!

I'm not sure of the correct order to do all of this.

Do I do the Terminal commands first?

When I did, I got this...(Copied each line individually and hit return after each one.)

Last login: Mon Jan 2 12:18:46 on console
carroll-j-smith-jrs-mac-pro:~ BuzzySmith$ cd $HOME/Downloads
carroll-j-smith-jrs-mac-pro:Downloads BuzzySmith$ tar -zxvf patch.tgz
x 2009_2010.patch
carroll-j-smith-jrs-mac-pro:Downloads BuzzySmith$ patch Mac\ Pro\ 2009-2010\ Firmware\ Tool.app/Contents/Resources/Scripts/Mac\ Pro\ 2009-2010\ Firmware\ Tool.scpt 2009_2010.patch
patching file 'Mac Pro 2009-2010 Firmware Tool.app/Contents/Resources/Scripts/Mac Pro 2009-2010 Firmware Tool.scpt'
Reversed (or previously applied) patch detected! Assume -R? [n] n
Apply anyway? [n] n
Skipping patch.
2 out of 2 hunks ignored -- saving rejects to file 'Mac Pro 2009-2010 Firmware Tool.app/Contents/Resources/Scripts/Mac Pro 2009-2010 Firmware Tool.scpt.rej'
carroll-j-smith-jrs-mac-pro:Downloads BuzzySmith$


(I highlighted in red the question that threw me. I didn't know so I entered "n".)

When I tried to run the MacProEFIUpdate I got...

Alert
This software is not supported on your system.

So, for an apparent dummy :? , would one of you kind gents lay out the instructions and order of implementation for me line by line?

(BTW, I did check my current firmware. It's reported as: Boot ROM Version: MP41.0081.B07)

Thank you!

Buzzy
Early 2009 Mac Pro 4,1>5,1 3.33 GHz Hex Core Intel Xeon OS X 10.8.5 SSD (32 gigs RAM)
DP 9.01 PCI-424e / original 2408, 2408mkII, 24I/O, MTP-AV

Yamaha C7 Conservatory Grand
Hammond B-3 / Leslie 145
Focal Twin6 Be(s)

User avatar
buzzsmith
 
Posts: 2943
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Houston
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby buzzsmith » Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:21 am

I found a YouTube video. It looks so easy!...I hope.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YU8p86qHnek


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Early 2009 Mac Pro 4,1>5,1 3.33 GHz Hex Core Intel Xeon OS X 10.8.5 SSD (32 gigs RAM)
DP 9.01 PCI-424e / original 2408, 2408mkII, 24I/O, MTP-AV

Yamaha C7 Conservatory Grand
Hammond B-3 / Leslie 145
Focal Twin6 Be(s)

User avatar
buzzsmith
 
Posts: 2943
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Houston
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby HCMarkus » Tue Jan 03, 2017 10:38 am

buzzsmith wrote:I found a YouTube video. It looks so easy!...I hope.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YU8p86qHnek


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Good Luck Buzzy. If you encounter issues, review artfarm's info and the referenced posts at Netkas. And please let us know once your MP is reporting it is a 5,1!
HC Markus
2009 MacPro 4,1>5,1 Hex 3.46 AMD RX460 32gb macOS 10.12.5 DP 9.13 828mkII UA2
User avatar
HCMarkus
 
Posts: 5909
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:01 am
Location: Rancho Bohemia, California
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby buzzsmith » Tue Jan 03, 2017 11:10 am

HCMarkus wrote:
buzzsmith wrote:I found a YouTube video. It looks so easy!...I hope.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YU8p86qHnek


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Good Luck Buzzy. If you encounter issues, review artfarm's info and the referenced posts at Netkas. And please let us know once your MP is reporting it is a 5,1!

Thanks.

In the video he didn't have to use any Terminal commands. Not sure why not after looking at the Netkas dialogue.

Buzzy


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Early 2009 Mac Pro 4,1>5,1 3.33 GHz Hex Core Intel Xeon OS X 10.8.5 SSD (32 gigs RAM)
DP 9.01 PCI-424e / original 2408, 2408mkII, 24I/O, MTP-AV

Yamaha C7 Conservatory Grand
Hammond B-3 / Leslie 145
Focal Twin6 Be(s)

User avatar
buzzsmith
 
Posts: 2943
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Houston
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby buzzsmith » Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:30 pm

Image

So far, so good!

I had to "finagle" the MIDI setup a little, but a second restart showed the 5 or so hardware modules.

Buzzy


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Early 2009 Mac Pro 4,1>5,1 3.33 GHz Hex Core Intel Xeon OS X 10.8.5 SSD (32 gigs RAM)
DP 9.01 PCI-424e / original 2408, 2408mkII, 24I/O, MTP-AV

Yamaha C7 Conservatory Grand
Hammond B-3 / Leslie 145
Focal Twin6 Be(s)

User avatar
buzzsmith
 
Posts: 2943
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Houston
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby HCMarkus » Tue Jan 03, 2017 7:22 pm

YES!

Great job Buzz.

I missed the terminal stuff you mentioned earlier. I never had to go into terminal to do the EFI update. I think it is only necessary under Sierra, as SIPP must be disabled to update the EFI.

Anyway, all that is now behind you, and the doors have opened to a much faster CPU if you feel the added performance will assist you. Plus, Sierra is now available to your Mac. Congrats!
User avatar
HCMarkus
 
Posts: 5909
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:01 am
Location: Rancho Bohemia, California
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby buzzsmith » Tue Jan 03, 2017 7:34 pm

HCMarkus wrote:YES!

Great job Buzz.

I missed the terminal stuff you mentioned earlier. I never had to go into terminal to do the EFI update. I think it is only necessary under Sierra, as SIPP must be disabled to update the EFI.

Anyway, all that is now behind you, and the doors have opened to a much faster CPU if you feel the added performance will assist you. Plus, Sierra is now available to your Mac. Congrats!

Thanks, HC!

Faster CPU (and probably more RAM) is in the plans.

Step by step.

Buzzy
Early 2009 Mac Pro 4,1>5,1 3.33 GHz Hex Core Intel Xeon OS X 10.8.5 SSD (32 gigs RAM)
DP 9.01 PCI-424e / original 2408, 2408mkII, 24I/O, MTP-AV

Yamaha C7 Conservatory Grand
Hammond B-3 / Leslie 145
Focal Twin6 Be(s)

User avatar
buzzsmith
 
Posts: 2943
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Houston
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby artfarm1 » Tue Jan 03, 2017 8:44 pm

Makes you sweat a bit, doesn't it?

Glad it worked for you too!
MacPro 2009, 2x2.26ghz Quad-core, (w/5,1 firmware and ready to upgrade) OSX 10.11.6, DP 9.13, 9.02, 8.07, 24 gig RAM, MOTU Traveler mkI, SSD drives for everything, MOTU Mach Five 3.2, UVI VI's, Kontakt's, PLAY's, Stylus RMX, Realitone VI's, Korg Legacy M1/Wavestation, etc. etc.; JV2080, XP80; Bach16M/16 trombone!
http://www.cammillar.com
artfarm1
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: 'Error 5570' while trying 4,1 to 5,1 firmware update

Postby buzzsmith » Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:00 pm

artfarm1 wrote:Makes you sweat a bit, doesn't it?

Glad it worked for you too!

For sure!

I was waiting for that successful reboot!

Buzzy
Early 2009 Mac Pro 4,1>5,1 3.33 GHz Hex Core Intel Xeon OS X 10.8.5 SSD (32 gigs RAM)
DP 9.01 PCI-424e / original 2408, 2408mkII, 24I/O, MTP-AV

Yamaha C7 Conservatory Grand
Hammond B-3 / Leslie 145
Focal Twin6 Be(s)

User avatar
buzzsmith
 
Posts: 2943
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 11:01 pm
Location: Houston
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Next

Return to General Macintosh

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Login Form