It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 3:37 am
   
Text Size

Audio Playback

For seeking technical help with Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on Windows.

Moderators: James Steele, Shooshie

Forum rules
This forum is for seeking solutions to technical problems involving Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on Windows, as well as feature requests, criticisms, comparison to other DAWs.

Audio Playback

Postby mr175 » Thu May 26, 2016 11:15 am

Hi, total noob here.
My system: New DP9. New MOTU AudioExpress, w/CueMix FX. Dell Laptop i7,8GB RAM, 1TB HD, running Windows 8. Submixer with 8 inputs, two main outputs to Audio Express. One extra guitar input straight into AudioExpress Mic/Inst 1.
My problem: Record audio into DP9. That process works fine. I see the meters move, I see waveforms in the track line, I hear the audio thru my monitors. When I hit "play" of what I just recorded, nothing comes out of the speakers. The blue speaker icon is lit, the "O" listing is the analog 1-2 outs (the only option, other than none). The Audio Express made by MOTU shows those outputs as Main 1-2. No choice of those in the output section of my tracks. In CueMixFX, I see choices of Main 1-2,
and Analog 1-2, but there are only two plugs on the back - MainOut 1-2. Still no DP9 playback.
Separate question: My DP9 help section shows all Mac views, not Windows, so what to do with help/manuals?
mr175
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 9:30 pm
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: Audio Playback

Postby stubbsonic » Thu May 26, 2016 12:55 pm

I can help with the first issue. When the Blue Speaker icon is lit, that means you are listening to the INPUT (not the track), so when you hit play, you could play along with the track and hear your instrument, mic, etc. Turn the Blue Speaker (input monitor) off, and you'll hear your track when you are in playback.
RMBP (2.6 i7), FF800, OS 10.10.5, DP8, Kontakt, Reaktor, K2661S, K2500RS, iPad4, (also an old sawtooth G4 with a UAD-1 for legacy apps).

http://www.jonstubbsmusic.com
User avatar
stubbsonic
 
Posts: 2451
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 1:56 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Audio Playback

Postby rickorick » Thu May 26, 2016 1:09 pm

I just tried hitting the blue button with the track playing and it still plays. I think that is so one can play along with the track and hear both the input and the track.
Used 2012 Mac Pro 3.33 6 Core 16g ram 10.8.5 DP 7.24
rickorick
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 10:19 am
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Audio Playback

Postby stubbsonic » Thu May 26, 2016 1:36 pm

In the Studio Menu, near the bottom is the Audio Patch Thru submenu, which offers Auto, Blend, Input Only, and Off. I think those options are largely self-explanatory-- except what rules Auto operates under. I'll bet the manual would explain that in a satisfying way.
RMBP (2.6 i7), FF800, OS 10.10.5, DP8, Kontakt, Reaktor, K2661S, K2500RS, iPad4, (also an old sawtooth G4 with a UAD-1 for legacy apps).

http://www.jonstubbsmusic.com
User avatar
stubbsonic
 
Posts: 2451
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 1:56 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Audio Playback

Postby bayswater » Thu May 26, 2016 2:36 pm

On the second question: When I tried out DP with Windows 7, it seemed to me that other than the obvious differences things specific to the OS, the two versions were the same. If I didn't look at the thick blue bar at the top of the window, or the buttons on the opposite side of the window, it wasn't apparent that I was using a Windows version. Are they different now?
2009 iMac 27" i7 16G, DP 8.07/9.02/9.5 & OS 10.12.6, Logic 10.3.2, Scarlett 18i8
2011 MBP 16G DP 9.5 & OS 10.12.6, Lexicon Alpha
Dual 2.0G G5 PCI 2G, DP 7.24 & OS 10.5.8, 2408 MKII, UAD-1
User avatar
bayswater
 
Posts: 8046
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 10:06 pm
Location: Vancouver
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Audio Playback

Postby mr175 » Thu May 26, 2016 3:36 pm

Thanks for the replies. No change, however. Turned the blue speaker icon off - no difference. AudioPatch thru there are 4 choices - none solved the problem.
mr175
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 9:30 pm
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: Audio Playback

Postby stubbsonic » Thu May 26, 2016 11:06 pm

I guess the next thing to do would be to open configure hardware driver and make sure you have an active output device-- so it is available as an assignable option. Then open the bundles window to see if you can confirm the outputs are routable.
RMBP (2.6 i7), FF800, OS 10.10.5, DP8, Kontakt, Reaktor, K2661S, K2500RS, iPad4, (also an old sawtooth G4 with a UAD-1 for legacy apps).

http://www.jonstubbsmusic.com
User avatar
stubbsonic
 
Posts: 2451
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 1:56 pm
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: Audio Playback

Postby mr175 » Fri May 27, 2016 5:48 pm

Good idea to try the configure hardware menu. My choices are ASIO or Windows ASIO. Then, ASIO driver - MOTU Audio ASIO; then to configure audio driver, and the only menu choice is "phones assignment". There are 4 choices of where to send that: Phones 1-2; Main 1-2; Analog 1-2 (Which do not exist?); and S/PDIF 1-2. Tried all 4 - no go. As a LAST CHANCE, I switched the output plugs on the AE from Main 1-2, to Line Out 3-4, as indicated on the back of the unit. These outs are not indicated anywhere in the CueMix or the choice of output in the track/sequence menu. Maybe they're Analog 1-2, but if it's the same manufacturer, why doesn't the terminology line up? But, it works!?!? So now I can hear what's been recorded, and listen if I'm not recording. Makes little sense to me, but there it is . . . . Thx.
mr175
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 9:30 pm
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: Audio Playback

Postby terrybritton » Fri May 27, 2016 7:34 pm

After selecting the MOTU interface, then go to the Bundles inputs and outputs window and add the connections you'll need.
(Shift-U gets you there.) Once that is done, you should see all the output options you desire in the mixer and elsewhere.

See https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SMpDFSEfjWw



and

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=elctJjd1O6g



Terry
Computer: Dell XPS 8700-1751BLK | Intel Haswell Core i7 4790@3.6Mhz | 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz | Windows 10 Pro x64 |
MOTU 828 mk3 hybrid- USB

DAWs and Live: MOTU Digital Performer 9.1.3 | Samplitude Pro X3 Suite | Cantabile 3 Performer
Keyboard Synths: Kawai K5000s, Korg Wavestation
Controllers: NI Komplete Kontrol S-88, Akai MPK249, Behringer BCF2000; NI Maschine Jam; Peavey PC 1600x
Rack Modules: Ensoniq ESQm, Yamaha TX81Z, Lexicon LXP-5

Videos: https://www.youtube.com/terryleighbritton
User avatar
terrybritton
 
Posts: 697
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 8:45 am
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Primary DAW OS: Windows

Re: Audio Playback

Postby mr175 » Sun May 29, 2016 7:30 am

Thanks for the videos . . . I'll go looking for more!
mr175
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 9:30 pm
Primary DAW OS: Windows


Return to Digital Performer [Windows]: Troubleshooting/Criticism

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 151 on Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Login Form