It is currently Thu Aug 21, 2014 1:00 pm
   
Text Size

Hint at new MacPros...

Macintosh software/hardware discussion and troubleshooting

Moderator: James Steele

Hint at new MacPros...

Postby MIDI Life Crisis » Wed Jun 06, 2012 6:24 pm

Wow, only like 888 days to go.
_______________________________________________________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________________________MIDI Life Crisis______________________________
_______________________________________________________________________
_____________OS 10.9.4 • DP 64 bit • 8 core MP/20GB RAM • Track 16____________
User avatar
MIDI Life Crisis
 
Posts: 20166
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 10:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Hint at new MacPros...

Postby toodamnhip » Wed Jun 06, 2012 11:54 pm

I wonder if DP 8 and everything going 64 bit will lessen the need for a new mac pro over the quad core Xoens.
I mean, when everything accesses through unlimited ram, won;t that help a lot with VIs?
2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon-24 Gig 1066 MHz DDR3 Mac
OS 10.6.8

DP 8.05, MTP AV, 828 mkII
LASS Strings 2.05, East West Pianos, East West Goliath, Spectrasonics Omnispere, Stylus RMX, Waves 9-Mercury+everything they make, Drum Core, NI Guitar Rig 2 and 3, Miroslav Philharmonik CE, Antares auto tune 7, entire Nomad Factory tube processor library, Peak Pro 6, Reason 3.05, Izotope Ozone 3-4-5, Trash 2 and Spectron, Ivory Piano, VI One, and Addictive Drums...Ocean way Drums, various other plugs
User avatar
toodamnhip
 
Posts: 3023
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Hint at new MacPros...

Postby Stuartfox » Thu Jun 07, 2012 2:11 am

toodamnhip wrote:....I mean, when everything accesses through unlimited ram, won;t that help a lot with VIs?


I think CPU power will always be important, the reason I say this is that I've recently had issues with Kontakt 5 running more complex instruments like 8Dio's Adagio or Cinesamples Cinebrass... When I only give Kontakt (64bit standalone) 1 or 2 cores it will not cope with complex arrangements on my 12 core 2.66, so with sample libraries becoming ridiculously complex, I think every aspect of hardware will remain important, drives, ram and CPU.
Stuart Fox
http://www.goodsounds.co.uk
http://www.myspace.com/music4screen

Amiga 1200, 80MB HDD, Midimaster MIDI interface, Octamed 6,Bars & Pipes Pro + Korg M1R + Roland XV3080 <Just added!!!.
Stuartfox
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:08 am
Location: Gloucestershire, UK
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Hint at new MacPros...

Postby toodamnhip » Thu Jun 07, 2012 2:49 am

Stuartfox wrote:
toodamnhip wrote:....I mean, when everything accesses through unlimited ram, won;t that help a lot with VIs?


I think CPU power will always be important, the reason I say this is that I've recently had issues with Kontakt 5 running more complex instruments like 8Dio's Adagio or Cinesamples Cinebrass... When I only give Kontakt (64bit standalone) 1 or 2 cores it will not cope with complex arrangements on my 12 core 2.66, so with sample libraries becoming ridiculously complex, I think every aspect of hardware will remain important, drives, ram and CPU.

Kontakt has been killing me too with LA Scoring Strings. Crashes all the damn time.
Any advise?
2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon-24 Gig 1066 MHz DDR3 Mac
OS 10.6.8

DP 8.05, MTP AV, 828 mkII
LASS Strings 2.05, East West Pianos, East West Goliath, Spectrasonics Omnispere, Stylus RMX, Waves 9-Mercury+everything they make, Drum Core, NI Guitar Rig 2 and 3, Miroslav Philharmonik CE, Antares auto tune 7, entire Nomad Factory tube processor library, Peak Pro 6, Reason 3.05, Izotope Ozone 3-4-5, Trash 2 and Spectron, Ivory Piano, VI One, and Addictive Drums...Ocean way Drums, various other plugs
User avatar
toodamnhip
 
Posts: 3023
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Hint at new MacPros...

Postby FutureLegends » Thu Jun 07, 2012 4:18 am

toodamnhip wrote:I wonder if DP 8 and everything going 64 bit will lessen the need for a new mac pro over the quad core Xoens.
I mean, when everything accesses through unlimited ram, won;t that help a lot with VIs?

I guess, if you have enough to load the entire samples it would help a lot.
I'm getting processor spikes even when half of my 9gb ram is free. I can imagine that the streaming of the samples takes some cpu power, other than that it doesn't seem memory related...
But I think, and hope, that 64bit will at least improve performance a bit!
rMBP 2.6ghz/16gb/256gb, OSX 10.9.1
Hardware: MOTU 828mk3 & Original 828 | UA LA-610 | Neumann TLM49 | MindPrint En-Voice | AT4033SE | Gretsch Guitars & Drums | Keystation 88es
Software: DP 8.05 | FCPX 10.1 | Logic Pro X 10.0.5 | MachFive 3.2 | Play 4.1 EWQL Gypsy, Choirs, Orchestra Gold, VoP | EZDrummer w/ Twizted Kit | Action Strings
User avatar
FutureLegends
 
Posts: 1366
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Hint at new MacPros...

Postby toodamnhip » Fri Jun 08, 2012 6:21 pm

Well, it looks like I am headed toward VE Pro and then I can be done with the quirks of VI’s in DP.
The consensus I am getting from developers is that DP is the least friendly to VI’s for one reason or another. And I cannot run LASS without crashing.
There are some DP users who do fine with VIs inside of DP. But SHoosh and others consider Kontakt a crasher in DP, and I have found this to be the case too, so I’m moving out...lol.
2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon-24 Gig 1066 MHz DDR3 Mac
OS 10.6.8

DP 8.05, MTP AV, 828 mkII
LASS Strings 2.05, East West Pianos, East West Goliath, Spectrasonics Omnispere, Stylus RMX, Waves 9-Mercury+everything they make, Drum Core, NI Guitar Rig 2 and 3, Miroslav Philharmonik CE, Antares auto tune 7, entire Nomad Factory tube processor library, Peak Pro 6, Reason 3.05, Izotope Ozone 3-4-5, Trash 2 and Spectron, Ivory Piano, VI One, and Addictive Drums...Ocean way Drums, various other plugs
User avatar
toodamnhip
 
Posts: 3023
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Hint at new MacPros...

Postby FMiguelez » Fri Jun 08, 2012 9:37 pm

toodamnhip wrote:Well, it looks like I am headed toward VE Pro and then I can be done with the quirks of VI’s in DP.

If you do so, when you look back, you will wonder why it took you so long. I bet you will consider it one of your smartest studio-related decisions ever 8)

I haven't run Kontakt in VE Pro much, so I can't tell you for sure how it handles it, but based on all the other VIs I host in there, it should work flawlessly every single time.
If you use Kontakt that heavily, you may want to ask around about K + VEP specifically, just to make double sure.
Mac Mini Server i7 2.66 GHs/16 GB RAM / OSX 10.9.2 / DP 8.06
Tascam DM-24, MOTU Track 16, all Spectrasonics' stuff,
Vienna Instruments SUPER PACKAGE, Waves Platinum, slaved iMac and Mac Minis running VE Pro, etc.

---------------------------

"There's random genetic variation, and non-random survival, and non-random reproduction, which is why, as the generations go by, animals get better at doing what they do. That is quintessentially non-random". ― Richard Dawkins
User avatar
FMiguelez
 
Posts: 6391
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: Body: México. Soul/Heart: NYC
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Hint at new MacPros...

Postby frankf » Fri Jun 08, 2012 9:52 pm

toodamnhip wrote:Well, it looks like I am headed toward VE Pro and then I can be done with the quirks of VI’s in DP.
The consensus I am getting from developers is that DP is the least friendly to VI’s for one reason or another. And I cannot run LASS without crashing.
There are some DP users who do fine with VIs inside of DP. But SHoosh and others consider Kontakt a crasher in DP, and I have found this to be the case too, so I’m moving out...lol.

I don't know what your system specs are, but I'm running LASS, Kontakt 4 (x4), Kontakt 5, Ivory, Stylus RMX in DP7.24, Altiverb, video and more inside DP without problems. I've just started running Omnisphere in VEP on the same Mac Pro 3,1 with 24gb RAM because it WAS pushing DP too far. My libraries are distributed over several internal and external drives. OS and Recording volumes are isolated on unique drives, as is video playback. All drives are 7200 rpm; the externals are either running off a eSata card or FW800 bus. And yes, the sample library drives are defragmented for optimum throughput. DP8 running in 64bit should cure a lot of the memory issues. I don't run any other apps, especially Safari, when I'm scoring as they eat RAM. Check out Activity Monitor to see what's going on. DP also uses Virtual memory on the startup disk which is one good reason to keep your startup disk in good shape by using basic maintenance utilities like Disk Utility, Onyx, both free, and, occasionally, Disk Warrior $. One more thing: if you need to run video, consider streaming it from a USB 2 drive. It works fine and will also take a load off your system.
Frank
Frank Ferrucci
http://www.ferruccimusic.com
Mac Pro 3,1 24gb RAM DP8.06 OSX 10.8.5 MIO 2882d & ULN2d Firewire Audio Interfaces
frankf
 
Posts: 625
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: NYC
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Re: Hint at new MacPros...

Postby toodamnhip » Fri Jun 08, 2012 9:59 pm

frankf wrote:
toodamnhip wrote:Well, it looks like I am headed toward VE Pro and then I can be done with the quirks of VI’s in DP.
The consensus I am getting from developers is that DP is the least friendly to VI’s for one reason or another. And I cannot run LASS without crashing.
There are some DP users who do fine with VIs inside of DP. But SHoosh and others consider Kontakt a crasher in DP, and I have found this to be the case too, so I’m moving out...lol.

I don't know what your system specs are, but I'm running LASS, Kontakt 4 (x4), Kontakt 5, Ivory, Stylus RMX in DP7.24, Altiverb, video and more inside DP without problems. I've just started running Omnisphere in VEP on the same Mac Pro 3,1 with 24gb RAM because it WAS pushing DP too far. My libraries are distributed over several internal and external drives. OS and Recording volumes are isolated on unique drives, as is video playback. All drives are 7200 rpm; the externals are either running off a eSata card or FW800 bus. And yes, the sample library drives are defragmented for optimum throughput. DP8 running in 64bit should cure a lot of the memory issues. I don't run any other apps, especially Safari, when I'm scoring as they eat RAM. Check out Activity Monitor to see what's going on. DP also uses Virtual memory on the startup disk which is one good reason to keep your startup disk in good shape by using basic maintenance utilities like Disk Utility, Onyx, both free, and, occasionally, Disk Warrior $. One more thing: if you need to run video, consider streaming it from a USB 2 drive. It works fine and will also take a load off your system.
Frank

Thanks Frank, I have a quad Xeon, 2010, I run fairly similar to your set up, separate drives, cleaned and maintained system drive, the only big difference I guess is I have messenger on in the background which shouldn’t be too big a hog. Shutting it off doesn;t seem to be any sort of giant improvment.
2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon-24 Gig 1066 MHz DDR3 Mac
OS 10.6.8

DP 8.05, MTP AV, 828 mkII
LASS Strings 2.05, East West Pianos, East West Goliath, Spectrasonics Omnispere, Stylus RMX, Waves 9-Mercury+everything they make, Drum Core, NI Guitar Rig 2 and 3, Miroslav Philharmonik CE, Antares auto tune 7, entire Nomad Factory tube processor library, Peak Pro 6, Reason 3.05, Izotope Ozone 3-4-5, Trash 2 and Spectron, Ivory Piano, VI One, and Addictive Drums...Ocean way Drums, various other plugs
User avatar
toodamnhip
 
Posts: 3023
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:01 pm
Primary DAW OS: Unspecified

Previous

Return to General Macintosh

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests


Who is online

In total there are 4 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 3 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests

Login Form