It is currently Fri Sep 22, 2017 1:24 pm
   
Text Size

Magic Trackpad 2

Macintosh software/hardware discussion and troubleshooting

Moderator: James Steele

Magic Trackpad 2

Postby Julia123 » Sun Jul 16, 2017 10:40 am

I have not a fan of trackpads in the past but I discovered at the Apple store that when you are in Garage Band, you can use the trackpad to show more measures, or fewer, by spreading your fingers back and forth. (not just a zoom )

Is this the case with DP as well? If so, I would purchase it with my new iMac for that, and use my current mouse for everything else.

Is there any reason this would not work well? I imagine I may discover other things I might prefer the trackpad for (knobs--?)
iMac OS X 10.6.8, Dual Core, 3.06 GHz, 12g Ram, DP 8.05, Apogee One
Julia123
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:49 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Magic Trackpad 2

Postby mikehalloran » Mon Jul 17, 2017 8:57 am

The MT 2 has a lot of functionality not found in the Magic Mouse. I don't believe I will ever go back.
July 2010 iMac 2.93G i7 Quad, OWC eSATA mod, 32G RAM, OS 10.12.4
828mkII FW; MOTU MTP/AV USB with Firmware 2.0.1; DP 9.13, 9.02, 8.07 64bit, DP 7.24; IK-NI-Izotope-PSP-Garritan Antares, 32Lives, JBridge, MachFive 3.2.1
LogicPro X 10.3, Finale 25.3, 2014.5, Encore 5.0.7, Notion 6, Overture 5, TwistedWave, DSP-Q 4.4, QuickTime Pro 7.6.6, SmartScore Pro X2 10.5.5, Toast 15
Test machine: G4-1K Dual Processor: OS 10.4.11 / OS 9.2.2; DP 5.13; Encore 5.05 & 4.5.5; Toast 9.07b, legacy apps
User avatar
mikehalloran
 
Posts: 8594
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:08 pm
Location: Sillie Con Valley
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Magic Trackpad 2

Postby Julia123 » Mon Jul 17, 2017 1:23 pm

Thanks Mike!
iMac OS X 10.6.8, Dual Core, 3.06 GHz, 12g Ram, DP 8.05, Apogee One
Julia123
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 4:49 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Magic Trackpad 2

Postby Gravity Jim » Thu Jul 20, 2017 1:36 pm

Yeah, but... does it do what she asked about? My Magic Trackpad v.1 does not, and I would upgrade for that functionality if v.2 did.
Jim Bordner
http://www.gravitymusic.com
MacPro 5,1 (3.33Ghz 12-core), 32g RAM, OS X 10.13 GM • MOTU 896mk3 • MOTU DP 9.5 • Logic Pro X 10.2.5 • Waves Diamond, UAD-2, Slate Digital, Komplete, Omnisphere 2, Chipsounds, V Collection 5, Korg Legacy • Roland & Yamaha hardware • Fender, Gibson, Godin, Danelectro, Line 6, Warmoth and Cedar Creek guitars, Fuchs ODS amp
User avatar
Gravity Jim
 
Posts: 1747
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:55 am
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Magic Trackpad 2

Postby mikehalloran » Thu Jul 20, 2017 8:51 pm

Gravity Jim wrote:Yeah, but... does it do what she asked about? My Magic Trackpad v.1 does not, and I would upgrade for that functionality if v.2 did.
Good point.

First, I had to figure out what she was talking about. This is what threw me:
I have not a fan of trackpads in the past but I discovered at the Apple store that when you are in Garage Band, you can use the trackpad to show more measures, or fewer, by spreading your fingers back and forth. (not just a zoom )
I had never opened GarageBand before but I found a sample from 2012 so I could see. Then I tried Logic and the behavior is identical:

I was looking for something that wasn't just a zoom. Well, it is just a zoom—a horizontal zoom, to be exact. In DP, click on the horizontal + or - and you get the exact behavior.

With the MT2 in GB or Logic, you spread your fingers and see fewer measures (+) and close them to see more (-). Having sold my MT 1 last week, I am unable to compare it to the MT2.

This is kind of cool and it's too bad that it doesn't work the same in Digital Performer. It would make a nice feature request—yea, I'd like to see it. I'll submit it.

Thanks, Julia, for asking about it. Never would have known what to check if you hadn't asked.

Back to my earlier reply. The MT2 makes the MT1 feel like a stone age tool be comparison. Frankly, I've just scratched the surface of what it can do. I'd read about it but didn't really give thought to trying one till my MT1 stopped working in the middle of my day job so I went to the nearest Apple Store (I have 4 within 15 miles) picked up an MT2 and was back within 45 minutes.

Later, I read how to adjust the switches on the MT1 and had it working by the end of the day but I was spoiled and am never going back. Sold it and and the wireless keyboard I never used for $50 + shipping on eBay so I'm good.
July 2010 iMac 2.93G i7 Quad, OWC eSATA mod, 32G RAM, OS 10.12.4
828mkII FW; MOTU MTP/AV USB with Firmware 2.0.1; DP 9.13, 9.02, 8.07 64bit, DP 7.24; IK-NI-Izotope-PSP-Garritan Antares, 32Lives, JBridge, MachFive 3.2.1
LogicPro X 10.3, Finale 25.3, 2014.5, Encore 5.0.7, Notion 6, Overture 5, TwistedWave, DSP-Q 4.4, QuickTime Pro 7.6.6, SmartScore Pro X2 10.5.5, Toast 15
Test machine: G4-1K Dual Processor: OS 10.4.11 / OS 9.2.2; DP 5.13; Encore 5.05 & 4.5.5; Toast 9.07b, legacy apps
User avatar
mikehalloran
 
Posts: 8594
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:08 pm
Location: Sillie Con Valley
Primary DAW OS: MacOS


Return to General Macintosh

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Login Form