Macintosh software/hardware discussion and troubleshooting

Moderator: James Steele

denne
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

What brakes permissions?

Post by denne »

Hi ya all!

Silly question from a OSX-dummie:

First advice if software-problems occur: "repair permissions. No .. repair them even if you have no trouble!" Well I do, and there is always something to repair. It's no big deal, but what the heck is constantly doing damage to my permissions? How is it possible that some "guerilla"-bits and -bytes can brake permissions in "todays most advanced OS"? ;)

Just curious
SuperDave
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: What brakes permissions?

Post by SuperDave »

Being a relative MAC newbie, I'd like to see the answer to this myself? Any techie want to comment for us?
PowerMac G4 Dual 867 Mhz/1.25 GB RAM/OS 10.3.8 | PowerBook G4 1.5 Ghz/2.0 GB RAM/OS 10.3.8 |DP4.12/MOTU 828mkII
wylie

Post by wylie »

More than one application may access or share a directory, once in a while an application may change a directory, the other app may lose tack or access causing an error (the symbolic links between app and dir. become broken)
Repair Permissions is a verification program that fixes this and some other stuff.I don't think its an OS problem that causes this I think its an app data base thing.The more apps. you un/install, the more directories you create and move around the more you should repair Permissions.
To put it simply
I just makes sure your app. knows where all its directories are.
motuguy

Post by motuguy »

I use Cocktail to do all that OS X/UNIX stuff for me on a daily basis or any schedual you want to set it to.

http://www.macosxcocktail.com/index.html
QUICKSILVER G4 dual 1G process with 1.5 GB RAM
audiophile 2496 PCI card(MIDI/audio in/out)
running TIGER and PANTEHR

M-Audio USB MIDIsport 8 x 8 (MIDI interface)

8500/Sonnet G3 + USB and Firewire cards running PANTHER and OS 9
9500/Sonnet G4 + USB and Firewire cards running PANTHER and OS 9
qo

Post by qo »