Transfer to new Mac

Macintosh software/hardware discussion and troubleshooting

Moderator: James Steele

Julia123
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Transfer to new Mac

Post by Julia123 »

I will be transferring or re downloading manually all of my music software to a new Mac in a few weeks. (not sure yet how this will work - I think I just go to each site and download?) I will also want to transfer all of my plug in settings. I would like to keep my current set up functioning until the new one is up and running. I've never done this before, all of this stuff was purchased and used only from this computer. Any warnings before I start? I'm not sure which companies won't allow me to run their software on two computers at once either. BTW, All my sounds are on my Mac except Omnisphere, Play, and 9V audio, which are stored on firewire/USB drives. I'm really dreading this since I'm not very computer savvy. Thanks.

This is what I have:

DP8 of course
Play EW libraries (iLOK 2nd Gen.)
Kush UBK 1 (iLOK 2nd Gen.)
Addictive Drums
Omnisphere
Stylus RMX
9V Audio - Stylus/Kontact add-ons
Eereckon Earebound
Izotope: Alloy, Nectar, Ozone 5, Stutter Edit

DSP Quattro

Garage Band FX AU's (soundflower)
iMac 27" 4.2 GHz i7 1TB SSD. 40 GB RAM. Apogee One.
HCMarkus
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Transfer to new Mac

Post by HCMarkus »

Others will be able to give more feedback on how to accomplish the transfer; I simply want to emphasize that your idea of setting up the new machine and checking it out thoroughly BEFORE switching the old machine out is the way to go.