It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 6:37 am
   
Text Size

Apple dropping AirPort, Time Capsule, no more Displays

Macintosh software/hardware discussion and troubleshooting

Moderator: James Steele

Apple dropping AirPort, Time Capsule, no more Displays

Postby mikehalloran » Tue Nov 22, 2016 10:43 am

https://www.thestreet.com/story/1390154 ... iness.html

External Apple Displays have been gone for awhile and they are not coming back. Since just about anything current can be made to work and is less expensive, not considered a great loss.

The AirPort engineering department was dissolved in 2013. My son-in-law was part of it so I've known this for a long time. There have been rumors for about 4 months that Apple was going to stop making the product and now, it appears that production has ceased.

The bummer is that the Airport Time Capsule works so well and is so easy to set up compared to everything else out there.

I have been upgrading the drives to higher capacity in the towers as AppleCare expires. The connectors are too small for me to do it one-handed so I have someone who does it for me. The pancake version is very easy for me to do myself.

The big differences between the two versions are that the towers have vertical antennae and support the 802.11ac wireless that is faster than gigabyte ethernet. The pancake only supports up to 802.11n.

My first thought is to pick up another 3T from the Refurb Store but that's really too small for my network anymore. I'll likely buy another used when the time comes and upgrade from there.

Here's what's left in the Refurb store:
http://www.apple.com/shop/browse/home/s ... ccessories
July 2010 iMac 2.93G i7 Quad, OWC eSATA mod, 32G RAM, OS 10.13.1
828mkII FW; MOTU MTP/AV USB with Firmware 2.0.1; DP 9.5.1; IK-NI-Izotope-PSP-Garritan Antares, 32Lives, MachFive 3.2.1
LogicPro X 10.3.2, Finale 25.5, 2014.5, Encore 5.0.7, Notion 6, Overture 5, TwistedWave 1.18, DSP-Q 4.4, QuickTime Pro 7.6.6, SmartScore Pro X2 10.5.5, Toast 16
Test machine: G4-1K Dual Processor: OS 10.4.11 / OS 9.2.2; DP 5.13; Encore 5.05 & 4.5.5; Toast 9.07b, legacy apps
User avatar
mikehalloran
 
Posts: 8900
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:08 pm
Location: Sillie Con Valley
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Apple dropping AirPort, Time Capsule, no more Displays

Postby stubbsonic » Tue Nov 22, 2016 1:53 pm

I have a wireless modem that won't work with my iPad unless I use an Airport. We connect our Airport to an FM transmitter to send audio out to any radio in the house.

The Airport Express seems to have a limited life-span, as well, I've had to replace a few just from them stopping working. My current one is going strong, but I don't know for how long.

Is there another manufacturer and product that will do what the Airport does? Otherwise, no more wi-fi for my iPad.
RMBP (2.6 i7), FF800, OS 10.10.5, DP8, Kontakt, Reaktor, K2661S, K2500RS, iPad4, (also an old sawtooth G4 with a UAD-1 for legacy apps).

http://www.jonstubbsmusic.com
User avatar
stubbsonic
 
Posts: 2530
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 1:56 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Apple dropping AirPort, Time Capsule, no more Displays

Postby mikehalloran » Tue Nov 22, 2016 2:27 pm

The Airport Express has a unique feature and that is Air Play. Nothing else does that. Otherwise, it's the older, slower 802.11n wi-fi.
http://www.apple.com/airport-express/

The tower versions of the Air Port and Time Capsule support 802.11ac which is blazingly fast by comparison. If your iPad supports 802.11ac (Air II, Mini II & later, Pro), then you can take advantage of that.

Earlier iPads, like the flat Airport, Express and Time Capsule only support up to 802.11n.

There are a number of wireless routers that support 802.11ac, nowadays. I don't know that any are available from the cable company. Here's a list. Apple is competitive on price, more so through the Refurb Store. All others require logging in through a browser.
https://www.cnet.com/topics/networking/ ... /802-11ac/

Some have USB 2 and or 3 ports. I would think that you could use it for Time Machine. Although I like the idea, setting that up should be loads of fun. If anyone has a tutorial on setting any of these up for Mac users, I have not found it.
July 2010 iMac 2.93G i7 Quad, OWC eSATA mod, 32G RAM, OS 10.13.1
828mkII FW; MOTU MTP/AV USB with Firmware 2.0.1; DP 9.5.1; IK-NI-Izotope-PSP-Garritan Antares, 32Lives, MachFive 3.2.1
LogicPro X 10.3.2, Finale 25.5, 2014.5, Encore 5.0.7, Notion 6, Overture 5, TwistedWave 1.18, DSP-Q 4.4, QuickTime Pro 7.6.6, SmartScore Pro X2 10.5.5, Toast 16
Test machine: G4-1K Dual Processor: OS 10.4.11 / OS 9.2.2; DP 5.13; Encore 5.05 & 4.5.5; Toast 9.07b, legacy apps
User avatar
mikehalloran
 
Posts: 8900
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:08 pm
Location: Sillie Con Valley
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Apple dropping AirPort, Time Capsule, no more Displays

Postby Michael Canavan » Tue Nov 22, 2016 3:02 pm

Hopefully it's because newer versions of Apple TV will cover WiFi as well.
That would make a lot of sense to me.
Mac Pro 12 core 3.33Ghz. 24G RAM, RME fireface 800, Remote SL, DP9, Live 9 Suite. Falcon, Diva, V-Colletion, NI Ultimate, Maschine, Spark, not enough time.
Michael Canavan
 
Posts: 1941
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:01 pm
Location: seattle
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Apple dropping AirPort, Time Capsule, no more Displays

Postby HCMarkus » Tue Nov 22, 2016 3:45 pm

stubbsonic wrote:I have a wireless modem that won't work with my iPad unless I use an Airport. We connect our Airport to an FM transmitter to send audio out to any radio in the house.

The Airport Express seems to have a limited life-span, as well, I've had to replace a few just from them stopping working. My current one is going strong, but I don't know for how long.

Is there another manufacturer and product that will do what the Airport does? Otherwise, no more wi-fi for my iPad.


An Apple TV will do the job; it will connect to a Wi Fi Router, too. I use the recently discontinued version (with the optical out) to feed audio to my outdoor stereo. Last sold for $69 believe... and I found this:

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/apple-tv-geek-squad-certified-refurbished-apple-tv-black/8598027.p?skuId=8598027&gclid=CIO24rS4vdACFRc7gQodStwG9Q#tab=buyingOptions?bof=openbox&ref=212&loc=1&ksid=200b4134-a6da-4349-9776-d1e7ee994686&ksprof_id=16&ksaffcode=pg103790&ksdevice=c&lsft=ref:212,loc:2
User avatar
HCMarkus
 
Posts: 6204
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 10:01 am
Location: Rancho Bohemia, California
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Apple dropping AirPort, Time Capsule, no more Displays

Postby mikehalloran » Tue Nov 22, 2016 4:04 pm

Michael Canavan wrote:Hopefully it's because newer versions of Apple TV will cover WiFi as well.
That would make a lot of sense to me.

As a gateway for home wi-fi, not yet.

For streaming over wi-fi, yes, and the latest version supports 802.11ac.
http://www.apple.com/apple-tv/specs/

I didn't buy one last year because it was limited to 802.11n. Perhaps it's time to reconsider.
July 2010 iMac 2.93G i7 Quad, OWC eSATA mod, 32G RAM, OS 10.13.1
828mkII FW; MOTU MTP/AV USB with Firmware 2.0.1; DP 9.5.1; IK-NI-Izotope-PSP-Garritan Antares, 32Lives, MachFive 3.2.1
LogicPro X 10.3.2, Finale 25.5, 2014.5, Encore 5.0.7, Notion 6, Overture 5, TwistedWave 1.18, DSP-Q 4.4, QuickTime Pro 7.6.6, SmartScore Pro X2 10.5.5, Toast 16
Test machine: G4-1K Dual Processor: OS 10.4.11 / OS 9.2.2; DP 5.13; Encore 5.05 & 4.5.5; Toast 9.07b, legacy apps
User avatar
mikehalloran
 
Posts: 8900
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:08 pm
Location: Sillie Con Valley
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Apple dropping AirPort, Time Capsule, no more Displays

Postby bayswater » Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:04 pm

It does make some sense. Not so long ago, ISPs and router makers regarded Macs as an annoying detail in their plans and product lines.

Presumably, they can't get away with that any more, and there is no good reason for Apple to stay involved to fill the gap.

It's like what Apple did with monitors, printers, hard disk drives, ... they once made them, but there came a point where they no longer had to when reasonable quality was available elsewhere.

On the topic of Apple dumping stuff, where did the on line store go? There's no store link on the main Apple page, and no integrated store anywhere, just links to pages where specific things are for sale. I guess you have to wade through the promo material before they'll let you try to buy something.

There's a new store app, but only for iOS. So now you need an iPhone to buy a Mac? Once we needed a Mac to get our iPods to work. Maybe a few years from now, we'll need a watch to turn our Macs on.
2009 iMac 27" i7 16G, DP 8.07/9.02/9.5 & OS 10.12.6, Logic 10.3.2, Scarlett 18i8
2011 MBP 16G DP 9.5 & OS 10.12.6, Lexicon Alpha
Dual 2.0G G5 PCI 2G, DP 7.24 & OS 10.5.8, 2408 MKII, UAD-1
User avatar
bayswater
 
Posts: 8165
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 10:06 pm
Location: Vancouver
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Apple dropping AirPort, Time Capsule, no more Displays

Postby cuttime » Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:29 pm

This is a bit of an annoying development. After having gone through several high-end router phases (Asus, D-Link, Buffalo, Netgear), I found the Airport Extreme was the one and only solution to my problems. I don't have an Apple-only network, either. I have several Rokus and a couple of PCs on my net. The Airport Extreme was the only router that didn't require that my Rokus log in every time they were used. Also, I'm in a crowded WiFi environment, and the Airport gave me the best range, and the most consistent performance that I've ever had. :cry:
Traveler DP9.51 Unisyn 10.6.8 and 10.13.1 i7 iMac 16G
User avatar
cuttime
 
Posts: 2972
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Apple dropping AirPort, Time Capsule, no more Displays

Postby mikehalloran » Tue Nov 22, 2016 9:11 pm

bayswater wrote:...On the topic of Apple dumping stuff, where did the on line store go? There's no store link on the main Apple page...
Scroll all the way down on most pages. It's a long way down till you find it. I like that the Refurb and Education stores are in the list.

Otherwise, click on the Buy button at the top of any product page. For these, you click on Accessories then Made by Apple, then scroll through pages... yikes!

The only issue I ever had buying a "Refurb" Time Capsule was that the previous owner's info wasn't wiped. Depressing the Reset button for a minute fixed that. I was also able to see why it had been returned—the guy hadn't a clue and there's no way it could have worked. I've no problem saving $120 for that.
July 2010 iMac 2.93G i7 Quad, OWC eSATA mod, 32G RAM, OS 10.13.1
828mkII FW; MOTU MTP/AV USB with Firmware 2.0.1; DP 9.5.1; IK-NI-Izotope-PSP-Garritan Antares, 32Lives, MachFive 3.2.1
LogicPro X 10.3.2, Finale 25.5, 2014.5, Encore 5.0.7, Notion 6, Overture 5, TwistedWave 1.18, DSP-Q 4.4, QuickTime Pro 7.6.6, SmartScore Pro X2 10.5.5, Toast 16
Test machine: G4-1K Dual Processor: OS 10.4.11 / OS 9.2.2; DP 5.13; Encore 5.05 & 4.5.5; Toast 9.07b, legacy apps
User avatar
mikehalloran
 
Posts: 8900
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:08 pm
Location: Sillie Con Valley
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Apple dropping AirPort, Time Capsule, no more Displays

Postby Gravity Jim » Sun Nov 27, 2016 11:11 am

What I read was some engineers were moved from one department to another, and the writer extrapolated that to mean that Apple might be possibly eyeing WiFi for discontinuation.

In other words, it was pure speculation. Apple hasn't said anything like this, AFAIK.
Jim Bordner
http://www.gravitymusic.com
MacPro 5,1 (3.33Ghz 12-core), 32g RAM, OS X 10.13.3 Beta • MOTU 896mk3 • MOTU DP 9.5.1 • Logic Pro X 10.2.5 • Waves Diamond, UAD-2, Slate Digital, Komplete, Omnisphere 2, LASS, CineSamples, Chipsounds, V Collection 5, Korg Legacy • Roland & Yamaha hardware • Fender, Gibson, Godin, Danelectro, Line 6, Warmoth, Hofner and Cedar Creek guitars, Fuchs ODS amp
User avatar
Gravity Jim
 
Posts: 1810
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Apple dropping AirPort, Time Capsule, no more Displays

Postby mikehalloran » Sun Nov 27, 2016 11:31 am

Gravity Jim wrote:What I read was some engineers were moved from one department to another, and the writer extrapolated that to mean that Apple might be possibly eyeing WiFi for discontinuation.

In other words, it was pure speculation. Apple hasn't said anything like this, AFAIK.

Rumors have been out there for months. All the news outlets reported this 6 days ago--do a Google search. Where is Apple's denial? No, this is real.
https://www.theguardian.com/technology/ ... s-division

I can confirm that the wireless division my son-in-law worked for no longer exists and that everyone in it has been reassigned, not "some engineers". I also know from a different source that no more Time Capsules are being made. No one asked me to keep any of this a secret. I don't post such things till they become public, however. Could I be wrong? Yes but it's not likely.

There was no official press release regarding dropping of Apple branded displays, afaik. It just happened last February and the new LG displays confirm what everybody already knows.
July 2010 iMac 2.93G i7 Quad, OWC eSATA mod, 32G RAM, OS 10.13.1
828mkII FW; MOTU MTP/AV USB with Firmware 2.0.1; DP 9.5.1; IK-NI-Izotope-PSP-Garritan Antares, 32Lives, MachFive 3.2.1
LogicPro X 10.3.2, Finale 25.5, 2014.5, Encore 5.0.7, Notion 6, Overture 5, TwistedWave 1.18, DSP-Q 4.4, QuickTime Pro 7.6.6, SmartScore Pro X2 10.5.5, Toast 16
Test machine: G4-1K Dual Processor: OS 10.4.11 / OS 9.2.2; DP 5.13; Encore 5.05 & 4.5.5; Toast 9.07b, legacy apps
User avatar
mikehalloran
 
Posts: 8900
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:08 pm
Location: Sillie Con Valley
Primary DAW OS: MacOS


Return to General Macintosh

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Login Form