how to synchronise realtime recorded MIDI tracks

For seeking technical help with Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on Windows.

Moderator: James Steele

Forum rules
This forum is for seeking solutions to technical problems involving Digital Performer and/or plug-ins on Windows, as well as feature requests, criticisms, comparison to other DAWs.
inkywriter
Primary DAW OS: Windows

how to synchronise realtime recorded MIDI tracks

Post by inkywriter »

I'm a pianist and like to record instrument tracks through MIDI. I'm finding that despite playing in time with the previously recorded track, they don't synch. Also, if I am writing a 'cello line that has repeated notes in the melody, there is an unnatural gap between each of the notes. I would really appreciate help. Thanks
FMiguelez
Primary DAW OS: MacOS

Re: how to synchronise realtime recorded MIDI tracks

Post by FMiguelez »

As for the Cello notes, you can try extending the release on the patch you are using, so the realtime performance sounds more connected. Or you can edit the notes manually after you record them, or play them with less gaps.

For your sync issues, you can a) ignore all tempo and just follow yourself b) play to the metronome c) ignore the tempo and follow yourself, and THEN have the metronome follow your performance Record/Adjust Beats.

It sounds to me you're using a) above, but it's not clear to me why things won't sync. They should sync. Can you give us more details on how you're recording your tracks?
Mac Mini Server i7 2.66 GHs/16 GB RAM / OSX 10.14 / DP 9.52
Tascam DM-24, MOTU Track 16, all Spectrasonics' stuff,
Vienna Instruments SUPER PACKAGE, Waves Mercury, slaved iMac and Mac Minis running VEP 7, etc.

---------------------------

"In physics the truth is rarely perfectly clear, and that is certainly universally the case in human affairs. Hence, what is not surrounded by uncertainty cannot be the truth." ― Richard Feynman
HCMarkus

Post by HCMarkus »